Book Notification

Nikesh Shukla Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Coconut Unlimited (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Meatspace (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The One Who Wrote Destiny (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Run, Riot (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boxer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Time Machine (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Good Immigrant (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rife: Twenty-One Stories from Britain's Youth (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Too Much Too Young(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hearing Voices: The Litro Anthology of New Fiction(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Being Dad: Short Stories About Fatherhood(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unreliable Guide to London(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
How Much the Heart Can Hold(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Change Is Gonna Come(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

A writer and screenwriter by trade, the British novelist Nikesh Shukla has become a household name, creating both fictional and non-fictional works, with a strong message given through each and everyone of his books, as he has built one of the most creative voices currently working within the industry to date. Coming from London, he writes for both the page and the screen, creating a vast range of novels and works, all channeled through his highly singular and idiosyncratic voice. With many in the industry singing his many praises, he has gone on to become lauded by his many peers and contemporaries alike, reaching a worldwide audience, with his work resonating with readers globally. Opining on a variety of different subject, such as the Brixton riots in London in 2011, he would go on to become a prominent voice for his generation and his background.

Dubbed by many as the Douglas Copeland of his generation, he has also edited extensive works too, allowing him to get his point across in more ways than just one. With a strong voice and an equally strong set of ideals, he definitely makes himself heard as a writer, something which the many critics have become increasingly aware of as the years have gone by. Not just that, but he has also created a number of fictional works too, with many of his books featuring ideas and characters from his background. This would allow him to extend both him and his brand, as his work has reached bestselling status on a worldwide scale. His stories are extremely well draw, as he takes them from a very real place, allowing his characters to come alive, as they resonate with readers regardless of their background. The characters speak and interact in a highly realistic manner, allowing the reader to feel as if they’re really there, involved deeply within the action.

Not creating many series as such, he largely focuses on stand-alone titles, preferring to put his viewpoint across in a more direct manner, as he opts for brevity in his work. This includes the work he has edited as well, which includes that of ‘The Good Immigrant’, which was extremely well received, as it would collate the experiences of those from a minority background and how they view living in modern Britain today. With farmore to come in the foreseeable future, it seems he’s not going to be stopping soon, as his career grows from strength-to-strength for many years to come.

Early and Personal Life

Born and raised in the United Kingdom, he would come to harness a strong love of both writing and reading throughout the following years to come. This would progress throughout his years at University as well, as he would go on to create a brand for himself as an author with something to say. Known for speaking his mind on various subjects, he currently lives between London and Bristol, as he continues to write to this present day, with far more planned upon the horizon.

Writing Career

It was in 2010 that Nikesh Shukla would write his first debut novel, with the release of the title ‘Coconut Unlimited’ being his first fictional work. The book would also go on to win awards, including being shortlisted for the ‘Costa First Novel Award’ that very same year, leading to him becoming a prominent name within the industry. He would also go on to write for television too, with a short-film of his called ‘Two Dosas’ being produced in 2014, along with ‘Kabadasses’ being featured on Channel Four’s ‘Comedy Lab’ in 2011. This would all lead to him becoming one of the most prolific writers within the industry, as he continues to write for a number of prestigious publications, such as The Guardian, whereby he has a regular column featured.

Coconut Unlimited

Originally published through Quartet Books in 2010, this was first brought out on the 1st of October to much acclaim, as it would mark the debut of Nikesh Shukla as an author. Providing an insight into his own life, it would illuminate a distinctive perspective growing up, allowing him to make his mark on the literary circuit in a distinctive and unique manner. Setting up what would be his style, it would also win numerous awards too, as he would be on his way to becoming the writer that he currently is today.

Taking concepts of race and identity, this would see Shukla using his own past and experiences to inform his work and material. Creating interesting and engaging characters, he would quickly establish himself as a writer with a keen sense of insight and wit. The location would also be brilliantly realized too, as he would bring the school of Harrow to life on the page for the reader.

Set during the nineties, this follows three hapless teenage Asian boys during their time at the mainly all-white private school Harrow. Looking at the microcosm of their lives, it follows them as they go about their lives trying to make sense of the world, as well as being obsessed with hip-hop. Capturing the teenage angst of growing up, it views them attempting to find their identity, all whilst dealing with the social pressures placed upon them. Will they cope with it all? Can they face the world at large? What will take place in coconut unlimited?


Initially released through ‘The Friday Project’ outlet, this was published on the 3rd of July in 2014. Continuing in a similar vein to his previous books, it would further establish him as a writer with much talent. The novel would also take his career in a new and interesting direction too.

Starting out with the character of Kitab Balasubramanyam, it sees him in a dark place after losing his job and his girlfriend, all whilst his own father seems to be much more successful. Living with his brother Aziz, he attempts to create online Tumblrs, constantly coming up with funny tweets, but not before his brother leaves for America, leaving him alone. That’s when a stranger turns up on his door insisting that they need to be friends as he is his internet namesake apparently. Who is he? Why is this happening? What will happen as they head into the meatspace?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nikesh Shukla

Leave a Reply