Book Notification

Nikki Katz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Midnight Dance (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Questioner (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Everything Card Games Book: A complete guide to over 50 games to please any crowd (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Everything Cryptograms Book: Fun And Imaginative Puzzles For The Avid Decoder (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Everything Lateral Thinking Puzzles Book: Hundreds of Puzzles to Help You Think Outside the Box (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zen And The Art Of Crossword Puzzles: A Journey Down And Across (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Card Games: The Complete Rules to the Classics, Family Favorites, and Forgotten Games (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nikki Katz
Nikki Katz is a recovering rocket scientist, editor, freelance writer, author, and social media stalker. She was born in Michigan, raised in Arizona.

She is a busy mom of three crazy active children, and is the Managing Editor for both and We Nikki has published articles on a wide variety of topics like parenting, pregnancy, celebrities, entertainment, commerce, women’s issues, finance, and more. Her work’s appeared places like iVillage, Storia,,, and many other sites.

Nikki has a B. S. in aerospace engineering and was a project manager and management consultant. She used her writing skills and her B. S. to use and had four nonfiction books published. They are about crossword puzzles, card games, cryptograms, and lateral thinking puzzles. After this, she moved on to writing young adult fiction, which her favorite genre to read.

Some of Nikki’s favorite books include: “The Count of Monte Cristo” by Alexandre Dumas, “The Good Earth” by Pearl S. Buck, “The Greisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, and “The Lunar Chronicles” by Marissa Meyer.

Nikki’s been writing since she has been able to hold a pencil, and has some pretty terrible poetry that she scrawled down when she was just three years old. During third grade, Nikki worked on a play every day for three weeks during recess. Then during high school, she penned some short stories. But she never really wanted to be a writer. After all, her degree’s in engineering. Although she has spent a number of years working solely on writing, and has turned to fiction.

She needs total silence while she is writing. While she wishes she could go into a coffee shop and write, but is unable to. She also needs to have hours available to write since it takes her some time to get going.

While writing a novel, Nikki knows the beginning and the end. The rest of it is all up to her characters.

For the first novel she wrote, she had an agent. She pitched the book, but it didn’t sell and they parted ways. Nikki tried getting a new agent, however, many wouldn’t take it on because of the limited amount of publishers remaining to take it to.

After this experience, Nikki wrote several novels before penning “The Midnight Dance”. She got the idea for the novel from a commercial. She was midway through writing another novel, one that she hopes to publish down the road. The television was on upstairs and a commercial started. Nikki wishes she could remember what commercial but it was a long time ago now and she just doesn’t.

Somehow the idea of Pinocchio and live puppets jumped into her head. She really loved the idea of writing about this girl that had to find herself after she realizes that her thoughts really aren’t her own. She knew she had to write that book and she drafted this projected in less than two months.

For “King’s Questioner”, she had to quickly come up with some idea. She began throwing random words down onto paper. Clocks. Keys. Again the plot line changed from these clocks and the girl that controlled time, which was originally Reign’s character however her backstory and powers changed entirely. This is basically how it started.

Nikki’s debut novel, called “The Midnight Dance”, was released in the year 2017. Her fiction work is from the young adult and fantasy genres and is published by Swoon Reads, an imprint of Macmillan.

“The Midnight Dance” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. When the music ends, the dance starts.

Penny, seventeen years old, is a lead dancer at the Grande Teatro, a finishing school where she and eleven other young ladies are training in order to become the finest ballerinas in Italy. Located deep in the woods, the school’s overseen by the handsome and enigmatic young Master that keeps the girls ensconced in the estate. And in the only life that Penny’s never known.

However when flashes of memories, memories from a life rather different from the life she thought she was leading, start appearing, Penny starts questioning the Grande Teatro and the Master’s motivations. With Cricket, an attractive and kind kitchen boy, by her side, she vows to escape the confines of her school and the incredibly strict rules that dictate each and every step she takes. At every turn though, the Master is able to figure a way to stop her, and Penny has to find a way to escape the school and reveal the secrets from her past before it is too late.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the plot and the world building. Penny is full of strength, bravery, and beauty and is determined to figure out the truth about the mysteries of the school, her memories, and The Master. Nikki’s writing style is entrancing and rather gorgeous, and her story and the main characters pull you into the book.

“The King’s Questioner” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. Kalen is a mental picklock, able to access a person’s secrets and memories with just a touch. His abilities make him the perfect questioner for the king, and he spends his days interrogating prisoners of the crown.

However, when his estranged childhood friend, Prince Cirrus, falls into a coma suddenly, the king begs Kalen to step in. Kalen, by accessing Cirrus’ mind, saves his life, and reveals a horrifying secret. The prince has got a sister, one that was banished long ago, and she is the key to the kingdom’s survival or its destruction.

With the help of Cirrus and one silver-haired thief called Luna, Kalen has to locate the princess and bring her back home. Or risk death at his king’s hands.

Readers loved seeing things from Kalen’s unbiased perspective. Cirrus, Kalen, and Luna make an adventuring dream team with skills, great banter, and cunning. Nikki delivers a novel with an engaging story line, some loveable and interesting characters that make you root for them with all of your heart, and an exciting adventure you will not want to end. This is such a fascinating and fun story filled with a lot of secrets, danger, magic, loyalty, action, and a whole lot more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nikki Katz

Leave a Reply