Book Notification

Nine Lives Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nine Lives Books

Emerald, Amber and Jet (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ginger, Nutmeg and Clove (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daisy, Buttercup, And Weed (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return Of Ginger, Nutmeg And Clove (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of Daisy, Buttercup and Weed (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return of Emerald, Amber and Jet (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Nine Lives” series written by author Ben M Baglio (which is published under the name Lucy Daniels) started in the year 1999 with the release of the book “Ginger, Nutmeg, and Clove”. The series is about animals, and is meant for younger readers, like most of Ben Baglio’s work.

The series is about the kittens that a cat named Bracken has, and their different personalities. She had a litter of nine kittens, and their names serve as the names of the books. There are: Ginger, Nutmeg, Clove, Emerald, Amber, Jet, Daisy, Buttercup, and Weed. Each book focuses on three cats, maximizing how many kittens are mentioned per book. The series is made up of two trilogies, one that introduces the kittens, and one that is about each kitten and their life with their new families.

“Ginger, Nutmeg, and Clove” is the first novel in the “Nine Lives” series and was released in the year 1999. Bracken (who belongs to the Bradmans’) has just had quite the litter of nine kittens, all of which are adorable. Each one has its own unique personality, and each need a special home to go to. Can they be sure that they have given the kittens to the right owners?

There is Ginger, who has red hair, who is hairless; is he going to be able to settle in with Amy and Amy’s mother. He is not going to be a handful will he?

Nutmeg, is long haired, is mischievous. Does this mean her curiosity get her into trouble when she gets to her new home?

Clove is unhappy in the new home that she has been sent to. Is her owner going to be able to figure out what is wrong with her?

Fans of the novel found this to be cute and adorable. Some would read the books again and again and was there favorite books when they were younger. This author’s work is so touching and heart warming, that young readers read nothing but his work.

“Emerald, Amber, and Jet” is the second novel in the “Nine Lives” series and was released in the year 1999. Emerald is a tortoishell and has deep green eyes. Her new owner works as an usher at the local movie theater. She gets to watch the new films; she even gets to give the audience some additional entertainment when she plays “ghost cat”, this is when there is a ghost film playing.

Amber has orange, brown, and white fur and is a tabby. Amber thinks that she is a dog. The Grices (which are her owners) are not pleased as they already have three dogs. Is she able to learn to behave more like a cat?

Jet is a black cat, except on his tail that have some white hairs on it. Jet’s owners have a pet shop, and now Jet is the star of the show. Jet is a friendly cat to everyone, but is nervous around babies. It is too bad then, that Sue (his owner) is just about to have a baby. Is Jet going to be able to deal with this new rival, this baby?

Fans of the novel enjoyed the read because once again, Ben Baglio created a cute story that kept them reading the story. The book was hard to put down, as some wanted to know how it was all going to end. Ben Baglio is a master of writing about all different kinds of animals.

“Daisy, Buttercup, and Weed” is the third novel in the “Nine Lives” series and was released in the year 1999. Daisy has a pair of silver gray eyes and sleek gray coat. She is the quietest of the kittens that Bracken had. Her owners worry that because she is so quiet, that she may never make a sound. Their daughter Mel collapses and becomes unconscious because of a mysterious illness. It is Daisy that calls for help with her first meow.

Buttercup has every color imaginable in her fur. She has many roles to play while she is with her new family that has two boys, three girls, Granny, Dad, and Mum. Everyone wants Buttercup at the same time, it is all a little too much. Buttercup cannot please everybody all day long.

The last of Bracken’s litter is Weed. Weed is tiny and scrawny, and no one seems to want her. She is also timid and shy. Granny does, though.

Fans of the novel like how cute this story is and how nice they are to read to little kids. It has a cheerful story and some light hearted humor to it. You get some happy endings from the story as it is nice to see where the kittens end up. It is good to see them gong to good and loving homes.

“The Return of Ginger, Nutmeg, and Clove” is the fourth novel in the “Nine Lives” series and was released in the year 2001. Ginger is an adventurous spirit and it has got him into trouble yet again. He has injured one of his legs, and it worries his owner, Amy. Ginger gets a lot of attention, and it is so much that he does not realize that his leg has healed. He starts limping on a leg he did not injure.

Nutmeg is living with a parrot that makes a lot of noise and is called Sailor. Most of the time, the two are in a fight together. Nutmeg gets locked up, by accident, in some cupboards; it is Sailor that tells their owners about it.

Clove cannot quit cleaning her coat, and Janie spills some cream on it. She is glad she is always cleaning it. The cream is delicious. Clove is unable to tell the difference between shampoo and cream. She gets a nasty surprise while Janie is washing her hair.

Fans found this to be quite the good read for kids. Some read these books many many times and they are just as cute the hundredth time as they were the very first time. When Ben Baglio writes, it is stellar work that usually shows how great it is to live with at least one, if not many animals.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Nine Lives

Leave a Reply