Nnedi Okorafor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Akata Witch Books

Akata Witch aka What Sunny Saw in the Flames (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Akata Warrior aka Sunny and the Mysteries of Osisi (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Antar Books

Antar (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Antar #1 (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Binti Books

Binti (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Home (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Night Masquerade (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Who Fears Death Books

Who Fears Death (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Book of Phoenix (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Zahrah the Windseeker (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shadow Speaker (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lagoon (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Remote Control (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ikenga (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Long Juju Man (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hello, Moto (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girl with the Magic Hands (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Picture Books

Chicken in the Kitchen (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Kabu Kabu (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Wakanda Forever (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shuri: Wakanda Forever (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
After the Rain (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Broken Places & Outer Spaces (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Future Tense Fiction: Stories of Tomorrow(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View(2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Nnedi Okorafor is an American author of multiple fiction novels in varying styles. She has worked on everything from original fantasy novels to Star Wars and more.

Okorafor is the daughter of Igbo Nigerian parents. Okorafor has also been able to go back to Nigeria and visit on a regular basis ever since she was little. The stories and novels that she writes often reflect her American life and her heritage of being West African.

Nnedi Okorafor graduated the Clarion Writers Workshop in 2001 in Lansing, Michigan. She also has a Ph.D. in English that she got from the University of Illinois in Chicago. She also teaches creative writing as a professor at the esteemed Chicago State University. Nnedi Okorafor currently resides with her loving family in the state of Illinois.

Okorafor is the author of the Who Fears Death series. It features the prequel The Book of Phoenix, released in 2015, and the first book of the series called Who Fears Death, which was released first in 2010. She is also the author of the Akata Witch series. The series has two books and Akata Witch is also known as the alternate title What Sunny Saw in the Flames and the second book, Akata Warrior, can also be known by the title Sunny and the Mysteries of Osisi.

She is also the author of the Binti series, which started off with 2015’s Binti and continues with the publication of the third novel in the series, The Night Masquerade (released 2018). She is also the composer of the 2005 novel Zahrah the Windseeker, followed by The Shadow Speaker, and she has continued to come out with novels after these early books with 2009’s Long Juju Man and more.

Nnedi Okorafor has contributed to the Kabu Kabu collection, released in 2013. She also authored the Chicken in the Kitchen picture book for kids. It was released in 2015. She wrote the novella Hello, Moto, and also contributed to a Star Wars novel with several other authors. She has received multiple nominations and awards, winning the World Fantasy Best Novel Award for Who Fears Death and the Best Novella award from the Nebula Awards for Binti in 2016.

Akata Witch is the first in the series of the same name. It was released in 2011 and was nominated for the Best Book Category for the Andre Norton Award. It is for young adults and is in the fantasy genre, but it can be read by readers of all ages.

The main character in this novel is Sunny. She lives in Nigeria and is twelve years old. While she has the traditional African features that everyone else around her does, she’s also a bit different. Sunny was born albino, so her nickname is a bit ironic. She was given it because like so many other albinos or people with sensitive skin, she cannot go out and risk getting hit by the rays of the sun.

Sunny was born American but now lives in Africa where she feels like she doesn’t fit in anywhere. She feels destined to be an outsider because of her skin condition. She’s great at playing sports but just can’t play soccer outside in the daytime like the other kids. But when she discovers that she has a secret magical power to herself and she is one of what is called a ‘free agent’ individual. Sunny’s life begins changing quickly as she joins a quartet of fellow students studying magic.

Together they are studying what reality is and how to change it. They’re learning to see the visible and the invisible alike. However, can they hone their skills and study fast enough to be able to make a difference? And can they help to catch a big-time criminal that also wields magic powers as a free agent? Find out in this exciting fantasy debut from Nnedi Okorafor!

Akata Warrior was released in 2017 and is the second book in the fantasy-based young adult series Akata Witch. This novel was long-awaited by readers who picked up the previous book in the series! You have got to check out this fantasy novel that is being called “imaginative, gripping, enchanting” by Laurie Halse Anderson, the author of Speak.

The main character in this novel is Sunny Nwazue. She is a Nigerian girl that was born in America and was also born an albino. She’s always had difficulty being able to fit in with others, but she does the best that she can. She feels even more different from the other kids when she finds out that she actually has secret magical powers.

Just a year ago she was made a member of the ultra-secret Leopard Society. Sunny thought that she was going to fail in her mission to change the course of an entire apocalypse that was being generated by the masquerade Ekwensu. But now Sunny has learned some things and she is more equipped to take on things thanks to the guidance of her mentor Sugar Cream and a bit of age. She’s gotten a bit stronger and now she is contending with a weird Nsibidi book and how to get it to reveal its secrets.

Sunny knows that she has a fate that she eventually must face. She must rely on her pals from the Leopard Society and her spirit face Anyanwu to help her on this journey. With the help of these allies on her side, Sunny may just succeed in her attempt to move through worlds that are invisible and visible in her charge to get to the town of Osisi.

Once she gets there, Sunny will be in for the fight of her life. Can this magic-wielder take on destiny in order to save all of humanity? See for yourself in this young adult fantasy that people like Diana Wynne are calling “highly original stuff”. Rick Riordan says that it was “jam-packed with mythological wonders”.

Ursula K Le Guin praised Okorafor’s imagination in this colorful fantasy that is guaranteed to keep your attention from a winner of a Hugo and Nebula as well as a World Fantasy award. Read this engaging book and get the whole story from the start to the very last page.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Nnedi Okorafor

Leave a Reply

No Responses to “Nnedi Okorafor”