Book Notification

Noah Boyd Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Novels of the FBI Books

Witness to the Truth (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Code Name: Gentkill (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freedom to Kill (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fuhrer's Reserve (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traps (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Big Scam (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Steve Vail Books

as Noah Boyd
The Bricklayer (As:Noah Boyd) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Agent X / Last Chance To Die (As:Noah Boyd) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Noah Boyd is the pen name which was used by the popular American author named Paul Lindsay for writing one of his successful mystery series. He has written a number of novels based on a variety of genres, including crime-fiction, thriller, and mystery. Author Boyd is known to have written the famous novel series, ‘Novels of the FBI’, under his original name. With the use of his pseudonym, he has written the mystery series titled ‘Steve Vail’. Before going on to become a published author and start his writing career, author Boyd graduated in the year 1968 from the MacMurray College. No sooner did he finished his graduation, than he enrolled himself to serve in the Marine Corps. He was sent to Vietnam as a part of his first duty tour. However, he did not serve for long in the Marine Corps and later joined the FBI as a field agent. Author Boyd served in the FBI for a total of 20 years before his retirement. During his stay at the FBI, he got the chance to become a part of many important and difficult cases. The investigation of the Highland Park Strangler and Green River Murderer case are two of the most well known cases that he was associated with. Author Boyd died in 2011 at the age of sixty eight. The first novel that he wrote in his writing career was titled as ‘Witness to the Truth’. It was published in 1992.

Author Boyd had written this book under his own name and with its release, he went on to be recognized as a published novelist. He used the pen name for the first time for writing the first book in the Steve Vail series. The last novel that author Boyd wrote before his death was released under the title ‘Agent X’. Author Boyd is credited as being a part of the team of FBI agents that solved the Highland Park case. He believed that this was the highlight of his 20 year long career at the FBI. The Steve Vail series written by author Boyd consists of 2 books in total. These books were published between 2009 and 2011. As author Boyd had the experience of working as an FBI agent, he did not find any difficulty in developing the criminal and mysterious plots of all his books and series. As far as the Steve Vail series is concerned, author Boyd has said that it was made possible only because of his extensive knowledge about the operation techniques of the Bureau. The vast knowledge also helped him to create the intriguing characters and the interesting stories. Boyd also knew about the flaws in the Bureau. He used this knowledge to show the weaknesses of the FBI in the novels, due to which the criminals used to become successful in getting away on a number of occasions. Author Boyd got the authenticity to create the character of agent Steve Vail and describe the investigative procedures in great detail in the mystery series because of his vast on-field experience while working for the FBI.

The first book written by author Noah Boyd in the Steve Vail series is titled as ‘The Bricklayer’. It was released by the William Morrow publication in the year 2010. This novel is considered to be a pulse pounding one that introduces the chief protagonist, Steve Vail. He is described as one of the most valiant and charismatic heroes to have been introduced in the thriller fiction in a number of years. Steve is a former agent who worked for the FBI. He was fired because of being insubordinate to his senior officers. But, when a difficult, deadly, and unsolvable comes to the FBI, they lure him back because they know that Steve Vail has the expertise to solve any case that comes his way. The central theme of the novel shows that the FBI is given a dangerous puzzle to solve, which was deadly enough to kill the agent in charge or someone else. The FBI thinks that it is about to fail and they are left with no other option. The FBI is aware of the fact that no one is going to come to their help except the Bricklayer, Steve Vail. When a woman comes out of the bathroom of her home in Los Angeles, she becomes shocked to see that an intruder is sitting quietly in the bedroom and pointing a gun towards her. She seems to have frozen out of fear and the thought of what the intruder is going to say or do to her.

On the other hand, a young agent is asked to slip into the water of a beach at night. He is instructed by his seniors to swim to an island located nearby and hand over a bag full of one million dollars to a blackmailer. However, the agent does not know that his mission will become very much difficult because of hazardous tests. He gets a feeling that someone is trying to destroy him instead of collecting the money. Steve Vail seems quite content with living as a bricklayer. Deputy Assistant Director of FBI named Kate Bannon wants his help to deal with a shadowy group. This group has come up with a good extortion plan. They warn the FBI if they don’t get paid, they will keep killing the targets. And the main problem is that each time the FBI fails, the number of dead bodies and the amount goes on escalating. It becomes very clear that someone knows too much about the inside dealings of the FBI and he wants to use this knowledge against them to extort money. Also, he will not hesitate to kill even if it brings disgrace to the FBI. Steve Vail is required to act quickly as time is running out before the blackmailer kills another victim. Author Boyd has written the novel with great authenticity. The readers were thrilled, enthralled, and exhilarated after reading the novel.

The next book in the series was titled as ‘Agent X’. It was published in the year 2011 by the Morrow publication. Author Boyd has described the main characters in the form of Kate Bannon and has set the plot in Washington, D.C., the United States. At the start of the book, it is shown that when Steve Vail had helped the FBI solve a difficult extortion case, he believed it was a one time deal. But soon, things begin to get complicated, which force him to indulge with the FBI once again. When Steve moves to Washington, D.C., to meet Kate Bannon, the assistant director of the FBI, for a romantic date on the New Year’s Eve, a new unsolvable problem arises. Steve is once again asked for his valuable help to get over with the problem. It appears that he has no other option but to help Kate and FBI for one last time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Noah Boyd

5 Responses to “Noah Boyd”

  1. Heln: 3 years ago

    Keep looking to see if any more books loved them couldn’t,t put them down
    Wish Noah Boyd had stared writing the series earlier

  2. Konrad Kayne: 3 years ago

    The author passed away. Shame nobody has picked up the ball and continued the series.

  3. shooterg: 4 years ago

    3 Vail books ? What’s the third ?

  4. Elena Trevino: 5 years ago

    More please. Just read the first Steve Vail book and really liked it. Why nothing published since 2011?

    • Steven: 3 years ago

      The author passed away in 2011.


Leave a Reply