Book Notification

Noobtown Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Noobtown Books

The Mayor of Noobtown (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village of Noobtown (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Castle of the Noobs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dungeons and Noobs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Noob Game Plus (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nautical Noobs (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tower of the Noobs (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Noobtown Children's Books

Jim the Curious Puppy (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Noobtown (Series by Ryan Rimmel)
Author Ryan Rimmel writes the “noobtown” series of LitRPG Adventure novels. The series is narrated by Johnathan McClain for the audiobook versions of each novel.

The series follows Jim on Ordinal while in Noobtown. While he’s still groggy from his recent death and resurrection, he sees his character sheet and an odd name, so he edits it to what he’s able to remember of his own name. He regrets this later on, when anybody he meets wonders why his parents would have hated him so much they would name him Jim, only Jim.

It is at the end of the first novel that he learns one of the reasons people in this world find his name so ridiculous is due to the fact that it is this world’s equivalent of “Spot”, a common dog’s name.

Jim is killed in a car wreck and is revived in another world called Ordinal that seems to function like an RPG, complete with skills, Stat-O-Vision and everything. He is stuck working with a demon that he doesn’t like that he calls Shart for lack of a better name.

Guided by Shart, he looks for a Green Hill Zone so that he can get his starting gear. But this world is long-abandoned and old by all the higher beings, so a lot of things just are not what they used to be.

Jim discovers that not only have the people abandoned the First Town of Windfall, but it has also been occupied by some goblins afterward. Jim clears out these goblins and winds up becoming the mayor and founder of this town, restoring the protective barrier. Not too long later, he rescues this group of people from some goblins and brings them on back to town, slowly but surely building the place back up to its former glory.

However this is only the start of his adventures in this brand new world. And would folks please stop making fun of his name?

“The Mayor of Noobtown” is the first novel in the “Noobtown” series and was released in 2019. Things could be worse, you could be stuck with an actual shoulder demon.

After Jim died and was reborn into a world built like some video game, and finds himself stuck in this very old world style new player zone for some low level adventures. Unfortunately, this zone fell out of use many centuries ago, and nobody told these monsters that they were supposed to take it easy on all the Noobs. Making things worse, the one and only new player around is Jim.

Jim has been handed an opportunity, and he will do his very best to take full advantage of it.

This is a really fun read, with a new take on this genre. Jim is a hoot, while being very down to earth and practical. The novel has it all: big battles, personal growth, crafting, exploration, and unique abilities.

“Village of Noobtown” is the second novel in the “Noobtown” series and was released in 2019. It could really be better. Jim and his literal shoulder demon have thus far survived, only by the skin of their teeth. After finding this long-abandoned starter village, Jim has started the process of rebuilding his own town. But unfortunately for our favorite adventurer, the threats that he now faces are much more complex than just monsters. The poor Noob is forced to deal with a talking badger, angry townsfolk, and some trade negotiations.

With bandits and goblins sniffing around as well, is Noobtown, er…Windfall going to survive?

Ryan’s a master at humor, as readers found themselves laughing out loud at various times. This is a very entertaining story, as is the cast of characters. Jim’s own uniqueness makes him quite the interesting force for the enemy to deal with.

“Castle of the Noobs” is the third novel in the “Noobtown” series and was released in 2020. Jim and his shoulder demon have already survived everything that the world has gone and thrown at each of them. So far, at least. But there is this encroaching war between two great kingdoms.

In between the two armies stands this one ever-growing town, which is led by some Noob. With angry Wargs, goblins, trolls, and the expanding refugee crisis, are Jim and his other companions manage to restore Windfall Valley or have they met their match at last?

Ryan Rimmel delivers another well written read with some genuine laughs. He happily pokes fun at the standard genre tropes, like pages upon pages of skill description and thoughts, even while sticking to what makes GameLit/LitRPG fantastic.

“Dungeons and Noobs” is the fourth novel in the “Noobtown” series and was released in 2020. Badgelor has been patient, or as patient as a homicidal badger can possible be, at least. With the Grebthar Day celebration, it is at last time to go and get Charles!

Nothing will stop Jim and the rest of his companions, not even the indications that the Dark Overlord has returned. This adventure might just be Windfall’s greatest yet, or it might just be its absolute downfall.

“Noob Game Plus” is the fifth novel in the “Noobtown” series and was released in 2021. What even happened?

Very last thing that Jim recalled was getting tossed unceremoniously through the Demon Door. And now, he is right back where he first began his adventure, without badger and demon.

Jim has got to make some quick decisions if he’s any hope of making his way back to Windfall and beating Charles. However after Jarra died, is Windfall what he even wants at this point?

“Nautical Noobs” is the sixth novel in the “Noobtown” series and was released in 2021. Zorlando, while Jim is absent, has been doing pretty well keeping Windfall safe. He might not be equipped for and does not even know, what’s heading right for Noobtown, however.

Can he make it back to his beloved city before Maggie the Assassin gets there first? Is Jim going to beat the Pirates as he is on Glorious Roberts’ ship? Why would Pirates try to sack Windfall? And most importantly, is Shart ever going to be the opposite of inside out again?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Noobtown

Leave a Reply