Book Notification

Olga da Polga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Olga Da Polga Books

The Tales of Olga Da Polga (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Meets Her Match (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Counts Her Blessings (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Makes a Friend (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Makes a Wish (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Makes Her Mark (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Takes a Bite (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga's New Home (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga's Second House (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga's Special Day (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Carries On (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Takes Charge (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Big Olga Da Polga Book (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Big Olga Da Polga Book (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Complete Adventures of Olga Da Polga (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Moves House (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of Olga Da Polga (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Follows Her Nose (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olga Da Polga (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Olga da Polga by Michael Bond
Author Michael Bond writes the “Olga da Polga” of children’s picture books and chapter books. The books are illustrated by Hans Helweg, whose illustrations are strongly associated with the character of Olga da Polga. Though later editions used different imagery, including some having artwork done by Catherine Rayner.

The series began publication in the year 1971, when “The Tales of Olga da Polga” was released. The sixth and final chapter book, “Olga Follows Her Nose” was released in the year 2002. The last two chapter books were released after a rather long drought of chapter books, with none coming out after the release of “Olga Takes Charge” in the year 1982.

There were eight picture books released, the first of which, “Olga Counts Her Blessing”, was released in the year 1975, while the last, “Olga’s Special Day”, was released in the same year.

Michael Bond named Olga after his family’s actual guinea-pig.

Olga da Polga is a guinea-pig. Olga tells some pretty tall tales. A typical part of the stories is that something rather ordinary happens to Olga, and she exaggerates heavily when she tells her animal friends. Then it is revealed to be untrue by how the humans tell it.

Olga has a boyfriend, named Boris. He lives near the sea, and is the dad of Olga’s kids. He watches far too much television, but this is what makes him an excellent storyteller. Boris is able to rival Olga at telling stories.

Karen Sawdust is the caretaker and owner of Olga. As a child, she appears to understand Olga much better than her parents do. Besides Olga da Polga, Karen has many animals as pets, and there are many more that live in and around the property the Sawdust family lives on.

Karen has a pet black cat named Noel. He is keen and clever in the ways of the world, due to his being able to leave and enter the house as he pleases. He listens to many of Olga’s stories, despite claiming not to believe them.

Later on in the books, Karen buys two hamsters named Raisin and Fircone. Olga is jealous of them at first, as they seem to be Karen’s favorites and are kept in Karen’s room. She still warms to them quickly. They both bite Noel after he tries to sneak up on them, earning Olga’s respect, as she admires them for standing up to Noel despite their size.

Mr. Sawdust is the one that built Olga’s home, and is Karen’s dad. Mrs. Sawdust, of course, is Karen’s mom.

Graham is a tortoise. He does not like to be picked up and set on his shell. Despite being quite slow, he usually has a unique way of looking at the world.

Then there is Fangio, who is a hedgehog that has Argentine blood. He usually stays in a box out in the Sawdust’s garage. Fangio likes a meal of bread soaked in milk. Often, he goes out to the Elysian Fields, which is a patch of waste land located just beyond the shrubbery.

Venables is a toad that lives out in a pond in the Sawdust’s family garden.

“Olga Meets Her Match” is the first chapter book in the “Olga da Polga” series, which was released in the year 1973. Olga da Polga meets a guinea-pig named Boris. The two become friends and Olga finds out that Boris is able to tell wilder tales than she can. Quickly, the time comes for her to go back to her own garden, but she doesn’t mind.

Olga might just be spunkiest heroine you will come across in stories. Her adventures are sure to bring a big smile to your face, and it is a lot of fun to go on adventures with her.

“Olga Carries On” is the second chapter book in the “Olga da Polga” series, which was released in the year 1976. Olga meets some new challenges while she fights a fire and lays a trap for an uninvited guest.

“Olga Takes Charge” is the third chapter book in the “Olga da Polga” series, which was released in the year 1982. Olga was in a jam. That day she was in quite a few jams, each one worse than the one before, until her mind was whirling so much and she did not know which way to go.

Olga is a very busy guinea-pig. She tries to save the Sawdust family from a drought’s effects, she takes part in a sponsored squeak. Olga even takes up jogging. Somehow she always allows time to delight her buddies with her far-fetched stories and tall tales.

“Olga Moves House” is the fourth chapter book in the “Olga da Polga” series, which was released in the year 2001. Winter has arrived to the Sawdust house, and Olga’s been moved to a new home, in the house. She is highly excited about this and is even able to get Mrs. Sawdust to redecorate her box.

Olga loves to watch the goings and comings in the house and gets into all kinds of trouble and goes on many great adventures.

These are lively and funny tales with a lead character that is quite wonderful. The stories are written in an easy going way, make these for an entertaining and fun read for the new independent readers.

“Olga Follows Her Nose” is the fifth chapter book in the “Olga da Polga” series, which was released in the year 2002. There are a bunch of exciting things going on in the Sawdust house, and Olga, as usual, is caught up in the middle of them. First, she finds an odd jigsaw puzzle that looks like it would taste delicious, and then finds a mysterious visitor out in the garden that thinks she would be delicious. How will Olga get out of this tough spot? More wild schemes and crazy tall tales from the wonderful Olga da Polga.

This is another excellent book in a fantastic series, which are great for young kids to read and start moving out on their own or reading aloud.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Olga da Polga

Leave a Reply