Book Notification

Olivia Hawker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Ragged Edge of Night (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
One for the Blackbird, One for the Crow (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rise of Light (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire and the Ore (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
October in the Earth (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Point In Time Collection Books

Alison's Conviction (By: Thomas Keneally) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ash Wednesday (By: Paula McLain) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are Bone and Earth (By: Esi Edugyan) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naomi's Gift (By: Martha Hall Kelly) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wild Rose (By: Fiona Davis) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Landing (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother Swamp (By: Jesmyn Ward) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Olivia Hawker is a historical fiction author from the San Juan Islands in the Pacific Northwest even though she was brought up partly in eastern Idaho and in Seattle. After her parent’s divorce, she spent much of her childhood living with her mother in Seattle and the summer in the vastness of Idaho with her father.

As a result of her upbringing, she still has fond memories of the Rocky Mountain region and will often write novels in that setting. Her father is a Mormon and she grew up a Mormon which is another theme that often pops up in her writing even though she no longer practices the religion.

Hawker wrote “The Ragged Edge of Night,” her debut novel in 2018. Through vivid prose and unlikely characters, Hawker provides an extensive exploration of the different landscapes that inform the human spirit. Since she has always been interested in genealogy, this is also a theme that informs her novels.
Much of the material from her novels is inspired by true stories from her family tree. She currently makes her home in Washington State where she lives on a micro-farm that adheres to sustainable permaculture farming techniques. Olivia also writes some of her novels as Libbie Hawker.

Hawker knew that she was destined to be an author right from the time she was a child. Both of her parents encouraged her to pursue creative pursuits and she does not remember being told that she needed a backup plan since writing was not a practical career.

Her father and grandfather were both professional artists and hence she saw firsthand that it was possible to pursue a successful career in creative fields. As such Olivia Hawker feels immense gratitude for her family for encouraging her in the choice of her career.
She was empowered to go for a writing career and pursue her dream even if it took a long time to come true.

Olivia Hawker never attended college or training to become a creative fiction author. She had always desired to attend college as she valued knowledge and education but her parents did not have the money for it.

Since she did not believe in taking on student debt to get an undergrad or MFA degree, she set out to learn on her own. Moreover, she did not think that those degrees would have done anything to further her writing career.

Given that her father had a self career yet was self-taught, she thought she could teach herself and achieve similar heights. While she thinks she’s made the right decision, she is now a huge advocate of tuition-free college.

Still, Hawker tells people that she is self-taught and that she never attended college. She believes that creative writing and the arts, in general, are some of the few professions where those that could not go to college and those that had the privilege are made equal.
She is now a bestselling author with a resilient, robust, and strong profession that earns her a good living.

“The Ragged Edge of Night” by Olivia Hawker tells a beautifully written and emotionally gripping historical novel about extraordinary redemption and hope. It is also a story of the search for light and hope by a man living at the height of the despair of World War II.

The novel is set in 1942 Germany where Anton Starzman, a Franciscan friar is dealing with the pain of losing his school that has been taken over by the Nazis. He moves to a small German village where he intends to marry a widow named Elisabeth Herter.

All she wants is a man that can help take care of her three children from her dead husband. Anton is looking for atonement as he has always felt guilty for not doing something to protect his school and his charges from the Nazis.

But neither he nor his new wife was expecting that their lives would be disrupted once again when war knocks on their door. As Anton is struggling to adapt to his roles as father and husband, he discovers the Red Orchestra. It is a highly secretive network of resistance determined to take down Hitler by any means necessary.

Elizabeth has her reservations but Anton is soon a member of the clandestine organization. But then their scheme is discovered by the SS and Anton is forced to engage in a final act of defiance that may just be the end of him.

Olivia Hawker’s “One for the Blackbird One for the Crow” is a novel set in 1870 Wyoming, where the Webber and Bemis family live on the frontier. There are no other settlers for miles around and often it is survival for the fittest.

But then Ernest Bemis walks in on his wife with a neighbor and survival is the last thing on his mind. Enraged, he kills the man and is sent to prison, leaving his loved ones divided by remorse and rage.

Nettie Mae was devastated by the affair and death of her husband but as winter approaches she has no choice but to work with Cora. They need to work together and share the duties of raising the children and working the land.
There is Clyde Netti Mae’s son who is not yet a man but is no longer a boy that needs to find his way to adulthood without a father to hold his hand. Beaulah who is Cora’s daughter is another challenge given her untameable and wild ways.
Nettie Mae and Cora are brought together by the common threads in their lives even as she fears the many challenges coming. But when Beulah and Clyde get into a steamy romance the newly formed bonds of sisterhood are tested to the limit.
They need to decide if trust is something they can have for each other or else lose everything they built.

“The Rise of Light” by Olivia Hawker is a novel set in Rexburg Idaho in 1975. The lead in the novel is Aran Rigby, an aspiring artist and Tamsin, his younger sister. Together with their two brothers, they have to deal with Gad, an emotionally abusive father.
He is the type of man who finds comfort regarding his many failures in life by trying to control other people. But Tamsin and Aran are determined to rebel against him as they have dreams of leaving the small town and making it big.
Linda Duff is the latest arrival in Rexburg who is from Seattle and is hoping small town life could be the antidote to her childhood blues. She quickly falls for Aran for the most part because he is supremely talented.
It is not long before the two are love birds and Linda becomes part of an even more damaged family than the one she was running away from. She is also one of the very few people that knows about a secret Tamsin and Aran share that could bring everything tumbling down.
Linda has upset the delicate balance that once existed in the Rigby home and her actions result in some far reaching consequences.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Olivia Hawker

Leave a Reply