Book Notification

Opal Reyne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aedus Chronicles Books

Playing with Hellfire (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Duskwalker Brides Books

A Soul to Keep (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Soul to Heal (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Soul to Touch (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Soul to Guide (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Soul to Revive (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Soul to Steal (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Soul to Protect (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pirate Romance Duology Books

Publication Order of Witch Bound Books

The WitchSlayer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The ShadowHunter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Once Upon A Time Books

Imprisoned by the Wizard (By: Zelda Knight,Atherverse) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Graced by the Cat (By: Geneva Holt) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chased by the Fairy (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swindled by the Sea Witch (By: ) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worshipped by the Wolves (By: Kelly Lord) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Opal Reyne is an Australian paranormal and historical romance author who has been a fan of the two genres from the first moment she picked her first book. She became a writer thanks to her love for books and also because she wanted to build a world full of mythological creatures while at the same time showing the beauty of existence of all ethnicities.

She flourishes in writing character driven and plot driven books while adding some enchanting imagery.
A Soul to Keep
Freedom was all Reia ever desired. Reia is outcast by her entire town since she is thought to be a bringer of bad luck and also is accountable for demons devouring her family.

Her village presents her with one decision when the time comes for the next offering and a terrifying Duskwalker is spotted traveling in their direction: be sent to the prison or consent to being sacrificed to the monster.

But the faceless monster is not who he seems to be. He has an ethereal skull face and glowing eyes, and she unintentionally becomes fascinated by him. All that Orpheus only ever desired was a companion.
The first book in Duskwalker Brides series takes place in a universe where demons actually exist and feed on people, growing more humane as they do so. Reia resides away from her tribe on the edges of a community that is walled in and enclosed. She is the only survivor of her family’s massacre, and regarded as a sign of doom and leads a solitary, lonely life.

Orpheus brings a human sacrifice to the Veil, where he lives and where demons reside, every ten years in return for a protective ward from the terrorizing Demons. His loneliness is not significantly reduced by the woman’s company, and their lives have always been tragically cut short.

Before meeting her, he had given up on the idea. She doesn’t feel threatened by him, and every second she is there, his unquenchable desire becomes stronger.

Opal Reyne was able to launch her novel swiftly with a straightforward setting: there are humans and the demons who seek them. The first novel of a series, particularly a fantasy series, has a difficult job of world building.

The main characters, Duskwalker and the Reia are alone for the most part of the book except with the occasional appearance of demons hunting her, another Duskwalker and the evil owl witch. The plot itself is character and relationship driven. The most time the two main characters allows the reader enough time to get to know them.

Orpheus fits the typical monster archetype—dangerous and menacing on the outside, but on the heart a lonely, sweet soul. He stands out from other monster heroes in that he physically lacks all characteristics that would be considered “human.” He has horns covering his entire head, fur, fish gills, as well as an outstretched penis with tentacles.

As they “feed” humans, Duskwalker “learn” and acquire skills like the capacity to perform magic. He longs for a wife but is content with a friend.bIt was fun to watch them develop as a couple.
The Witch Slayer

During a horrible storm, Amalia’s cat took home a weird flying reptile, however she had no clue the flying reptile was a Dragon. Or that he would spare her from being burned at the stake but then lock her up in his den the moment she sees his human face. She is imprisoned in this cave with a grumpy, irritable, and haughty warrior who has repeatedly murdered others of her kind.
He magically makes her feel immensely protected when she was expecting to feel confined.

Rurik’s sole objective is to assassinate Strolguil the Vast, the Dark Witch. He had no idea that he would end up in a White Witch’s house in dire need of healing or that she’d be entirely ignorant of both his and her own race. He wants to cast her, Witch, to her flaming end, but after she saves him, he is forced to acknowledge his blood obligation.

He also cannot deny the strong desire she arouses in him whenever she is allowed to roam freely inside his den. There are Dark Witches on the loose, and Rurik is unsure whether he can put aside his long-held animosity in order to have faith in the alluring woman he has in his care.

As a result, character development is how the book starts. Unaware of it at the time, Bala and Rurik were always engaged in conversation with Amalia, who had a kind and nurturing disposition. There are some absolutely amusing moments as well, like when she washed the “little lizard” and he snipped at her, especially if she got too close to his privates. How was she going to identify the gender?
Dynamic personalities Amalia is kind, kind, but also spirited and innately interested. You will love the way she makes light of this dragon’s (to others) frightened expressions by cracking jokes with him. Amalia is naive in her willingness to welcome others and see the good in them, but she was not blind to reality. She is aware that there was evil in the world, including among her own kind, but she initially decided to be kind and compassionate. But she understood that evil must be confronted and vanquished, even if it resembled her.

Unquestionably irritable and quick-tempered, but smart, was Rurik. He’s a playful arrogance and self-confidence that’s almost peacock-like, and he was perplexed as to why Amalie wasn’t smitten with him right away like all the other women had been. He performs proximity games that are not only funny but also sensual, especially when he is in human form. It’s funny how he subtly and casually arouse her and then was so captivated with her when she eventually “emits” her interest and arousal.

In addition to the characters’ personalities and the struggle between good and evil, the story had a precocious tone, with a heroine satisfied to find some humor in her situation and the ominous dragon giving off faint purple blushes. It has a sweet, sun-grumpy depiction and a burgeoning, intoxicating fascination.

Although we don’t get to meet many of the side characters, good or bad, until much late in the book when the plot really starts up, the world building is superb and the side characters are enticing.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Opal Reyne

Leave a Reply