Book Notification

Ottessa Moshfegh Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eileen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Year of Rest and Relaxation (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Her Hands (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lapvona (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Homesick for Another World (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

SleepingFish 8(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Retro 4: Selections from Joyland Magazine(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2016(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Granta 139: Best of Young American Novelists 3(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Woman's Work: Essays on Music(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ottessa Moshfegh, who is in her mid-thirties, is an American penwoman. Hers is a classic case of rags-to-riches, figuratively and literally. Moshfegh, who is a consistent contributor to renowned publications, was born in 1981 in Boston upon Massachusetts. She is domiciled in California. She is of mixed ancestry; her mother and father were born in Croatia and Iran, respectively. She attended Barnard College for her undergraduate studies wherein she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in English. Moshfegh went to Brown University for her postgraduate studies wherein she received her Masters of Fine Arts–she pursued creative writing.

Ottessa Moshfegh’s work has been published in various publications among them Paris Review, New Yorker, Granta, The Baffler, and Vice. Between 2013 and 2015, she was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at the prestigious Stanford University. The National Endowment for the Arts also honored her with a creative writing fellowship. Apart from writing, she has had other pursuits. For instance, she fell in love and relocated to China wherein she had a short stint at a public university. But when she fell out of love, she went back to the US and started tarmacking. She has also operated a bar.

Section on Books
Ottessa Moshfegh has been writing since 2001. She has written a couple of novels. However, Moshfegh’s niche is especially short stories and in essays. She was broke in the run-up to writing Eileen, an acclaimed novel; she opined that if she penned a book that would appeal to a large number of bibliophiles, then she would get herself a contract with a renowned publisher. Did you know that Moshfegh did not attract public attention until she started writing her highly acclaimed literary worked titled Eileen?

According to Ottessa Moshfegh, writing Eileen was a spur-of-the-moment decision and was prompted by a joke. She hastily drafted the Eileen, and revised and polished it over twenty times. Moshfegh’s novel titled Eileen is a standalone book. It has about twenty editions; the first edition was initially published in 2015. The featured protagonist in this book is called Eileen Dunlop. This book is shelved under mystery, psychological thriller, noir, and historical fiction genres.

Meet protagonist Eileen Dunlop. Dunlop, who is a college dropout, is a woman in her mid twenties.She hails from New England, a place she has nicknamed X-Ville. She has emotional instability, is a loner, and ill at ease. Her life is miserable in every way–both socially and physically. Her home is filthy and the person she lives with, his elderly father, is a drunkard and abusive. Her father was a law enforcer and there are gun dramas. She is angry like scrapyard dogs and hilarious too. Even at her age, Dunlop has not yet lost her virginity; however, she has been fantasizing with a workmate. She is bulimic; she eats chocolate before vomiting. She is excessively talkative and has a penchant for discussing other people, especially their bodily functions. Dunlop juggles two tasks: she works both as a caretaker in their squalid home and a secretary at a correctional center.

The first novel penned by Ottessa Moshfegh, Eileen, takes place in the 1960s in New England. Eileen Dunlop is not contented with her present life, prompting her effusive anger. Even the festive season does not liven her. As such, she starts thinking of relocating to a large city. She whiles her time doing pointless duties, stalking the man and workmate who she has a crush on, and, later on, bonds with a newly employed counselor at the correctional facility.

Another early book authored by Ottessa Moshfegh is McGlue. There are about six editions of this book and the first edition was originally published in September 2014. The featured protagonist is called McGlue. McGlue, who lived in the 1850s Massachusetts, is a sailor and a man with memory lapses. He is homosexual, an alcoholic, antisocial, and has an peculiar opinion on women.

The second book by Ottessa Moshfegh, McGlue, is set in mid-nineteenth century in Salem upon Massachusetts. While in Zanzibar, McGlue kills a man in a drunken stupor. The victim, Johnson, is not only his bosom friend but also hails from a well-off family in his hometown Salem. He is withheld in the ship’s below decks as he awaits his deportation to America. Once back in America, he is imprisoned; his lawyer advises him to confess. McGlue who has had a concussion as a result of jumping from a train, often forgets that he killed and his so-called victim pays him a visit in the prison.

Ottessa Moshfegh Awards
Ottessa Moshfegh has won and been nominated for various literary awards. In 2016, his book Eileen was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. In 2015, the said book was nominated for the Shirley Jackson Award in the Novel category. In 2015, the book was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award in the Fiction category. Furthermore, the book was also nominated for The Center for Fiction in the First Novel category.

The book titled McGlue clinched the The Believer Book Award. This book was first published in September 2014. In 2013, her short story titled Bettering Myself clinched the Plimpton Prize for Fiction, awarded by The Paris Review. In 2014, her short story titled McGlue clinched the Fence Modern Prize in Prose. In 2016, her book Eileen was also awarded the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award in the Debut Fiction category.

Best Ottessa Moshfegh Books
The best three books penned by Ottessa Moshfegh are Eileen, McGlue, and Bettering Myself (albeit a short story). Both Eileen and McGlue have been discussed extensively in a previous section. Bettering Myself is a short story which was published in 2013; it revolves an alcoholic educator who is battling mental breakdown.

Other Books You May Like
Readers who liked books authored by Ottessa Moshfegh also liked these ones. The first one is called Lucinella authored by Lore Segal. Initially published in 1976, it features a New York-based protagonist called Lucinella; it chronicles her experiences while associating with writers and poets. The second one is called The Pinch penned by Steve Stern. This chronicles the experiences of a Memphis-based Jewish community and features Jewish mysticism and folklore.

The third one is called The Beautiful Bureaucrat authored by Helen Phillips. This features protagonist Josephine Newsbury and her hitherto boring data entry job. She realizes that her job is not entirely boring when she gets curious about the names she enters; soon her husband goes missing momentarily amid suspicious botched delivery notices.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ottessa Moshfegh

Leave a Reply