Book Notification

Owen Archer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Owen Archer Books

The Apothecary Rose (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nun's Tale (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lady Chapel (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Bishop (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Riddle of St. Leonard's (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gift of Sanctuary (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Spy for the Redeemer (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cross-Legged Knight (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guilt of Innocents (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Vigil of Spies (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Jar (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Conspiracy of Wolves (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Choir of Crows (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Riverwoman's Dragon (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fox in the Fold (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Candace Robb is a historical novelist who was born in the year, 1950, with her most of her works being set in the medieval times. Apart from using her real names, she has also authored using her pen name of Emma Campion. Before she became an author, Owen Archer did read and researched on medieval times and history for so many years. She also majored in Anglo-Saxon and medieval literature for her Ph.D. For most of her time, she usually divides it between the United Kingdom and Seattle, though there are times when she frequently visits York and Scotland when researching for her books.

The Owen Archer mystery series are set in England during the 14th Century. In this series, the protagonist is one Owen Archer, who works as a spy for the Archbishop of York, John Thoresby and in some cases for Lord Chancellor of England. In his line of work, Owen requires some assistance and those who assist him in spying include his wife, Lucie Wilton, a midwife, Magda Digby the Archbishop’s secretary, Brother Michaelo and Bess Merchet who is the proprietor of the York Tavern.

Owen Archer Series

As a mystery author, Candace Robb is extremely talented since she can create well-developed novels, which are full of dynamic characters. She also gets the chronology of this novels right and ensures that each of the places that she mentions within the city of York has been well researched and exceedingly accurate. The first installment in the Owen Archer book series is the Apothecary Rose, which has been set in the year, 1363 in York City. The protagonist in this novel is Owen Archer who served as the Captain of Archers, under one Henry Lancaster, until he lost an eye. Thus, the old Duke, found another job for Owen, this time appointing him as a spy. However, upon the death of the Duke, Owen was faced with a choice of either working under the Archbishop of York, John Thoresby and John of Gaunt, the newly appointed Duke.

It does not take long before two suspicious murders occur in St. Mary’s Abbey infirmary. Thus, Thoresby decides to send for Owen, who will establish as to whether a murder was committed and also as to whether the two deaths are connected. With that said, this is an intricate story which has been set in a world that is full of facts and fiction and also full of historical details which assist in the storyline rather than distract the reader from the well-developed characters and compelling storyline. From the apothecary shop to the infirmary to the scheming of a majority of the church figures, the author will undoubtedly grip your imagination, thereby allowing you the reader to immerse yourself in another world and time with characters who will grab your interest.

The second installment in the Owen Archer series is titled the Lady Chapel is also another highly entertaining book that has been contrived with a suspenseful plot. The book begins in the summer of the year 1365, and we are introduced to one Will Crounce, who depicted Jesus in the Corpus Christi play. Will Crounce is found brutally slain and his hand is placed in a friend’s room. In this well-researched historical mystery, the Archbishop orders Owen Archer to look into the killings together with other subsequent murders. Owen is an expert bowman who happened to lose his eye while working for the King’s service as narrated in the first installment. However, despite having immense love for the country, he is still reluctant to take the task handed to him by the archbishop. Owen has no option but to take the job. It does not take long before he finds himself entangled in a complex web of hate and confusion, savagery and sex, disillusionment and devotion. Along the way, he encounters wool traders, spies, clergy, spies, mercenaries, and aristocrats.

To unravel the mystery behind the two murders, Owen Archer will require his bows and arrows, his sharp minds and Lucie’s apothecary skills. With that said, this is a well-written medieval history mystery. The Nun’s Tale is the third installment in the Owen Archer book series by Ms. Robb. In this novel, a nun who was believed to be dead and buried returns a year later and this time around, she is raving about repentance and is also performing all types of miracles including raising the dead; the nun goes by the name of Dame Joan. Once the news about Joan reached the Archbishop, he decides to summon Owen Archer to look into the story and also decipher what Joan is telling the world. Thus, Owen begins his investigation by checking Joan’s grave which has now been covered by another gruesome death.

Owen also visits Joana’s family to fully understand where she is coming from. Upon visiting the family, Owen discovers that Joana came from a family that was a little bit dysfunctional. The main reason why Owen was asked to look into this case is that it is believed that it is somehow linked to a treasonous plot to overthrow the current government. Lucie’s pregnancy is now fully grown, and she is about to give birth to Owen’s first child. The King’s Bishop is also another excellent addition to this series. The book’s protagonist is still Owen Archer, and just like all the other previous installments, Owen finds himself on many adventures while facing intrigue and peril in the process. In the King’s Bishop, Owen finds himself and another soldier Ned being hunted down while effecting a mission for their king.

The year is 1937, and it is the waning years of Edward the Third. Edward III opposes Pope Urban by trying to win over the loyalty of the English Churchmen. As this happens, King Edward is also trying to handle the hatred that his advisors have over his royal mistress. Thus, Owen, Archer the steward and spy for the Archbishop must come forth and rescue his old buddy Ned. Ned is the main suspect in the killings, which involved a priest whom he had been ordered to protect. Furthermore, while conducting the investigation, he also learns that the girl he was hoping to marry had also been killed.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Owen Archer

Leave a Reply