Book Notification

Oz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Oz Books

By: L. Frank Baum, Jack Zipes
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz / The Wizard of Oz (1900)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marvelous Land of Oz / The Land of Oz (1904)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ozma of Oz (1907)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to Oz (1909)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emerald City of Oz (1910)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rinkitink in Oz (1916)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magic of Oz (1919)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glinda of Oz (1920)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Oz Children's Books

The Woggle-Bug Book (1905)Description / Buy at Amazon
TikTok and the Nome King (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Oz Collections

The Annotated Wizard of Oz (1900)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queer Visitors from the Marvelous Land of Oz (1905)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Wizard Stories of Oz (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Marvel's Oz Graphic Novels

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Marvelous Land of Oz (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ozma of Oz (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Road to Oz (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronicles of a young girl, Dorothy Gale, is one of the best-known stories in American culture. The first novel in the series written by L. Frank Baum was The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. An epic adventure that takes Dorothy in the Land of Oz where she meets three characters scarecrow, Tin Woodman, and coward Lion.
Most of the ideas and characters originated from the personal experiences of L. Frank Baum. The character of scarecrow originated from the nightmares of Frank during his childhood. Nightmares were quite frequent where a scarecrow chased him. Tin Woodman was born out the Frank’s fascination with window displays. Even John D Rockefeller, his father’s business enemy, was an inspiration for the one of the faces in the World of Oz. In his forties, he started writing for his children after his stint as journalist and businessman. At that time, he realized his talent for storytelling for children.

The First Installment in Oz

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz is about a young girl Dorothy who lives with her Uncle Henry and Aunt Em in Kansas. Only source of happiness in her life is her small black dog Toto. However, a cyclone traps her into a farmhouse and takes away from the Kansas. In the process, the evil Munchkin ruler, the Wicked Witch of the East is killed by the falling house. As gesture of gratefulness, the Good Witch of the North gives her the silver shoes and shows the way of getting back to her home in Kansas. The Witch tells her to visit the Emerald City for the Wizard of Oz who can help her.

It was on her way to Emerald city she frees the Scarecrow from the pole, revives Tin Woodman by applying oil, and encourages Cowardly Lion to accompany her in the journey. All three character accompanying Dorothy lacked one thing or they felt that they lacked something. The Scarecrow lacked brain, the Tin Woodman lacked heart, and the Lion lacked courage. All four of them believed they would find their answers with the Wizard of Oz.

The travelers overcome gaps in the yellow brick road, beasts called Kalidahs, a river and deadly poppies. Finally, when they reached the Emerald city, Wizard agrees to help but before their wishes could be fulfilled, they must kill the Wicked Witch of the West. With no other choice, the Dorothy and her friends set out on dangerous journey to kill the witch. However, the witch could see them coming, so to stop them she sends various army of creatures in forties like wolves, crows, and black bees but each army is defeated. Finally, she sends winged monkeys bound to the Golden cap that could take the owner to wished destinations. Monkeys capture and bring them to the Witch. The Good Witch of the North blessed Dorothy with protection charm and she could not harmed, so she is forced to work in the kitchen.

Soon witch realized the power of Dorothy’s silver shoes, and she tries to snatch them by tripping Dorothy. Dorothy throws bucket full of water at her in anger. Surprisingly, the witch slowly melts and perishes. Dorothy quickly frees his three companions and takes control of the Golden cap to command monkeys to fly them to the Emerald City. To their surprise, the wizard they sought help from turned out to be an ordinary balloonist who accidentally ended up in Oz and tricked everyone to rule the city. Since exposed, balloonist tries to help them and he suggests flying them to their destination on a balloon.
Once again, Dorothy misses the chance of going home as she missed the balloon due to his dog Toto and winged monkey were helpless to fly her beyond the border of Oz. However, a soldier directed her to visit the Good Witch of the South. Again, she embarks on a journey filled with dangerous like people made of china, hammerheads, and beasts of the forests. Overcoming every obstacle, she meets the good witch. Witch explains that she already has the magic silver shoes that can take her wherever she likes and in exchange for help, she gives the golden cap to the witch. Witch commands monkeys to take Scarecrow to rule the Emerald City, Tin Woodman to rule Winkies and Lion to rule the forests of the beasts. Dorothy claps shoes for three times and finds herself in the Kansas farm of her aunt and uncle.

Second Installment of the Oz

The book is about the after events of the first series featuring a boy called Tip, who lives with the witch named Mombi in Gillikin country. The Story takes Tip on the journey where we again meet the loved characters of Tin Woodman, and Scarecrow. Tip steals the powder of life from Mombi that has the power to animate anything and gets away from her with Jack.

Tip meets Scarecrow when General Jinjur’s all girl army attacks Emerald City. Tip, jack, and Scarecrow visit Tin Woodman in Winkie to plan on how to gain back the Emerald City. However, they are intervened by Mombi who is now working for General Jinjur and captures them. Using Powder of life after several attempts, they manage to flee and their journey takes them to Glinda, the Good Witch of the South. Tip learns that Ozma is the destined ruler of the Emerald City and not the Scarecrow. Wizard of Oz hid Ozma long ago and Mombi has visited the wizard three times. Tip, his friends, and Glinda sets out to pursue Mombi and finally, they force her reveal the truth in Deadly Desert. She reveals that Ozma was turned into boy Tip. Mombi performs spell to restore Ozma who leads her friends to gain back the Emerald city.


Surprisingly, George M Hill Company, the Publisher of the first book agreed to publish only if this story was presented as Broadway musical and it did in 1902. Due to huge success, Frank wrote several installments of Oz in next few years. In 1939, a film was released named The Wizard of Oz, directed by Judy Garland. The Film was a big hit due to its special effects, and revolutionary use of Technicolor. There after countless number of different version of the same stories and characters have seen. Story has been translated into several languages.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Oz

Leave a Reply