Book Notification

Pam Weaver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Mother’s Gift (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Better Days will Come (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pack Up Your Troubles (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Better For Worse (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blue Moon (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Walked Right In (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Always in My Heart (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sing Them Home (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come Rain or Shine (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goodnight Sweetheart (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Home by the Sea (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Runaway Orphans (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Orphan (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Emily's Christmas Wish (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amy's Wartime Christmas (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amy's Seaside Secret (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Pam Weaver is an English author of Sagas with more than a dozen novels in her name. As a trained Nursery Nurse, she has worked in private day nurseries, County Council Children’s Homes, and as a Hyde Park nanny. She began her career in writing in the 1990s, when she first started with small magazines and publications and later branched out into women’s magazines at the start of the 21st century. Pam has since authored more than 250 articles and over 150 short stories, which have made it to the Woman’s Weekly Fiction Special, A Break Fiction Feast, People’s Friend, Weekly News, etc.

One of Pam Weaver’s notable books is Better Days Will Come, a story about Grace Roberts, a widow doing whatever she can to provide for her two daughters, Bonnie and Rita. 1947, the war ended, but the challenges persist, and Grace’s life is about to become even more complicated. Her eldest daughter, Bonnie, is on the verge of running away to London with the man she loves, George. However, their planned rendezvous at Victoria Station takes a tragic turn when George fails to show up, leaving Bonnie with the burden of carrying his child and unable to return home.
Bonnie’s disappearance devastates Grace, but she chooses to soldier on for the sake of her younger daughter, Rita. Unbeknownst to Grace, Rita is also on the brink of eloping with Emilio, a handsome man who harbors a dark secret of his own. Grace’s rude and manipulative boss, Norris Finley, offers assistance, but Grace is unaware of the complications that will arise from accepting his help.

Will these troubles tear the family apart forever? This story is a compelling mix of mystery, complex relationships, and family secrets resembling a gripping drama. It’s a tale that will keep you engaged with its well-crafted plot and unexpected twists. From the beginning, it’s evident that the close bond Grace believed she shared with her daughters has fractured. As the story unfolds and more wrongs are committed, the divide between the three characters widens. Grace and Bonnie’s desperation to find a “silver lining” leads them to make questionable choices.

The novel’s antagonist, Norris Finley, wreaks havoc on all three women, and readers will be eager to see him face consequences for his actions. The intricate web of deception he has woven around the town is impressive, as are the lengths he will go to protect his secrets. However, when we are introduced to his wife and gain insight into her character, we begin to see the catalyst that will finally bring about his downfall.

For Better for Worse, also known as Mother’s Day, is Pam Weaver’s fourth novel, published in 2014. The years following a major war may, at first glance, appear to provide a less exciting backdrop for a story compared to the war years themselves. However, this is rarely the case, especially regarding family sagas. The post-war period of World War II brought significant upheaval, especially for women. After years of self-reliance, they were suddenly expected to adopt the role of housewives. They faced social stigma and even isolation if they failed in this new role, whether due to their actions or not. In this story, the blame certainly didn’t rest with any of the three main women, but rather, it lay with the man who had deceived and betrayed them.

After Henry Royal abandoned his wife, Sarah, she struggled to provide for their two daughters through a series of cleaning jobs and by making children’s clothes for a traveling salesman. Although they had moved to more affordable housing since Henry’s departure than they had when Henry was around, even a minor financial setback, such as the loss of Sarah’s purse, could mean the start of a major financial crisis for this family. When Sarah heard a rumor that Henry was seen with another younger woman in a nearby town, she took her daughters with her as no one could care for them and hitched a ride there with a friendly delivery driver.

Upon arrival, Sarah is met with an angry, pregnant young woman and then confronted by Henry himself, who promptly kicks her out of the house. Before she even thinks of her next course of action, the police arrive and arrest Henry for bigamy. Not only had he married this new woman without divorcing Sarah, but he had also been married to his first wife when he married Sarah. To make matters even worse, when Sarah’s family discovers that Henry is married, they blame her for having her daughters out of wedlock, even though she does not know about Henry’s past.

Sarah attends Henry’s trial, and she’s also there when he is found guilty and watches him receive a six-month jail sentence. However, her troubles are far from over. She finds herself evicted from her rented home and turned away when seeking help from her sister. Unexpected help comes her way in the form of Henry’s first wife, who wants to hire a housekeeper to care for an aunt recently released from an institution where she had lived for nearly thirty years. Soon, the household swells further with the arrival of Henry’s third wife, initially causing Sarah some dismay. Nevertheless, the women began to rebuild their lives together.

Meanwhile, Henry plots from his prison cell, devising schemes to discredit his wives, claim his son with his third wife’s child, and swindle money from unsuspecting older women. Ultimately, he gets the punishment he deserves, albeit not without heartbreak for some of the other characters involved. This is a delightful read, crafted even better by an author who demonstrates a deep familiarity with the story’s time and setting.

Pam Weaver does a fantastic job of crafting distinctive and well-rounded main and supporting characters. Sarah is a loving and caring mother willing to do whatever it takes for her children. On the other hand, Kaye is intelligent and caring, while Annie is romantic, somehow selfish, and thinks the world revolves around her.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Pam Weaver

Leave a Reply