Book Notification

Pamela Aidan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman Books

An Assembly Such as This (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Duty and Desire (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
These Three Remain (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Young Master Darcy Books

A Lesson in Honour / Lessons in Honor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Proper Darcy Christmas (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Jane Austen Made Me Do It(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Pamela Aidan
Pamela Aidan was born October 18, 1953 in Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, and grew up in small towns in southeast Pennsylvania. She has her master’s degree in Library and Information Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and has worked as a librarian for more than 30 years.

Even though “Pride & Prejudice” by Jane Austen has been her favorite novel ever since high school, she credits the 1995 BBC and A&E TV miniseries of this story for inspiring her to write “An Assembly Such as This”, her first regency novel and kicks off her “Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman” trilogy (the former title was “The Chronicles of Pemberley”).

Pamela Mogen (who writes as Pamela Aidan) is an American writer whose novels are Jane Austen fan fiction, based on her novel “Pride & Prejudice”.

“An Assembly Such as This” is the first novel in the “Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman” series and was released in 2003. A large estate in Derbyshire and ten thousand a year. This was all that Mrs. Bennet desired to know about Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy before she started to entertain hopes that a daughter would attract his attention. In “Pride and Prejudice”, Jane Austen reveals very little about her creation’s past or present before banishing him for almost two thirds of the novel. However who really is Fitzwilliam Darcy?

This novel answers that intriguing question by taking the reader further into his world, one that is very different from Elizabeth Bennet’s. Chronicling his supervision of Charles Bingley, his naive friend, and his own growing fascination with Elizabeth Bennet, it all culminates with the disastrous ball at Netherfield and Darcy’s returning back to London with the express intention of forgetting Elizabeth amid the dizzying and dangerous whirl of Regency society.

For those that wanted a more in depth telling of Pride and Prejudice from Darcy’s perspective, then give this series a try. Aidan does her best to stay true to the source material, making this series worth checking out. The humanity and angst that she brings to Darcy is excellent. The man is conflicted, both for Bingley and for himself.

“Duty and Desire” is the second novel in the “Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman” series and was released in 2004. Darcy left Hertfordshire, he was a conflicted man, bewitched by a woman of meager fortune and vulgar relations. During the months that he’s absent from Austen’s story, Darcy has to come to terms with this invasion of his heart. Could there be a woman from his own sphere that can banish Elizabeth Bennet from it?

This novel takes the reader into Darcy’s private world while he moves among his friends, foes, and family. Determined to forget Elizabeth, he goes back to Pemberley to lose himself in family and work concerns. Then he accepts this invitation to some old friend’s party where he meets Lady Sylvanie, the mysterious and fascinatingly beautiful.

This one is the most thematically independent of the three “Gentleman” novels. Much of the action and plot are entirely Pamela’s invention. Many of the issues Darcy encounters, like his struggle to help and understand his sister, his realization of who his true friends are, his failure to interest himself in other women, are crucial to his future success to reaching out to Elizabeth.

“A Lesson in Honour” is the first novel in the “Young Master Darcy” series and was released in 2010. Christmas of 1797. Master Fitzwilliam Darcy, age thirteen, will return from his first term at Eton and it’s in full anticipation of the holidays. Soon, he and his family are going to leave their fashionable home in London for Pemberley, their Derbyshire estate, in order to get ready for the arrival of his irrepressible cousin Richard and the rest of his Matlock relations. However once Darby shows up in London, he discovers that his mom is ill. Her doctor’s prognosis is rather dire, Lady Annecan’t survive one more year.

While Christmas approaches, Darcy is torn between his parents’ struggles to carry on and the attraction of one unusual company of players in Lambton for the holidays. With Richard and his family’s arrival, he has to attempt to satisfy the expectations of all and, in doing so, discover what it really means to be a Darcy.

Pamela Aidan has created a touching coming of age novella that is based on characters from “Pride and Prejudice”. “A Lesson in Honour” explores duty, love, and family honour, principles which a young Fitzwilliam Darcy learns from each of his parents while they confront a family crisis. As well as this lesson derived from a youthful indiscretion and an adolescent romance which helps define the man that Elizabeth Bennet is going to encounter at the Meryton assembly many years later.

“A Proper Darcy Christmas” is the first novel in the “Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman” series and was released in 2022. A handsome French Count, an accident, and a disastrous snow storm. The high excitement of a son that’s born at Christmas time to Darcy and his cherished Elizabeth gets overshadowed by Georgiana, his sister, and her growing fascination for this stranded nobleman.

Darcy mistrusts this charming Frenchman’s account of the accident at Pemberley’s gates and his vague story about an estate to the north. What’s more, this man seems to be in no hurry to leave.

Georgiana, meanwhile, has returned to Pemberley fresh off a highly successful London Season but is unmoved by any of the young men that lined up for introductions. The balls were all exciting however her happiest moments in London were not there. And then, out of a horrible storm, there arises this French count with the address and face of an angel. Could this be the one for which her heart’s been waiting?

Trapped at Pemberley by the snow, Darcy has to sift through what he’s able to in order to make sense of this stranger’s appearance at his door. Can he possibly sort out the truth or must he enlist help from His Majesty’s Agent Lord Dyfed Brougham, his oldest friend, in order to unravel everything before his sister’s captivation by this handsome count becomes something so much more?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Pamela Aidan

Leave a Reply