Book Notification

Paradise Valley Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Paradise Valley Mystery Books

The Scent of Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heart of Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chain of Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Edge of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Betrayal of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pursuit of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Color of Lies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Harbor of Lies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Lies (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Season of Lies (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paradise Valley Mystery refers to a literary series penned by famed American scribbler Debra Burroughs. Burroughs, who is an indie author, has been writing books for since 2009. During Burroughs childhood, the United States was rocked by civil rights lobbyism and shocked to the core by racial upheaval. This compelled Burroughs mother to relocate to the relatively safer Central Valley in California before moving on to San Francisco Bay Area. Burroughs used to write stories, plays, and poems while living in the latter region. The writer is currently based in Boise, Idaho.

The greatest fan of Burroughs is her husband who greatly encouraged her to start writing books. Fortunately for Burroughs, her children are now independent and away from home, something that augurs well for her writing ambitions without getting distracted. Other than writing, Burroughs likes traveling and describes herself as religious.

Author Debra Burroughs books are synonymous with female characters that are both sturdy and exhilarating; and the books also explore their fortunes and misfortunes with male lovers. Burroughs writes books whose sensuality and romanticism is very enthralling and at the same time giving a wide berth to expletives and abusive content. Even though Burroughs is a self-published author, many of her books have been listed alongside notable bestsellers by famed dailies including The New York Times and US Today.

Paradise Valley Mystery: Motivation for Writing
To get a literary foothold, Debra Burroughs wrote fictionalized accounts of the real-life stories that her grandmother and mother narrated to her concerning their lives. Some of the occupations that gave Burroughs a head start in her writing career include working as a feature and assistant editor in their school publication, and writing a column for a mainstream newspaper.
In matters debuting, Burroughs started writing novel-length works in 2009 and finished writing her earliest book in 2010. More than seven years down the line, Burroughs has authored highly rated works ranging from a standalone novel to a trilogy to a heptalogy.

Paradise Valley Mystery: A Section on Books
Apart from Paradise Valley Mystery series, the other series penned by Debra Burroughs is called Jenessa Jones Mystery. The title Paradise Valley was inspired by the name of a small town wherein the story is set. Paradise Valley Mystery consists of seven major books that were published between 2012 and 2014; the series has a total of eleven works, including two novellas and three boxed sets. The earliest book in the serialized Paradise Valley Mystery has three editions. The first edition was originally published in 2012, titled The Scent of Lies; and this book is classified under the romance, suspense, mystery, fiction, thriller (particularly cozy thriller sub-genre), business book, and contemporary genres.

Emily Parker is the featured protagonist in Debra Burroughs’ book in the Paradise Valley Mystery series. Meet Emily Parker. Parker is a youthful widow. A confident, goal-driven, focused, and audacious woman, she works in the real estate industry. On the flip side, Parker is exceedingly stubborn based on the manner in which she often leaves her nosy and gossipy friends in a huff whenever they disagree. Parker was married to a man who, in the run-up to his death, worked as a private eye. Parker’s spouse, named Evan, was murdered half an year previously and the murder case is yet to be unraveled.

Emily Parker is still mourning and trying hard to investigate her spouse’s murder when her life takes a new twist, further complicating her already problematic life. Parker gives up her real estate profession and starts operating her late husband’s detective agency; in this light, she gets her first ever client that is named Delia McCall. McCall hires Parker to investigate McCall’s husband, named Ricardo, concerning an affair and embezzlement.

Shortly after Parker starts following Ricardo, the latter turns up dead; the victim’s wife, McCall, is a person of interest and a handsome homicide detective called Colin Andrews has fingered her for the murder. The ensuing conflict as Parker and her bosom friends race against time to exonerate McCall from the murder case and save her from incarceration amid hitherto unknown personal information concerning Evan’s life makes this murder mystery intriguing and suspenseful in equal measure.

Best Paradise Valley Books
These are the best three books out of the seven contained in the Paradise Valley Mystery series. The first one is titled The Scent of Lies, and has been already discussed. The second one is named The Heart of Lies. This is the second book in the Paradise Valley Mystery series and was originally published in 2012. It consists of both a novel-length book and a novella named The Edge of Lies. In the novel, Emily Parker teams up with detective Colin Andrews and starts investigating a suspicious man whom one her bosom friends has fallen in love with; the novella recounts Emily Parker and her husband Evan’s love life, Evans’ secretive life, and the manner in which the couple relocated to Paradise Valley.

The third one is called The Chain of Lies; it is the third book in the Paradise Valley series and was also first published in 2012. There is a blossoming romantic affair between Parker and Andrews who are also fighting organized crime, and a discovery of Evan’s killer and the motive behind it.

Other Books Series You May Like
Readers who enjoyed Burroughs’ Paradise Valley Mystery series also liked the following suchlike series of books. The first one is titled Marisela Morales/Dirty series, a trilogy written by Julie Leto. The protagonist, a Latina heroine named Marisela Morales, is a beautiful and daring bounty killer who, a decade previously, was saddened and maddened by her former boyfriend whom she is now hunting.

The second one is called Bandit Creek series and is written by multiples authors. The books contained therein, whose time frame ranges between 1860s and present-day, are set in a town called Bandit Creek that is located in Rocky Mountains upon Montana. Another notable series is named Decorah Security series, authored by Rebecca York. This series comprises of fourteen major works and features Decorah Security agents who undertake risky assignments, protect the vulnerable, and perform search and rescue missions.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Paradise Valley Mystery

Leave a Reply