BookSeriesInorder.com







Parish and Richards Books In Order

Publication Order of Parish & Richards Books

A Life for a Life (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wages of Sin (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Flesh is Weak (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shadow of Death (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
His Wrath is Come (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Breath of Life (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dead Know Not (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Be Not Afraid (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The House of Mourning (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Through a Glass Darkly (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Lamb to the Slaughter (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Silent in the Grave (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
In the Twinkling of an Eye (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Parish and Richards series denotes the title of a literary series authored by Tim Ellis. An Englishman, Tim Ellis traces his place of birth to Hammersmith Hospital, located in Hammersmith District upon London. Ellis, who is a sexagenarian, was born in 1953. Ellis spent his childhood in Cheadle, an English village situated in Chesire. Understandably, the author and his spouse would later retire to Chesire.

In the context of basic education, Tim Ellis schooled at a Chesire-based primary school. Later on, Ellis was admitted to Broadway High School, also located in Chesire. The fact that there were ready jobs for school leavers regardless of their qualifications in those days, coupled with his hatred for school, prompted him to drop out of school. Even then Ellis has since pursued postgraduate education; subsequently, he has two master’s degrees (one in Education and another in Educational Management) and a doctor degree.

Initially, Ellis had several occupations before he enlisted in the Royal Army Medical Corps. He joined the military in 1971 aged eighteen. Ellis left the army after serving for slightly over two decades. He served in the position of a Regimental Sergeant Major by the time he was discharged. After military service, Ellis was employed in a secondary school where he held the positions of a financial manager and taught Behavioral Sciences. He formerly worked as a lecturer at The University of Lincoln, tutor at Anglia Ruskin University, and is a one-time consultant.

Tim Ellis: Literary Influences and False Start
There are many notable figures that influenced Tim Ellis. According to Ellis, the earliest influence came from Canadian singer-cum-penman Leonard Cohen in his teenage. Other figures that influenced him are English scribbler Bernard Cornwell, Russian-American author Issac Asimov, South Africa-born English author JRR Tolkien, Swedish novelist Stieg Larsson, Englishman Roger Jon Ellory, and British author Conn Iggulden.

Ellis first attempted writing poetry as a teenager; unfortunately for the then fifteen-year-old boy, it was in vain due to the rejection letter that he received when he submitted his work to a publishing house. During his occupation as a military man, he wrote lots of military-related issues that he later referred to as claptrap. All in all, Ellis has since retired from formal employment and currently writes full-time.

Parish and Richards: Section on Books
Tim Ellis specializes in the fiction (specifically historical fiction sub-genre), science fiction, fantasy, and crime genres. Ellis’ fiction and non-fiction work is extensive as it ranges from novellas to standalone novels and series of books to poetry to short stories. His series of books comprise of two 1-book series, a trilogy and quintet, four duologies, and a 13-pronged literary series.

In this light, the 13-book novel series is titled Parish and Richards series; it was published in a span of four years, between 2010 and 2014. There are four editions of the first book in the Parish and Richards series of which the first edition was initially published in November 2010, titled A Life for a Life. This book is shelved under the mystery, fiction, thriller, crime, and British literature genres.

Jed Parish and Mary Richards are the featured central characters in the Parish and Richards series. On the one hand, Jed Parish, who is a male, is an experienced tricenarian law enforcer holding the position of a detective inspector. On the other hand, Mary Richards is a young adult law enforcer holding the position of a police constable. Richards, who is in her twenties, is a rookie officer. Both Parish and Richards are working partners. Parish sees Richards as a sister figure while Richards views Parish as a brother figure. The two have a cordial professional relationship; they also have a penchant for complimenting and admonishing one another.

The crisis point in the first book in the serialized Parish and Richards is a typical assignment wherein a stabbing incident segues into a quest for a serial murderer. A serial murder is on the prowl and the killer’s signature is stuffing tokens on the victims’ mouths. The key to joining the dots between the tokens and the victims is an isolated orphanage whereby boy-child abuse was rampant. To state that the book is intriguing and well-crafted is an understatement.

Parish and Richards Awards
Tim Ellis has penned an anthology titled Untended Treasures; a couple of the stories contained therein clinched 3rd Prizes in literary contests.

Best Parish and Richards Books
These are the best books in the Parish and Richards series. The first is the aforementioned 2010 book named A Life for a Life. The second book is named The Wages of Sin; this is the second book in the Parish and Richards series, chronologically. It has four editions and was initially published in April 2011; it is all about a murderous psychopath who wreaks havoc yet again after a seven-year hiatus. The perpetrator is targeting women; worse still, Parish’s co-worker Mary Richards has been targeted by both the mysterious killer and the duo’s malicious superior. Lives and occupations are at stake.

Another book is titled The Flesh is Weak; it is the third book in the Parish and Richards series, chronologically. It has three editions and was originally published in August 2011. Hereby, the discovery of a juvenile’s grave heralds the findings of more murdered children’s graves. A journalist in the know-how is killed and the publication she worked for is set ablaze, compelling Parish and Richard to scrape through puzzles to get incriminating evidence.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked Parish and Richards series also enjoyed the following series of books. The first is named DC Laura McGanity series, a quintet penned by Neil White. This features a Lancashire-based detective constable, protagonist Laura McGanity, and her heartthrob-cum-reporter, antagonist Jack Garrett. The second is titled DCI Gilchrist, a sextet authored by Frank Muir. The protagonist, named Andy Gilchrist, is a detective chief inspector based in St. Andrews upon Scotland.

The third is called DI Geraldine Steel series, a 9-book book series authored by Leigh Russell. Geraldine Steel is a female detective inspector with a nose for solving murder mysteries. Another sought-after is DS Jack Mackinnon series, a sextet penned by D. S. Butler. It features protagonist Jack Mackinnon, a detective sergeant sleuthing deadly murder incidents.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Parish and Richards