Book Notification

Parke Godwin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Cold Blue Light Books

with Marvin Kaye
A Cold Blue Light (With: Marvin Kaye) (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghosts of Night and Morning (By: Marvin Kaye) (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Firelord Books

Firelord (1980)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Beloved Exile (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Last Rainbow (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Sherwood Books

Sherwood (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Robin and the King (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Snake Oil Books

Waiting for the Galactic Bus (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Snake Oil Wars or Scheherazade Ginsberg Strikes Again (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of So Weird Books

Family Reunion (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Escape (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of W.I.T.C.H. Graphic Novels Books

The Power of Friendship (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Meridian Magic (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Revealing (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Between Light and Dark (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Forces of Change (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Under Presure (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Unexpected Return (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of W.I.T.C.H. Specials Books

W.I.T.C.H. Secrets (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
W.I.T.C.H. Friends (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
W.I.T.C.H. Crushes (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Memory of Lions (1976)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Darker Places (1980)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Invitation to Camelot (With: John M. Ford) (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Truce with Time (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Limbo Search (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Tower of Beowulf (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lord of Sunset (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lovers (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vala (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Lady of Finnigan's Hearth (1977)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Prince of Nowhere (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

The Fire When It Comes (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Go Not Gently (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best from Fantasy and Science Fiction 24(1982)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Great Tales of Fantasy and Science Fiction(1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Invitation to Camelot(1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Classic collection of Haunting Ghost Stories(1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Anthology of Fantasy and the Supernatural(1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killing Me Softly(1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tenth Annual Collection(1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Chronicles of the Round Table(1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Great American Ghost Stories(2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Parke Godwin was an American published author recognized for his lyrical style of prose and humor.

Parke was born on January 28, 1929 in New York City. Today he is recognized for fantasy novels and stories of legendary figures that have been put into historical settings that are fairly realistic. One example of this is his Firelord series, which was inspired by the legend of Arthur. In this classic trilogy, he retells the story, placing it in the fifth century through the Roman empire’s collapse. He has also given his retelling of the Robin Hood series with his novels Sherwood and Robin and the King. These stories are set during the Norman conquest.

His grandfather in Harry Post Godwin. The author was born in New York City and remained a native there. He has had short fiction featured in different anthologies and even television. Godwin wrote a short story that was titled “Influencing the Hell Out of Time and Teresa Golowitz”, which was the inspiration for one of the episodes of The Twilight Zone.

Besides being an author, Parke wore many hats in his time. He worked in advertising, as an actor, a research technician, maitre d’ hotel, dishwasher, and radio operator. He attended World Fantasy Con in 2011 as its official guest of honor. Unfortunately, the author had to move to a close care facility shortly after in 2012 due to a decline in memory function. Godwin passed away June 19, 2013.

Godwin had a remarkable literary career that led to a broad fan base. He was nominated in 1982 for best novella for “The Fire When It Comes” and won, earning him the World Fantasy Award.

Godwin is the creator and the author of the Firelord series. This series first made its mark in 1980 with the publication of the debut novel, Firelord. This was followed in 1984 by the sequel, Beloved Exile. The third novel in the series would make it a trilogy. It was published in 1985 and is titled The Last Rainbow.

Firelord is the first novel in the series by the same name from author Parke Godwin. When an empire lies in ruin, a king will arise. The novel was nominated for a World Fantasy Award for best novel. Get a copy of this book and take in this unique tale of the Arthurian legend everyone knows told from the point of view by the king in the first person.

Britain used to be great but has seen better days. It is shattered after seeing centuries of enslavement and then having its Roman conquerors leave it behind. Now the leaders of the tribes and the warlords are fighting to get parts of it with a hunger. The setting is the fifth century as the Roman Empire is falling apart in Britain.

This is the perfect time for someone to come along and try to figure out a way to bring the realm together even though it is in such bad condition. A centurion that is young at the time is rising up to meet the challenge. The mere mortal goes by the name of Artorius Pendragon. He feels that it is his destiny to take over the realm.

While he may be ambitious, Arthur is both fallible and flawed. He is a natural leader, but does not have a taste for the cruelties that come along with war. Still, it is his quest to pursue a way to bring the kingdom to wholeness once more. But when betrayed, can he handle losing both kingdom and a part of himself? Read this book to the end to find out what happens!

Beloved Exile is the second novel in the Firelord series by Parke Godwin.

Int his story, Guinevere is brought to life. She’s dealing with deep grief, since her husband is dead. Now she is King Arthur’s widow instead of his wife. It is up to her to help defend an empire that she also helped to bring into existence.

She also has the challenge of having people around her that she does not trust. Upstarts and traitors mean that she must be very selective about who she relies on and has close to her. Thankfully, she has Gareth, Lancelot, and Bedivere on her quest to try and unite the people in the wake of all of the disruption that came with the passing of King Arthur.

Even though she’s doing her best, it may end up not working out for Guinevere. But when betrayal means that she is sold into servitude to a Saxon that has no idea who she is, Guinevere is going to have to do what she can to try and find a way out. Can she make her way to independence? Will she find out more about herself and humanity along the way? Read this novel to catch every bit of this imaginative new tale of an old legend!



Book Series In Order » Authors » Parke Godwin

Leave a Reply