Book Notification

Patricia Moyes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Henry Tibbett Mystery Books

Dead Men Don't Ski (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sunken Sailor / Down Among the Dead Men (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Agenda (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder à la Mode (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling Star (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon
Johnny Underground (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Fantastical / Murder By Threes (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Dutch Uncle (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Saw Her Die / Many Deadly Returns (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Season of Snows and Sins (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curious Affair of the Third Dog (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Widower (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill a Coconut / The Coconut Killings (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Is Simon Warwick? (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel Death (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Six-Letter Word for Death (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night ferry to death (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Girl, White Girl (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice in a Blue Moon (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Who Killed Father Christmas? (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Suit of Diamonds(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery Cats(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Malice Domestic 5(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Century of British Mystery and Suspense(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Most Merry(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Everyone's Cup of Tea(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Patricia Moyes
Patricia Moyes was born on January 19, 1923 in Dublin, Ireland to Marion “Molly” Strachan and Ernest Pakenham-Walsh, who was a High Court judge in Madras and in the Indian civil service. She was educated in Northampton at the Overstone girls’ school. In the year 1939, she joined the WAAF.

In the year 1946, she was hired by Peter Ustinov as a technical assistant on his film called “School for Secrets”. For the next eight years, she was his personal assistant.

She co-wrote the script for “School for Scoundrels” in the year 1960, wich starred Terry-Thomas, Ian Carmichael, and Alastair Sim.

While she was an assistant editor for London Vogue, she translated “Lecoadia”, a play by Jean Anouilh, as “Time Remembered”. It was performed in London in 1955, and again on Broadway in 1957, the latter of which received many Tony Awards. The play’s success enabled Moyes to begin writing mysteries and leave Vogue.

In the year 1951, she married John Moyes, and divorced in the year 1959. she remaried, marrying James Haszard, a linguist at the International Monetary Fund in The Hague.

In the year 1971, “Who Saw Her Die” was nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award.

Patricia wrote many juveniles and short stories as well as the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series of mystery novels. Her debut novel, called “Dead Men Don’t Ski”, was released in the year 1959. Her last novel, called “Twice in a Blue Moon”, was published in the year 1993 and was the nineteenth mystery starring Henry Tibbett.

Patricia died at the age of 77 on August 2, 2000 at her home located on the island of Virgin Gorda (British Virgin Islands).

“Johnny Underground” is the sixth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1965. Emmy Tibbett was quite uneasy about going to her twentieth Royal Air Force reunion. She was a native nineteen year old auxiliary officer at Dymfiled Air Base during the war when she fell in love with Beau Guest, the handsome hero pilot. She was devastated when he killed himself by crashing the plane into the North Sea on purpose.

At the reunion, she is shocked to find out that she was the last one to see him alive. Much more disturbing was finding out that everybody connected to this fatal flight had something they wanted to hide.

Chief Inspector Henry Tibbett of Scotland Yard realized that his wife had found something sinister. He could not keep her from investigating the past. Not even when the anonymous letters and one suspicious suicide made it obvious that somebody meant to keep their nasty secret buried and would not hesitate for a moment to kill again.

Fans found the plot was cleverly done and the story was well told. There are red herrings, secret gays, lovable rogues, and nasty secrets from the past and it all comes together for a shocking denouement.

“Death and the Dutch Uncle” is the eighth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1968. Nobody suspects the savage murder of “Flutter” Byers, a small time gambler, in one seedy English pub has got anything to do with a border dispute between a pair of newly formed African nations. Not until Henry Tibbett finds out that Flutter worked for a short time in the hotel kitchen. It was here that a member of the commission given the power to resolve the dispute was found dead.

From England to the Netherlands and into the rural waterways of the beautiful countryside, Emmy and Henry chase after a killer that appears intent on creating a possibly explosive international situation.

Fans found this to be an enjoyable read with some fleshed out characters. Patricia writes well and with a lot of detail. Henry and Emmy are two great characters readers enjoy following around and hope to go on more adventures with them.

“Season of Snows and Sins” is the tenth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1971. Henry and Emmy are on vacation in the picturesque Alpine village in Montarraz when a popular ski instructor is killed. It seems his long-suffering wife did it, who was distraught after the affair he was having with the French film star, Giselle Arnay.

The jet-set crowd, however, with whom Giselle shares a ski chalet appear almost too anxious to see this young widow found guilty. It leads Henry to suspect there could be something more than adultery as the motive for this crime. Quickly, not even the sparkling layers of snow are able to conceal one deeply buried scandal that involves some of the most powerful people in French society.

Fans enjoyed this one, especially the brilliant plot twist at the very end of the novel. Readers were stumped the entire way through as to who the killer was and enjoyed the entire ride.

“Black Widower” is the twelfth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1975. Sir Edward Ironmonger (ambassador to the United States from Tampica, the newly independent island) and his temperamental and gorgeous wife, Mavis throw a party for the Washington diplomatic corps. Despite previous promises to behave, Mavis insults the Israeli ambassador and gets sent to her room, where her corpse is found just a few hours later.

Suicide is ruled out after the autopsy, and Henry Tibbett is brought in to conduct a discreet investigation, in order to avoid any and all embarrassing publicity.

“The Coconut Killings” is the thirteenth novel in the “Inspector Henry Tibbett” series, and was released in the year 1977. A US Senator is found brutally killed with a machete on an exclusive golf club’s grounds on a British Seaward Island. Margaret and John Colville, the operators of a modest hotel on the island, ask Henry and Emmy Tibbett, their friends, to perform an investigation.

There was an amiable young islander that works as a bartender for the Colvilles arrested for the crime. Henry quickly finds, though, that the murder rests on some complicated motives that reach far from the Caribbean.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Patricia Moyes

Leave a Reply