Book Notification

Patrick Rothfuss Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kingkiller Chronicle Books

The Name of the Wind (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wise Man's Fear (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Slow Regard of Silent Things (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Narrow Road Between Desires (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Kingkiller Chronicle Short Stories/Novellas

How Old Holly Came to Be (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lightning Tree (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Adventures Of Princess & Mr. Whiffle Books

The Thing Beneath the Bed (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark of Deep Below (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princess and Mr. Whiffle Coloring Book (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

with Jim Zub, Wizards of the Coast
Rick and Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rick and Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons Complete Adventures (With: Jim Zub,Troy Little) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy, 2009(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unfettered(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rogues(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Novellas 2015(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Patrick (Pat) Rothfuss was born in Madison Wisconsin in The United States of America. He is a science fiction and fantasy author who writes books that target young adults. Growing up, Pat as he is popularly known was raised like any other ordinary child in a normal family with parents that cared for him. He grew to maintain a gothic look characterized by long beards and hair. The authors looks portrays his genre of writing.

Pat was born on 6th June 1973. He holds a degree in English Litrature awarded by the University of Wisconsin-Stevens point. It took Pat nine years to decide what to study and graduate with the English degree. He explored a number of disciplines including Chemical engineering and Clinical Psychology before finding himself in an English Class and getting his degree.

Patrick Rothfuss’ formative years

Although it has been viewed that Science Fiction writers like Pat, grew up in a different form of life that instilled mystery and imaginative worlds in their minds. Pats’ case is different. Throughout Pat’s formative years, his parents were there for him and provided all the encouragement that he needed to give his best both in school and in life. They gave him the advice that he needed and anticipated that he would grow up to the young man they molded with the principles that they instilled in him. To their dismay, Pat ended up a gothic writer. To his parents, he never lived to his full potential as they expected. He ended up a geek.

During his high school years, Pat Rothfuss was the clown of the class. He spent most of his time reading novels. He could read a novel or two every day. Pat gave relationship advice to his girlfriend during his young life. Although it is perceived that he never kissed a girl, he was popular with her girlfriends who found confidence in him and treated him as a friend that they would confide in and get advice from. Pat used to write Elf stories during these days. His first book that he wrote was when he was in Campus and was undecided on what to study.

Patrick Rothfuss’ education and career

Pat is known to have studied a lot as he discovered what he wanted to do. For seven years, he studies anthropology, eastern religions, history, philosophy, alchemy, parapsychology, writing, and literature. These diverse exposures gave him the needed skills for creative writing. He also studied six martial arts, learned how to pick locks, studied how to become a skilled lover of women, and practiced comedy.

Pat is known to have started a number of initiatives based on his experience during his undergraduate years. He wrote a column called the college survival guide, which is a satirical article on college life. In 2012, Rothfuss had a podcast every month called the Story Board. The podcast was based on fantasy stories and he featured other authors including T. Brooks and B. Sanderson. The Story Board was broadcasted for eight episodes before it ended.

The author got his MA at the same Campus and got back to his home University to teach. He has a number of awards to his name including Quill Award that he won in 2007 and David Gemmell Award that he won in 2012 for his literary skills. The author has two sons called Oot and Cutie Snoo and lives with Sarah who is his girlfriend.

Pat is an assistant sub lectured. This means that he is not a full assistant lecturer. He teaches at the university and has a number of roles with the students as well. He is the college feminists advisor where he advises women and how to handle relationship issues. He is also the advisor to the fencing club and he advises a sorority. Pat carried on with his old habit of roll playing which he does occasionally in a more sophisticated way.

Patrick Rothfuss’ writing career

Pat started professional writing when he completed his graduate school where he studied a Masters of Arts in English literature. He completed his first book in 2002 when he just started to teach at the University. Almost every publisher he knew rejected his book.

Pat has written a number of books including a trilogy titled Name of the wind and the wise man’s fear.

The Name of the wind

This is the first book in the King Killer chronicles by Pat. The story is told by Kvothe’s own voice. Kvothe is a young man gifted with magic and knows most notorious wizards in their world. He lives in a crime-ridden city as a young boy. His childhood is not the normal childhood that anyone would like. He enters the school of magic and his fugitive life following the murder of the king begins. The story is intimately told from Kvothe’s life and explores the life and tribulations of a wizard. In the first book of the trilogy, Pat puts the readers in the life of the wizards and understands their perceptive of life. Better still, the reader is in a young wizard who grows along with the tribulations that follow him.

The wise man’s fear

This is the second book of the King Killer chronicles trilogy by Pat Rothfuss. The book is about Kvothe who searches for answers. His motivation is to uncover the mystery and truth behind Amyr , the Chandarian, and the death of his parents. The book is about the heroism in the main character who is Kvothe who leaves university to find himself a life and fortune in far lands following rivalry with a powerful member of the nobility. He travels to Vintas where he becomes a politician who tries to solve the problem of assassination attempt on a noble. As he pursues his answers, he is put on trial by the legendary Adem mercenaries and has to reclaim honor to the Edema Ruh and he travels into the Fae realm. Kvothe becomes the first man to survive Felurian the faerie woman. Pat described the wise man’s fear to be three things, which are the sea in storm, a night without moon, and the anger of a gentlema

Book Series In Order » Authors » Patrick Rothfuss

2 Responses to “Patrick Rothfuss”

  1. Jeri Metz: 3 years ago

    I am looking for a 4th book in the King Killer Chronicles. It may be a graphic Novel. Can you send me the name?

    Thank you,

    Jeri Metz

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Are you thinking of The Doors of Stone


Leave a Reply