Book Notification

Paul C.R. Monk Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Huguenot Chronicles Books

Merchants of Virtue (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voyage of Malice (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of Hope (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
May Stuart (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Call of Freedom (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
May Stuart is a standalone novel set in the world of the Huguenot Chronicles.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Strange Metamorphosis (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Subterranean Peril (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paul C.R. Monk
Paul C. R. Monk has worked as a script writer, a linguist, and a teacher. It was during his time working as a script writer in 2014 that he published his first novel that he wrote for his three sons. “Strange Metamorphosis” won the Literary Classics Eloquent Quill award. Paul has since staged some plays.

Paul grew up in the south east of England before spending many years living in France with a 3 year stint in Spain. He’s spent time in North America and China.

Paul trained as a linguist, and worked for 9 years as a teacher before he became a script writer on scores of video game projects from indie to AAA titles, gaining himself a nomination at the Writers Guild of America Awards for outstanding writing.

“Strange Metamorphosis” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2013. A transformative choice. A talented boy. Even small journeys can have some epic consequences.

Marcel faces this life changing choice. He can take his chances at a prestigious Parisian university or he can play it safe by taking a job at a neighboring estate. Torn between stepping into his dad’s footsteps or following his heart, he takes the wisdom of one enchanted tree, and promptly shrinks down to the size of an insect.

He has to enlist help from the bugs that he used to capture in order to survive the world under the tree roots. A strong-willed beetle, a jokester inchworm, and a rogue honeybee are his sole friends on this treacherous journey. In order to find the cure for his condition, he has to traverse this dangerous meadow and infiltrate the buzzing hive. However time is running short, and if Marcel is unable to find the cure fast, he might never grow up.

“Merchants of Virtue” is the first novel in the “Huguenot Chronicles” series and was released in 2016. France in 1865. Jeanne is the wife of a formerly wealthy merchant, however she now risks losing it all. Louis XIV’s soldiers will stop at nothing in order to forcibly convert the country’s Huguenots to Catholicism. The men ransack her belongings and threaten her kids.

One at a time, she watches as her Protestant neighbors cave underneath the constant harassment. She and her husband resolve to keep their faith, however Jeanne wonders if the punishment for their defiance is more than she can possibly bear.

If she is unable to figure a way to evade the soldiers’ clutches, her family is going to face a fate much worse than just imprisonment and poverty. They might never see one another again.

“Voyage of Malice” is the second novel in the “Huguenot Chronicles” series and was released in 2017. Persecuted for their beliefs, a family has to travel around the world in order to find a place to call home.

1688, Geneva. Jeanne is hardly able to scrape by on her meager earnings from weaving. She dreams about her former life as a wealthy merchant’s wife before Louis XIV’s soldiers ran her family out of France for refusing to renounce their faith. However even in Geneva, Jeanne and her son are not anywhere close to being free from persecution.

Jacob hopes that his letters make it all the way to Jeanne clear from the other side of the sea. While biding his time as an indentured servant on a Caribbean plantation, tragedy strikes in the form of pirates and shipwreck. The ex-merchant desperately searches for a way back to his wife.

If Jacob and Jeanne cannot rise above a world that is closing all of its doors, then they might never be reunited ever again.

“Land of Hope” is the third novel in the “Huguenot Chronicles” series and was released in 2018. A family that’s been ripped apart by persecution. A country’s global power play. Is England’s ruler going to turn their reunion attempt into a desperate bid to survive?

1689, in New York. Jacob Delpech thinks about his child and wife both day and night. He is determined to reunite with his family back in London, however New York’s brutal winter deep freeze has ruined his carefully laid out plans. With transport taking him across the Atlantic now at a standstill and European politics verging on upheaval, his chances of ever returning back home grow slimmer with each passing day.

Jeanne Delpech’s heart is aching for a loving reunion with her husband, while she’s snowbound in Switzerland. In order to make it back to London, she and her son will have to travel through extremely treacherous terrain. However the largest obstacle between her and Jacob’s embrace might be the journey through dangerous enemy territory.

England’s new king triggers some fresh battles with France and her allies, the family’s plans to reunite falls into ruin. While both wife and husband start their hazardous journey to London, a war creates an impossible chasm between them. Are Jeanne and Jacob going to reunite or will religious persecution rip this family apart forever?

“May Stuart” is the second stand alone novel and was released in 2019. He is tired of his privateer practice. She is finished with spying. Up to their necks in murderers, can they possibly flee from the open seas for their chance at love?

1691, Port de Paix. May Stuart is ready to begin a new life with her young daughter. No longer content with her role as an English courtesan and spy, she gains passage on this merchant vessel under a false name. However her trip to collect her beloved child gets thrown off its course once ruthless corsairs raid their ship.

Didier Ducamp (former French lieutenant) fears that he has lost his moral compass. After his daughter and wife’s deaths, he sank to carrying out some horrible deeds as a pirate. However after sparing a gorgeous hostage from his bloody-minded fellow sailors, he never expected that his noble act would wind up becoming the catalyst for a rich new future.

May, in return for his kindness, offers them both an escape with a reward of hidden plunder. However backstabbing booty hunters, ripples of war, and cannibalistic natives are ready and waiting to rip them apart on the shores.

Can Didier and May set sail for a prosperous life together, or are they going to face betrayal at the sword points of their cutthroat crew mates?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paul C.R. Monk

Leave a Reply