Book Notification

Paul Chafe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ark Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mission Critical (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Man-Kzin Wars Books

The Man-Kzin Wars (By: Larry Niven) (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars II (By: Larry Niven,S.M. Stirling,Jerry Pournelle) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars III (By: Larry Niven) (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars IV (By: S.M. Stirling) (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Children's Hour (By: S.M. Stirling,Jerry Pournelle) (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars V (By: Jerry Pournelle) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars VI (By: Gregory Benford,Mark O. Martin) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars VII (With: Larry Niven,Gregory Benford) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Darker Geometry (By: Gregory Benford) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of All Possible Wars (By: S.M. Stirling,Robert Sheckley) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars VIII: Choosing Names (By: Larry Niven) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars IX (By: Jim Baen) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of the Kzinti (By: Jerry Pournelle) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars X: The Wunder War (By: Larry Niven) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars XI (By: Matthew Harrington) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Destiny's Forge (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars XII (By: Larry Niven) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars XIII (By: Larry Niven) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars XIV (By: Larry Niven) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Planet (By: Larry Niven,Hal Colebatch,Jessica Q. Fox) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man-Kzin Wars XV (By: Larry Niven) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Geographical Imagination of Annie Proulx: Rethinking Regionalism(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Paul Chafe was born in the year 1965 in Toronto, Ontario and grew up in Hamilton, Ontario. Besides writing, he is an infantry officer for the Canadian Army reserves, and brings this knowledge and experience to his fiction work.

When he is not writing or making things blow up, he spends his spare time flying sailplanes, cycling, parachuting, and travel.

He began reading science fiction when he was just eight years old, starting with “Space Cat” by Ruthven Todd. Then he read a beaten up copy of “Tom Swift and his Giant Robot” that his mother got at a jumble sale.

His first non-children’s science fiction story he read would have been Asimov’s “The Rest of the Robots”, when he was around ten years old. Once more, his mother was the one that introduced him to this, as she too was a major science fiction fan, and knew just what to get him started on. At this point, he was hooked. He would go to the college that his dad worked at, as they had a subscription to Analog magazine and he would read the back issues each day after school.

He writes science fiction, and his debut novel, “Mission Critical” was published in the year 1996, which he published as Paul C. Chafe. Chafe has published many short stories in Larry Niven’s “Man-Kzin Wars” series, which includes “Destiny’s Forge”, the first full length novel in that series.

“Mission Critical” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1996. U. N. Captain Lewis Tyrell got captured by the enemy, but he was still able to accomplish his mission of securing a vial of the experimental cyberlink drug called Hype. Had the U. N. won the war, he would have become a hero. He was just released when it all ended, and had nowhere to go.

That ended when they came for him. He is convicted by a fake trial, and winds up exiled to a lunar penal colony called Mare Stellatis. This is a place where escape is impossible and any who try get enslaved in the underground ice-ore mines until the end of time.

The situation looks hopeless, but he meets Dr. Jania Sycell, who is a former systems designer that was able to break the final barrier between computer technology and the human mind. The both of them have got the technical expertise they are going to need in order to get out alive. Escape may just trap them in the hands that wield Hype.

“Genesis” is the first novel in the “Ark” series, which was released in the year 2007. The human race is running low on time on Earth, which has become overcrowded, and there is a single man with enough courage to save it. Ark, a colony ship, is the greatest project that man is ever going to attempt. It is a self contained world that has taken one hundred years to build, and it is launched on a ten thousand year voyage so that the seeds of civilization can be carried to the stars. This is humanity’s last gamble to escape from a desperate world. The price of this hope, however, is measured in lives.

There is the designer of the Ark, Joshua Crewe. He has been obsessed with his vision, and has devoted his life to winning the chance to make it a reality. There is no burden too great for him while he pursues his dream, especially because others are the ones that have to bear it.

The first of the spaceborne, Aurora Brady. She has one foot in the future and one foot in the past. Brady has to give power to her enemies so that the Ark can be launched, but if she gives them too much is going to mean its destruction.

A simple farm boy named Jedidiah Fourgere, who finds himself caught up in a revolution that is forever going to change the balance of power in the hermetically sealed world of the Ark. Humanity’s future lies in this man’s hands, as he is torn by faith and love.

This is a realistic science fiction book, and includes the different stages of technical planning while building the Ark. The characters are quite engaging, making this book that much more interesting. There is good writing in this book with a nice idea powering it all, and some readers just want to see where the story goes in future installments.

“Exodus” is the second novel in the “Ark” series, which was released in the year 2009. Centuries after Ark departed, the original crew’s descendants do not remember that they are on a city-sized spaceship, and do not know anything of the mission. They do not even know about the starry universe outside their ship.

The Prophetsy, which is a theocracy that is based around terror and slavery, has been ruling over the Ark for longer than anybody currently living is able to remember. It is has just succeeded in taking over the few free regions that remained on the ship. There are still some chinks in this monolithic tyranny.

Since Danil was a young boy, he has been a slave, but his spirit has never been broken. His keen mind is able to see ways that the theocracy may be overthrown and is able to think up new weapons that could make victory real.

Annaya is the Prophet Polldor’s daughter, who is the undisputed ruler of the Prophetsy. She is much more strong-willed and intelligent than her brother. The rules state, though, that a male heir is the only one that can become the next Prophet. To her dad, she is just a pawn, somebody to be married off to a powerful ally. She is determined to make sure that does not happen, even if it means she has to somehow overthrow both her dad as well as the Prophetsy itself.

Olen, who is the son of the Prophet, is anxious to be the next Prophet. He is going to cooperate with his sister’s plans as long as he believes they are going to lead to his assuming the throne and get absolute power. However, he is even more dangerous ally than Annaya realizes at the moment.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paul Chafe

Leave a Reply