Book Notification

Paul Christopher Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Paul Christopher Books

The Miernik Dossier (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tears of Autumn (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Lovers (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Better Angels (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Supper (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bride of the Wilderness (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Sight (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shelley's Heart (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Old Boys (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christopher's Ghosts (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Paul Christopher Books

The Bride of the Wilderness(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Supper(1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christopher's Ghosts(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Miernik Dossier(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Lovers(1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tears of Autumn(1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Better Angels(1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shelley's Heart(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Sight(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Old Boys(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Note: In the chronological order, The Last Supper partly takes place 2nd but also after The Tears of Autumn.

About Paul Christopher:

Paul Christopher, was created by Charles McCarry and he has pleased fans the world over. He is an agent with the CIA and one of the best that they have, maybe have ever had. He is also a closet poet, having written poetry from an early age and he still does it on the side, when not out on missions for the CIA.

He was born in Germany before World War II to a German mother and an American father. He waits until after the war to join the CIA, quickly becoming the super spy is known as today. He his haunted by the disappearance of his mother after the end of World War II, making it his quest to figure out what really happened to her.

He is a very sophisticated man. Paul Christopher is at home in an urban area. He prefers it over any other. There he can find all that he needs and find the inspiration for his poetry. Poetry is the main thing that keeps him sane through everything that he goes through with the CIA.

Paul Christopher quickly learned that being one of the best that the CIA has to offer as many downsides to it. Firstly he seems to always be gearing up for the next mission, unable to have much of a social life. But that does not affect him as much as the constant backstabbing and all of the games the players play in the intelligence community. One day he may have a friend and the next day that same friend can be stabbing him in the back. While a week later the same friend will want to be a friend again.

He is one of the most dedicated CIA agents as well. This is also a hindrance to what little personal life he has. Paul Christopher is on every powerbrokers list of people to avoid. He has found out dirty little secrets about every one of them that he is come up against, and they would rather not let these facts get out. So his loved ones sometimes may pay the price for his tenacity and the CIA.

Paul Christopher’s life is basically one chaotic mess after the other, with only his poetry between him and a rubber room sometimes. But he is always up for the task, never wavering in his mission. He completes his orders and maintains a standing as one of the best CIA agents ever, even after some events that forced him out.

Paul Christopher – Through The Years

Paul Christopher has starred as the main protagonist, or at least been mentioned, in over eight novels. He has been mentioned in passing or slightly appeared in reference within a few spinoff books by his author, following the cousins of Paul Christopher. They have little to do with Paul himself, but the last spinoff does shed some light on a secret Paul Christopher would rather have stay buried, one that made him into the man he is today.

In the book, Second Sight, Paul Christopher is just recently released from a Chinese prison. He has just learned about his daughter that he had with his estranged wife. He only wants to reconcile and be a part of her life, leaving the world he knew with the CIA behind him. But that world does not want to see him left alone. His past quickly catches up with him and before he knows it he is back in the CIA’s grip, fighting for his life and the survival of his friends and family. Paul Christopher tries to figure out why agents are being drained of their secrets and revealed to those that would do them harm. He enters a world he long thought he never would again and just hopes it will be the final time he has to.

Paul Christopher could very well be dead in, Old Boys. For a seventy year old he is in excellent shape. But one day he disappears and the Chinese show up claiming to have his ashes. But his friends refuse to believe that he is dead and they think it is some kind of Chinese trick to draw Paul Christopher out. So they delve deep into his life and possible death, searching for the truth and hoping they will find him alive, or at the very least his true killers and what actually happened.

Paul Christopher seems to be a spectacle in the spy world with the novels starring him reaching worldwide fame. He keeps readers coming back for more, showing them the coldness and the loneliness of a CIA agent’s life, especially one of Paul Christopher’s talents. His stories tend to be hit or miss with some readers because of that cold and chaotic nature. But that is also what makes him such a hit with the millions of readers worldwide who have been reading Paul Christopher’s CIA adventures ever since 1973.

Paul Christopher – In The Movies

Paul Christopher himself has never appeared on the big screen, possibly coming close a few times with deals that fell through. But never getting a big break to appear in any movie theaters for television shows.

But a novel, The Better Angels, starring cousins of Paul Christopher, who learn a great secret that could allow them to steal the presidential election, had a movie loosely based upon it. Wrong is Right, was released in 1982 and starred James Bond himself, Sean Connery. Most reviewers did not score it very high, finding the plot not very plausible for the movie. But some found if you turned your brain off, it was a sleeper hit not to miss.

Paul Christopher – Then and Now

Paul Christopher has gone through many incarnations and adventures over the past thirty years in the literary world. A novel have even been released depicting his ancestors and what they went through. He has had, as mentioned, a few novels about his cousins, which depicted secrets of his past. Then there are his novels where he is the main protagonist. In them he depicts to the reader a world that might seem glamorous to some, but all who read soon find out that being a super spy for the CIA, is not much of a life. The authenticity in which Charles McCarry writes the Paul Christopher character shines through in every single novel, a fact which many of his readers truly appreciate.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Paul Christopher

4 Responses to “Paul Christopher”

  1. Dan: 11 months ago

    How would you read them, as published or chronologically?

    • Graeme: 11 months ago

      Personal preference for me would be publication order but it usually is.

  2. jim: 3 years ago

    i whant to read in order so can you list them in order

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      They are?


Leave a Reply