Book Notification

Paul D. Gilbert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes Books

The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chronicles of Sherlock Holmes (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Annals of Sherlock Holmes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sherlock Holmes Books

Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Rat of Sumatra (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes and the Adventure of the Christmas Stocking (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes and the Adventure of the Risen Corpse (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes and the Adventure of the Black Plague (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes and the Adventure of the Danse Macabre (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes and the Secret of Colonel Warburton’s Insanity (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Odyssey of Sherlock Holmes Books

Sherlock Holmes and the Unholy Trinity (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Four-Handed Game (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Illumination of Sherlock Holmes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories Part III: 1896 to 1929(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories - Part V(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories - Part VIII: Eliminate The Impossible: 1892-1905(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories - Part XII: Some Untold Cases(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories Some More Untold Cases Part XXIII: 1888-1894(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The MX Book of New Sherlock Holmes Stories Part XXIX: More Christmas Adventures 1889-1896(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paul D. Gilbert

Paul D. Gilbert is a fiction writer with a few novels centered on Sherlock Holmes. Gilbert’s love for writing is evident in his books, and for most Sherlock Holmes fans, his work is like a breath of fresh air. Away from writing, Gilbert enjoys watching movies and engaging in different types of sports. He also works as an undertaker in addition to being an ancient history fan who takes pride in incorporating historically accurate details in his writing.
Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Rat of Sumatra

This book features Sherlock Holmes, a detective who leaves no stone unturned when it comes to digging up for the truth. It is the autumn of 1898, and the Matilda Briggs has just drifted in a vacant dock. The clipper ship is long overdue, and many people are stunned when the ship is sighted. This surprise turns into horror when the people discover that only one of the crew members, a young cabin boy barely in his youth, is on board. The cabin boy is on the verge of death, thanks to a mysterious attack. Unfortunately, the young boy does not live long enough to give a detailed account of what happened to his colleagues.
Sherlock Holmes is tasked with investigating the matter. Oddly, Holme’s attention is drawn into a case involving a famous archaeologist who disappeared under mysterious circumstances. Away from trying to solve a puzzle that seems to be taking an exciting twist every day, Holmes also takes up a client who wants a series of letters interpreted. Daniel Collier happens on letters sent to him from the Far East by his theologian and explorer father. While the letters are clear, Collier cannot tell the message that his father is trying to pass across.

This is an excellent story that follows Sherlock Holmes through his investigation and the search for the lost archaeologists. The story also comes with exciting tales of the Far Eastern culture. These combined with the numerous twists and turns are sure to keep you glued to the Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Rat of Sumatra book to the end. Meet an interesting cast and lead character who changes so much throughout the story that his son will, at a point, barely recognize him. For once in his life, Holme’s son will see his father’s weaknesses and vulnerability against all the evils the detective works to fight every day. The story also offers an array of interesting characters who bring in a lot of character to this story.

The Sherlock Holmes and the Giant Rat of Sumatra is a suspense-filled story making it one of Dr. Watson’s best-untold stories. In Doyle’s style, Gilbert tells most of the details through flashback and his ability to invoke the Baker Street scenes makes the stories more relatable. The plot is thick, and the pace is relentless from start to finish. Paul D Gilbert’s works fall among the best of Sir Arthur’s incarnations. This book shows Holmes at his best and worst both physically and mentally offering a rare glimpse into the detective’s weaknesses. Any Sir Arthur fan will enjoy every page of this intriguing story.
The Lost Files of Sherlock Holmes

This is the debut novel in The Lost Files Of Sherlock Holmes series. The story starts with the reopening of an old tin box containing an authentic treasure trove comprising of unpublished tales. These tales recount the remarkable skills of Mr. Sherlock Holmes. Dr. John Watson has been Holme’s colleague and friend for ages. With Holme’s permission, Watson sets to publish the letters.

The book starts with The Adventure of the Connoisseur story, where a client calls on Baker Street with a serious concern. Painting has just disappeared, and the owner is determined to get it back. Things will take a nasty turn at some point, but eventually, the truth about the painting and its disappearance will come to light. The story that follows sees Holmes and his friend travel to Cornwall to help a Colonel who is convinced that there are people who are out to assassinate his wife. Titled the Mystery of Avalon, this story comes with shocking revelations that will expose some unknown details about Holmes and his doctor friend. Other tales included in this book include The Old Grey Horse and The Missing Don Giovanni, among others.

The Mystery of Avalon is possibly this book’s most controversial story. The story features a colonel Masterson who makes the journey from Cornwall to London in search of Holmes. The colonel needs Holme’s expertise in finding the people responsible for the murderous attacks on his wife. Holmes and his friend Watson take up this case that looks quite straightforward to them. Holmes is already a step ahead and has gathered some details on Alice Masterson’s background. The background research reveals a conflict of interest, but Holmes is determined to find out the truth whatever the cost. In the end, this case reveals many lies and the tragic ending is sure to show Holmes in a different light.

Contrary to the name, The Lost Files were never lost. They were just buried in decades-long pieces of The Evening Standard or under unused indices. The book highlights seven stories, and some of these stories are set shortly after Watson marries Mary Morstan. However, it is only one of the stories that give a specific date.

The seven stories in this book involve the best of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson’s exploits. While the two friends spoke in the formal manner characteristic of that time, they enjoy many light moments. The stories are gripping, and Paul D Gilbert has done an excellent job of portraying the historical elements accurately and naturally even though he lives in a different era. If you are a Sherlock Holmes fan, you can be sure that you will fall in love with this book. Get to meet this hero in action as well as many other exciting characters who left a mark in Holme’s life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paul D. Gilbert

Leave a Reply