Paul Doiron Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mike Bowditch Books

The Poacher's Son (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trespasser (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bad Little Falls (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Massacre Pond (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bone Orchard (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bear Trap (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Precipice (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Widowmaker (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Knife Creek (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rabid (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stay Hidden (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Backtrack (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Almost Midnight (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Imposter (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
One Last Lie (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Caretaker (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead by Dawn (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hatchet Island (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Chronological Order of Mike Bowditch Books

The short story The Bear Trap is set between Massacre Pond and The Bone Orchard.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Eating Between The Lines (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Paul Doiron is a native of Maine. He is an author who has written many books that have won special and many awards compared to their counterparts. Doiron attended Yale Campus, where he graduated with an English degree. He also holds an MFA in imaginative writing from Emerson College.

As an ex-member of the Maine Arts Commission (MAC) and a present affiliate of the Maine Humanities Board, Doiron is also a certified Maine guide that specializes in fly fishing. He resides on a trout brook in Coastal Maine.

Paul Doiron became a published author in the year 2010 with his first novel, The Poacher’s son. It was the first book he wrote of the Mike Bowditch sequence of crime novels. This novel has won the Strand Critics Award and Barry Award for the Best First Novel and was later nominated for various other prestigious prizes in publishing.

These include the Edgar Award, Anthony Award, Thriller Award for the Best First Novel, Macavity Award and The Maine Literary Award for “The Best Fiction of 2010”. His second novel, Trespasser, triumphed with the Maine Literary Award and was also an American Booksellers Association Indie Best Seller.

The novel was also named a “masterwork of high-octane plot” by Booklist. Bad Little Falls was Paul Doiron’s third book. Just like the other two first novels, this novel was a Bookscan hit and a candidate for the RT Reviewers Choice Award together with the Maine Literary Honor. The fourth novel in the series, Massacre Pond, was Indie Favorite and Next pick, in addition to Bookscan Hit. His fifth novel titled, The Bone Orchard was published on July 15th, 2014.

The Poacher’s Son

This is the very first novel by Paul Doiron and the presentation of his Mike Bowditch character. Mike Bowditch is a game warden who arrives home one evening to find a voice mail from his alienated father who lives by illegal poaching. An even more terrifying call comes in the next day from the police.

They claim to look for his father who is a top suspect in a murder case that involved a cop. His dad, Jack, escaped from police detention, but Mike believes that his dad is innocent. The novel is a first-rate debut full of literary suspense. It is also engrossing and taunting.


In the riveting follow-up to The Poacher’s Son, Trespasser is about the Maine Warden Bowditch’s mission to find a lost woman. This later leads him through a thick forest of lies to look for a murderer who may have committed murder and gotten away with it before.

For Bowditch, whose life was shattered by a terrible act of violence, staying back and doing nothing is simply not an alternative. His clandestine survey reopens previous wounds between the Maine locals and wealthy summer residents. This makes him put both his life and his woman’s life in jeopardy. It is an interesting storyline that will keep you glued to your novel.

Bad Little Falls

A continuation of The Mike Bowditch series, this novel shows how Bowditch is sent to exile. When a blizzard falls on the coast, he is then called to a rustic cabin of a horrified couple. There happens to be a half-frozen man at their door who claims to have lost a friend in the storm. However, what begins as a rescue mission later turns out to be a mysterious murder investigation.

The dead man in question is found to be a drug dealer and Bowditch vows not to interfere with the case. Nevertheless, his word is tested when he gets attracted to an involved woman with her son. The boy seems to know what happened to the man, but he is not willing to share it out. This is a tale of romance together with mystery revolving around it.

Massacre Pond

Massacre Pond is Paul Doiron’s superb finalist novel in the series. It features Bowditch and a striking, enigmatic young woman whose duty is to save the Maine wilderness could have provoked murder. On a hot October dawn, Bowditch is called to a crime scene where the dead bodies of 7 moose are found mercilessly butchered on Elizabeth Morse’s estate.

What seems to be a mindless slaughter at first becomes creepier when a dreadful killing is discovered and Bowditch’s investigation becomes a search to find the ruthless murderer. The magnificence and beauty of the Maine woods is used as the setting of this violence and suspense story when a powerful woman’s aim zeal comes head to head with ruthless brutality. Captivating and intense is the description of this award winning novel.


Paul Doiron is an amazing writer who has inspired many writers across the world. His work lies in the beauty if his imagination and passion for mystery. If one can analyze all his novels, they will find that the writing style used to complete his novels is remarkably wonderful.

This is what all these awards giving organizations found in his books. Most Booksellers also recommend one to read the books. He is a full time writer and is currently said to be working on the debut of his other new books. He certainly has much knowledge in the writing industry as he was the editor-in-chief of a magazine known as Down East, from the year 2005 to 2013.

It was during this time when he left his job to become a full time writer of his own books. Unfortunately, his personal life is not mentioned on any website, but what one can be sure is that he is one great writer. In addition to this, he is very passionate about his work and regards writing as his talent. He is also an idol to many young writers out there.

According to an interview held by a journalist at one time, Paul Doiron describes his writing as organic. This is where he lets his characters surprise him in the story and to discover things about himself as he writes. He also mentioned his literary influences while he was growing up including Hemingway, Flannery O’Connor, Raymond Carver, Robert Louis and William Faulkner among many others. He added that his decision to set his stories in Maine was based on the fact that he loved Maine outdoors, besides books.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paul Doiron

4 Responses to “Paul Doiron”

  1. Nancy Devries: 3 weeks ago

    My Husband and I really like your books and the way you write.
    We’ve read 3 so far, but will definitely read the rest.

  2. MARGARET HASKINS: 2 months ago

    I am so hooked on this series. Enjoyed the six books I’ve read so far. Read a review in People’s magazine for Dead by Dawn. Bought 10 of your books.
    Having a hard time finding Bear Trap in hard or paper
    back copy.

    • Graeme: 2 months ago

      Hi Maragaret – that is a short story that was released on ebooks and audiobook only.

  3. Bill Mann: 2 months ago

    Love your stories
    When will next one be available
    Stay well


Leave a Reply