Book Notification

Paul Krueger Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Steel Crow Saga (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Driftwood Orphans (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paul Krueger is a lapsed Chicagoan that lives in Los Angeles and can be found herding cats. If he is found, he should be returned to Jennie Goloboy of Red Sofa Literary.

When Paul was only seven years old, he began reading the Animorphs books and realized that the name K.A. Applegate was not just put on the books for decoration. It was there because there was an actual woman with the name K.A. Applegate who got to sit around and make up the books each day. Once Paul realized that people could actually make books and they were not something harvested off a book farm, he wanted to be just like K.A. Applegate.

After graduating from college, Paul worked pouring lattes for the one percenters at a busy coffee shop in downtown Manhattan. It was a tad humiliating for somebody that had a fancy new degree, particularly when there would be people he knew coming into the store and would see him in his uniform. The longer he worked there, he started getting pride in the work he was doing there.

Folks would sneer at him and treat him like he was only a vending machine wearing a hat, but he figured out that they were the ones that were wrong, not him. His job had real value, and he was not less valuable for being one of the ones doing it. This emotional journey was the direct inspiration for the same one Bailey takes on in “Last Call”.

While writing, Paul usually needs one or two drafts to figure a character’s voice out. On the other hand, Bucket, a character in “Last Call” was pretty much fully formed right from the start. Paul finds Bucket is someone that truly really enjoys his magical and adventurous lifestyle without any worry or reservation.

Since people have strong opinions of what makes a proper Manhattan or a martini, he read from all kinds of sources and attempted to average his recipes down from all the input he had. He had the same drink from different bars to get a feeling for different techniques and flavors and also got advice from his bartender buddies for any guidance. Otherwise, he just practiced his Mixology at his home.

Paul says that his drink of choice is the old fashioned. It is a delicious, simple drink that looks damned pretty when it is sitting in a glass with a big piece of ice in it.

Paul’s non-writing hobbies include things like D&D, karaoke, cooking, and collecting comic books. He is a musician, and fronts the Adventure Time-themed punk band called Lemonbadd.

His debut novel, called “Last Call At the Nightshade Lounge” was released in the year 2016. He writes fantasy novels. Paul’s short fiction has appeared in places such as Noir Riot and Sword & Laser.

“Last Call At the Nightshade Lounge” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. Bailey Chen has just gotten out of college, with all the usual new-adult demons: no job offers, no money, and an awkward relationship with the old friend she sorta hooked up with in high school, named Zane.

Zane introduces Bailey to his bartender, monster-fighting friends, her demons get a lot more literal. It turns out that there are evil creatures that stalk the city’s streets after hours, and they can be hunted just with the help of magically mixed cocktails.

Whiskey offers the power of telekinesis, vodka allows super strength, and tequila allows its drinker fire blasts of elemental energy. Are all of these powers going to be enough for Bailey to stop a mysterious rash of brutal deaths? What is she going to do when the safety of a real-world job starts to come calling for her?

Paul Krueger delivers a captivating and fun debut novel with a unique and unusual story line that keeps readers rooting for its characters until the very dramatic and stunning climax. Fans loved the characters in the book, finding the portrayal of Bailey’s Asian family to be pretty relatable.

“Steel Crow Saga” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. A soldier with a curse. Tala has lost her family to the army of the empress and has spent her entire life avenging all of them in battle. The empress’ crimes do not haunt her nearly as much as the ones Tala herself has committed against the laws of magic and against her flesh and blood.

A prince with a debt. Jimuro has inherited an empire’s remains. The revolution has brought his kingdom down, he has to depend on Tala to get him home safe. It was his army that killed her entire family. Now Tala is going to either be his downfall or his redemption.

One detective holding a grudge. Xiulan is a pipe-smoking and eccentric detective that is able to solve any mystery in the world, but the largest mystery of all is that of her identity. She is a princess in disguise, and she plans to get her throne by showing her dad with the ultimate prize. The most-wanted prince in the world.

A broken hearted thief. Lee is a small-time crook who lives by a single law: Leave them before they are able to leave you. Princess Xiulan asks her to become her partner in crime, and offers up a magical animal companion as her reward, she is unable to refuse. Quickly, she finds herself not wanting to leave this princess behind.

This group of royals and rogues should really be at each other’s throats, but they have united for a common purpose,. To beat an unstoppable murderer who defies every law of magic there is. During this battle, they have to forge unexpected bonds of love and friendship that is going to change their lives, and even start to change the world.

Fans enjoyed this book’s characters and how they are developed. It is not possible to sum up any one of them in just a single word, and are fascinating flawed, and fully fleshed out.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paul Krueger

Leave a Reply