Book Notification

Paula Gosling Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Blackwater Bay Books

The Body in Blackwater Bay (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Few Dying Words (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead of Winter (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and Shadows (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Underneath Every Stone (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jack Stryker Books

Publication Order of Luke Abbott Books

The Wychford Murders (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Penalties (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Running Duck (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fair Game (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Zero Trap (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mind's Eye (As: Ainslie Skinner) (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Loser's Blues (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman In Red (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hoodwink (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tears of the Dragon (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

100 Great Detectives, Or, the Detective Directory(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paula Gosling is a published author of fiction known for writing crime novels. She also goes by the pen name of Ainslie Skinner.

She was born on October 12, 1939, in Detroit, Michigan. She has been a resident of the United Kingdom since the 1960’s. She attended high school in Detroit and graduated in 1957 from Mackenzie High School.

After that, she attended Wayne State University and got her English degree, graduating in 1962. She then began working as a copy writer. She kept working on her fiction and was able to complete her first novel. A Running Duck was published in 1974 and it won her the John Creasey Award in the category of best first novel.

A Running Duck was also published under the title of Fair Game. It has been adapted into movies twice. Once was for Cobra, which starred Sylvester Stallone. The second movie was Fair Game, which starred Cindy Crawford.

She would receive more accolades in 1985 when she got the Gold Dagger for writing her book Monkey Puzzle. She has also served as a chairman for the Crime Writers’ Association.

Paula Gosling is the creator and the author of the Jack Stryker series of fictional novels. The series got started with the publication of Monkey Puzzle in 1985. It was followed by Backlash, the second novel in the series. which was released in 1989. The third novel in the series came out in 2002 and is called Ricochet.

Monkey Puzzle is the first novel to come out in Paula Gosling’s Jack Stryker series. Check out this debut in the series and see why the author was awarded the Gold Dagger for the book!

This book introduces the reader to the main character of Detective Lieutenant Jack Stryker. He’s a cop that obsesses over his work and has even been described as an oddball and sometimes even a genius.

In a city that is capable of evil, it appears that death has become even more cold, secret, and vicious. There’s someone lurking out there. and they have every intention of waiting for their ideal moment to strike.

The main character Detective Lieutenant Jack Stryker may have his most challenging case to date. Someone has been murdered, and there is going to be hell to pay. The victim turns out to be a professor at Grantham University. Although he may not have been the most popular teacher, was that really a reason to be murdered?

It appears that there were a number of people who could benefit from the professor’s death. There is more than one person that is going to get something from this poor professor’s murder, so it’s difficult to narrow down the list of suspects. Someone out there did this, and it’s up to the detective to find out who.

There is a large amount of people who could have done this and had motive to off the professor, so it’s a long list that Jack Stryker is pulling up. Someone is out there knowing that they have committed this heinous crime and have killed someone else. An ego that is waiting to be taken down two sizes.

Jack is perplexed as to who could have done this horrible act in this city so large that it’s like a maze. But Jack Stryker is obsessive, and he’s completely capable of taking on this case and seeing who did this. Once he does, he will have no trouble hauling them in and holding them responsible for their terrible acts.

With so many suspects to scan through, Stryker is in over his head. But if there is anyone that can scan through the many potential suspects to find out who did it, it’s Jack Stryker. But what will he do when one of the suspects that comes down the list is a connection to his very own past?

Meanwhile, the attacks keep going on while the killer is still free. More murders ensue, and Jack is obsessed with bringing the killer in for justice. At the same time, the people of the city and the students and staff on campus are panicking. It’s one thing to deal with a singular murder. But when the cases go up, you’re dealing with a serial killer, and people start to really feel unsafe.

Jack Stryker knows that the public needs him to bring in the true killer and take that person off of the streets. But he’s going to need something in order to break the routine and find out who really did this. There’s going to be a clue or something that will lead him to the killer, but until he finds it, he’s as good as useless.

With a panicked public and more events happening, Stryker is more determined than ever to find who is responsible for the killings. If he doesn’t find who did it soon, there are just going to be more people panicking and feeling like they are unprotected. With each of the public imagining themselves as the next victim, Stryker needs to find the killer soon. But will he be able to sort through all the motives and clues with so much pressure? And will he be ready when he finds the monster responsible?

Pick up a copy of the award-winning Monkey Puzzle to find out!

Backlash is the second novel in the Jack Stryker series by Paula Gosling. If you loved all of the action and the page-turning detective work in the first novel of this series, be sure to check out the second!

Detective Lieutenant Jack Stryker is back, and the enigmatic and obsessive genius tackles yet another case. This time the story takes place in Grantham. There, a sniper has gone rogue and is killing police officers.

Not only is this horrible, but each time he strikes, he also vanishes without leaving any clues behind. Stryker and other detectives don’t know where to turn. Then Dana Marchant comes down to the headquarters from Justice Department to look into an undercover FBI agent’s death.

Stryker and his partner share what information they have with Dana as they keep looking for clues in their victims’ lives. But when they’re hit by the shooter themselves, they have to stick to the sidelines but have even more reason to find the killer now. Can Dana help them catch a killer? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paula Gosling

Leave a Reply