Book Notification

Peggy Gaffney Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kate Killoy Mystery Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Crafty Samoyed Knits: Knitting Projects for Dog Lovers (With: Anngharaad Reid) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Labrador Retriever - Knits (With: Schmidt Betty) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Golden Retriever Knits (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Do It Yourself: Publishing Nonfiction In Your Spare Time (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Bernese Mt. Dog Knits (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Newfoundland Knits (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Welsh Corgi Knits: Pembroke and Cardigan: Knitting Projects for Dog Lovers (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Poodle Knits: Digital Edition: Knitting Projects for Dog Loveres (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crafty Llama and Alpaca Knits (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knit a Kitten, Purl a Puppy: Picture Knit Projects for Pet Loving Families (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Peggy Gaffney

Largely writing mystery and suspense novels, Peggy Gaffney is well known for her mastery of suspense and tension as a writer. Knowing exactly how to guide the reader, she’s a gifted author, really understanding what it is that audiences look for in her books. Turning the mystery genre on its head, she effectively plays with the conventions, doing something quite different in the process. This allows her to speak in a direct and distinctive manner that’s both highly engaging and compelling in equal measure.

Setting herself apart from other writers working within her field, she’s an entirely singular voice, creating something quite different. It’s also her love of dogs that really helps to inspire her too, allowing her to write mystery, while incorporating dogs into her stories. This has found a huge following of readers from around the world, building her audience, and further establishing her brand. Keeping readers guessing throughout, she’s always one step ahead, making sure the audience are kept on the edge of their seat.

There’s also elements of romantic suspense in her books too, as she creates a style that infuses a number of different genres into one compelling mix. Her characters also stand testament to her writing talent, as they’re extremely well drawn, fully standing out from the page. Leaving an impression on readers, both her characters and her stories stay with her audience long after they’ve put the book down. With so much more to come in the future, she’s definitely a writer who won’t be stopping her output any time soon either, as her writing career continues to grow.

Early and Personal Life

As a writer Peggy Gaffney would always be fascinated with the mystery novel, something which would grow into her lifelong passion. Developing both her voice and her craft, she began to make a name for herself in the publishing industry as a highly renowned novelist. Honing her style, she would take a somewhat different approach to the format, making it her own in the process.

With a passion for dogs too, she would train them, as well as breeding and exhibiting them, something which would feature heavily in her work. Always looking for inspiration from the world around her, she would take experiences from her own life and put them back into her work. Born in New Haven, Connecticut, she continues to live there and write to this very day, with a lot more to follow yet.

Writing Career

Starting out back in 2015, Peggy Gaffney would begin her writing career with her ‘Kate Killoy Mystery’ series. This would start with ‘Fashion Goes to the Dogs’ in 2015, which would be a mystery novel featuring dogs, along with her lead investigator Kate Killoy. Looking after dogs and exhibiting them at shows, Kate Killoy constantly finds herself dealing with new cases, becoming an amateur sleuth in the process.

In 2016 she would follow up her first novel with her second, ‘Puppy Pursuit,’ and then ”National Security’ in 2017. ‘Search’ would come in 2019 and ‘North Country Honeymoon’ that same year, followed by ‘Guard Kate’ in 2020. A member of the ‘Sisters in Crime,’ Peggy Gaffney is very much a firm fixture on the mystery crime fiction scene, writing regularly and consistently.

National Security

First published in 2017 on the 25th of September, this would initially come out on the Kindle platform. Providing another mystery for Kate Killoy to solve, it’s the third book in her mystery series, following on from ‘Puppy Pursuit’ in 2016. Featuring many arcs from the previous books, such as the relationship between Kate and Harry growing, with them being engaged in this one, the mysteries themselves are self-contained.

This is a great piece of escapism, really taking the reader on a journey and having a lot of fun with it along the way. The characters are all sympathetic and well drawn, allowing the audience to easily relate to both them and their plight. It’s an intense mystery that really keeps the reader guessing right through to the very last page, entertaining them all the way.

Taking place at the Samoyed National, Kate and her now fiancée the agent Harry Foyle hope to attend the dog show in peace. This is soon disrupted when a body is found, and the FBI and NSA believes Kate holds the answers, along with killers who are now on her tail. She needs to find the truth herself though, so she recruits a Russian spy now retired to help her find the clues she needs. Will she be able to uncover the truth in time? Can she get to the bottom of this particular case? Just who is a threat to national security?


The fourth book in the ‘Kate Killoy Mysteries’ series, this would carry on the franchise with another mystery. Originally published through the Kanine Books imprint this time, the book was published in 2019 on the 18th of June. Giving readers more of what they’ve come to expect from the series, it provides plenty of surprising twists and turns along the way.

Once again this entry achieves a lot in that it’s both fun and compelling, with an exciting plot filled with suspense and tension. Taking readers along for the ride, it really knows what it’s doing, capturing the fun of the previous books, and taking them in a new direction. The characters are well developed along with the world they inhabit, making for some extremely fun twists and turns.

Both Kate and Harry are set to get married within the week, as the two of them prepare, but that’s when Harry must search for the murderer of his father. Not only that, but Kate must manage search and rescue with her dogs, while meanwhile the mob are on both their tails. Facing danger at every corner, they must fast race against the clock if they hope to find the truth before it’s too late. Will they be able to find the real killer? Can they both get their dream wedding? What will become of the search?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Peggy Gaffney

Leave a Reply