Pendergast Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pendergast Books

By: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Relic (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Reliquary (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cabinet of Curiosities (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Still Life with Crows (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Brimstone (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dance of Death (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Book of the Dead (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wheel of Darkness (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cemetery Dance (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fever Dream (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cold Vengeance (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Extraction (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Two Graves (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
White Fire (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blue Labyrinth (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crimson Shore (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Obsidian Chamber (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
City of Endless Night (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Verses for the Dead (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crooked River (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloodless (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Pendergast series by Douglas Preston is a series of techno thriller short stories. Some of the novels are horror novels while others are simply just thrillers. Pendergast series are co-authored by Lincoln Child. The books are about the story of FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast.

The character of the FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast evolves through the series to match the various situations he finds himself in. Their first book is the Relic. The techno thriller is about the possibilities inherited from genetic manipulation in connection to human history. In the book, notable characters are Dr Frock, Lt Vincent D’Agosta and the main character Agent Pendergast.

The relic is about a series of murders that occur in a museum related to issues before the Superstition of a spectacular blockbuster exhibition that will feature Mbwun, which is a lizard God from the Brazilian mythology. In the relic, Lt. D’Agosta is depicted as an overweight middle age officer. His character is developed to fit the stereotypic character of a superstition disdainful officer.

He comes out as a typical investigative officer with a keen eye for detail but little motivation to his career. Dr Frock is a scientist. He is the coward type that knows a lot about his field of area but relies on the bravery of the type of Pendergast for security. Pendergast the protagonist is brave.

He goes full length to solve an investigative mystery. His pursuit to destroy alien creatures that he does not understand shows bravery. Agent Pendergast is smooth talking in the book and urbane. He is depicted to be too intelligent for an FBI agent. The New Orleans agent understand a lot about the scientific field he is involved in to solve the murders. There is a Relic movie version. The 1997 film has made some adjustments to the book including removing some characters from the story.

Pendergast is combined to D’Agosta with Tom Sizemore taking their characters. The second book is the Reliquary. In the book, Pendergast still faces the blood maddened Mbwun. Other major characters from the Relic are adopted into the story.

In the book, Pendergast is more informed about the mysteries of Mbwun. However, the creatures also adapt and change to suit the challenge they are facing. In the second book, Pendergast becomes more abrasive and understands the problem from a global view.

As the mystery expands its scope, Pendergast is forced to also expand his quest and pursuit for the mysterious creatures. From an agent who was investigating a scientific event, Pendergast takes the cause of annihilating the creatures personally. In the book, the Cabinet of Curiosity which is the third book in the sequel, a new twist of character of Pendergast is introduced.

In the book, He is potrayed to be secretive and highly resourceful. His approach to Dr Nora who is an archaeologists to assist in the investigation of the murders rings out more about who he is as a person and what people perceive him to be. Pendergast investigation develops from mere criminal investigation to an understanding of the scientific relation of the murder.

On discovery of a site where the killed victims have been buried, Pendergast gets to know more about the creatures. Pendergast faces some challenges as the police departments support diminishes. Although the police department do not cut their support, they play double sides in the investigation.

They appear to be in support of Pendergast but in real sense they do not share the enthusiasm that he has. The plot of the events brings out Pendergast as an investigator with a cause that has more than his career objectives. He has more pushing him towards resolving the murders than his job description.

He is comforted by the reality of the possibility that his uncle is related to the murders and there are a number of chemicals that are designed to destroy or kill the whole human population. The character of Pendergast is further developed in the book to bring him out as a man of conscious.

When he gets the formula that would be used to develop the killer chemical, he destroys it because it is a threat to humanity. All this he does despite the fact that he sympathizes with the effort his uncle has made in his pursuit to come up with the formula.

In the book Still life with Crows, agent Pendergast visits Medicine Creek, Kansas to find more information on the murders. The agent is portrayed as a good team member and a leader. His skills in incorporating a Goth called Corie in the investigation. She equips her with the necessary skills to be good at the investigation and they work together for a salary of $100.

Pendergast is also confident and convinced on his decision. Although the trail of books has made him a person who consults and listens to the opinion of others, he insists to the sheriff and the newspaper reporter in Kansas that the murders are through the hand of a local medicine creek brings him out as a man of his beliefs. His position is unpopular with his consulting team but he stands to it and pursues the opinion.

Other books in the sequel include two trilogies titled Diogenes Trilogy with books such as Brimstone (2004), Dance of Death (2005), and The Book of the Dead (2006) and Helen Trilogy with titles such as Fever Dream (2010), Cold Vengeance (2011), and Two Graves (2012). The Helen Trilogy brings out the life of the agent as a family man.

Helen is his wife and his wife is involved in her work as she is used to manipulate him. At some point, she is held captive to force Pendergast to concede his position in his quest for justice for the murders. The authors bring out the biography of Pendergast in all the books by showing his interaction with other characters as he attempts to solve the mystery murders.

In all these stages, Pendergast brings out a trait about him that is not exposed in the previous books. The latest book is the White fire published in 2013. It is the thirteenth book of Special agent Pendergast series. In all the books, the authors brings out what is expected in the character of an investigating officer especially when involved in investigations that require him to work with experts in a particular filed, the society, and the effects of the investigation to his family.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pendergast

2 Responses to “Pendergast”

  1. Lee Wronke: 4 years ago


  2. M.a. Ketchum: 5 years ago

    The Pendergast series are not only written by Preston but are a collaborative effort by him and Lincoln Child. Best books I’ve read in ages.


Leave a Reply