Book Notification

Pendragon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pendragon Books

The Merchant of Death (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost City of Faar (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Never War (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reality Bug (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Water (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rivers of Zadaa (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quillan Games (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pilgrims of Rayne (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Raven Rise (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Soldiers of Halla (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pendragon: Before The War Books

By: D.J. MacHale, Carla Jablonski, Walter Sorrells
The Travelers, Book One (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Travelers, Book Two (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Travelers, Book Three (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pendragon Non-Fiction Books

The Guide to the Territories of Halla (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Pendragon Adventure series is a series of science fiction and fantasy novels for young adults. Written by author D.J. McHale, these books spanned a period of 10 years from 2001-2010 and there are 10 books in total. The narrative style of the novels remains the same throughout the 10 books, as the main character’s story and struggles are recounted in a first-person perspective, while other character arcs and stories are detailed in a third-person narrative.

The titular character is named Robert “Bobby” Pendragon, and is just an everyday high school student living in Connecticut with his best friends. Everything changes, however, when he and his best friends Mark Dimond and Courtney Chetwynde realize that they must save 10 interrelated space-time realities called “territories”. Once he recognizes these facts, he is trained by his Uncle Pless and he joins a group of warriors called “he Travelers; Pendragon trains as a warrior in this group in order to defeat the primary antagonist throughout the books. That nemesis is named Saint Dane, a demon that thrives on exploitation. In essence, Saint Dane finds weaknesses termed decisive “turning points” in each of the 10 territories’ respective histories. At these points, Saint Dane involves himself and attempts to utterly annihilate each of the territories in question. Throughout the Pendragon series, each of the 10 books deals with a specific territory that Bobby and his friends are trying to save from the evil plans of Saint Dane. All in all, this is a truly thrilling young adult series and an adventure that any young reader would be mesmerized, captivated and enthralled by. Indeed, young readers will find themselves hooked on the Pendragon series right away, since the first two books in this 10 book series help set the tone for what will become a once in a lifetime adventure for Bobby and his friends.

The Merchant of Death : Book One in the Pendragon Series

The first book of the Pendragon series introduces the reader to the protagonist, Bobby Pendragon. Bobby has a seemingly normal life in Book One, living at home with his family and his dog Marley. At school, he is the star basketball player and, to top it off, he is incredibly smart and popular. While everything seems to be normal in his town of Stony Brook, Connecticut, his Uncle Pless comes to visit him and informs him that he is actually a Traveler; from this revelation, Bobby discovers that he can ride what the book terms “flumes” through both time and space.

As mentioned previously, each of the 10 books in the Pendragon series take place in a different territory. The territory in the first book is the amazing medieval world of Denduron. It has most of the same characteristics as Earth, save for the fact that Denduron has three suns. Upon reaching Denduron, Pendragon soon discovers that there is a conflict raging in the story between two tribes; these tribes are the Milago and the Bedoowan. The Milago are treated oppressively and are forced to mine for a valuable stone called glaze all in order to appease the tyrannical Kagan, who is queen of the Bedoowan. Without spoiling any plot details, since the Pendragon series of books are certainly ones you will want to discover for yourself, suffice it to say that Pendragon and his friends interject themselves in the conflict. All the while they are also confronting the demonic Saint Dane, who has an active interest in molding the conflicts in Denduron towards his malevolent purposes. The constant action and consistent plot turns established in this book set the tone for the general excitement that has come to be expected from the Pendragon series!

The Lost City of Faar : Book Two in the Pendragon Series

The second book in the Pendragon series picks up right where the action of the first book left off, as the reader finds Bobby and his Uncle Press traveling through the flume as they chase after their nemesis Saint Dane. They end up traveling to a mysterious and gorgeous water world named Cloral. If the reader thinks along the lines of Atlantis, then they are on the right track. This incredible territory is where the events of the second book take place, deep under the ocean waves in the city of Faar. Once again, the elusive shape-shifting demon Saint Dane intends to destroy Faar and Pendragon again attempts to thwart the demon with the help of some new friends. In short, the series maintains the riveting pace established in the first book. Indeed, this small taste of the 10 book Pendragon series should demonstrate that young readers will be in for the time traveling ride of their lives should they join Bobby and his friends on their Traveler adventures.

Other Pendragon Books

As previously mentioned, there are 10 books in the Pendragon series that were authored by D.J. MacHale. Those books centered around the protagonist Bobby Pendragon, but for readers that finish that journey there is more Pendragon excitement to be enjoyed. Pendragon: Before the War is a series of three novels written by authors other than D.J. MacHale, although they are still centered in the same universe. The purpose of these books is to show what the other nine Travelers were doing before the events of the first book in the Pendragon series, which of course dealt with the adventures of Bobby in The Merchant of Death. Further, for readers that enjoy comic books and graphic novels, the first book of the Pendragon series had a graphic novel of the same name that was made. All in all the Pendragon universe is a vast and expansive world of fiction that most any young reader would be entranced and mesmerized by.

Join the Travelers!

This brief introduction to the worlds that Bobby Pendragon and the Travelers explore, save and rescue is by no means expansive, yet it hopefully offered a brief and exciting taste of the kinds of action-packed moments that the Pendragon series of books provides. Take the journey now to find out whether Bobby and his friends can defeat the dastardly Saint Dane!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pendragon

Leave a Reply