Book Notification

Penn Cole Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kindred's Curse Books

Spark of the Everflame (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glow of the Everflame (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heat of the Everflame (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burn of the Everflame (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Penn Cole is an American author of fantasy, fiction, and romance books. She started writing at a young age when she could pile up dozens of notepads in her room. The author holds a degree in creative writing. She was an attorney and a business lady before she became a full-time author. When not writing, you can find her sipping wine on her balcony while reading romantic comedy, fantasy, and humorous nonfiction books.

Spark of the Everflame is the first novel in Kindred’s Curse series by Penn Cole. We are introduced to Diem, who dreams of a life beyond her impoverished village. She yearns for more, but with the Descendants ruling over the Mortals, achieving a better life is tough. The Descendants hold power, making it hard for anyone, especially someone from a modest background like Diem, to rise.

Diem overhears a secretive conversation between her mother and a Descendant. This discovery ignites her curiosity and determination. She confronts her mother, seeking the truth behind the hidden words. But before she can, her mother vanishes mysteriously, leaving Diem with a whirlwind of unanswered questions.

Amid this turmoil, Diem starts to notice something extraordinary about herself. Abilities she hadn’t felt since she was a child begin to surface. She recalls how her mother had always instructed her to suppress these skills. With her mother gone and secrets unfolding, Diem realizes these abilities might hold the key to understanding her mother’s disappearance and the reality of their lives under the Descendants’ control. She begins to explore these newfound powers, each discovery leading her closer to the truth and perhaps the better life she always aspires to.

Diem is a fierce and independent character, not one to follow the rules blindly. She has her way of doing things. Her search for her missing mother leads her into the shadowy realm of Descendant Royalty. Mortals are seen as lesser beings in this world, yet ironically, the Descendants rely on Mortal healers for their medical needs.

Throughout her journey, Diem grapples with the concepts of right and wrong. She has endured a lifetime of mistreatment by the Descendants. This fuels her decision to join forces with her best friend Henri, who is part of a rebel group determined to start a civil war against the Descendant rule.

The kingdom is on the brink of change. The current king is dying, and his nephew, Prince Luther, manages the kingdom in his stead. When Diem meets Prince Luther, their first encounter is far from friendly. Despite his impending kingship and her blatant disrespect towards him, Luther cannot punish her.

As Diem navigates her duties with the rebels and her interactions with the Royal family, she finds the situation more complicated than she thought. Betrayals and secrets come to light, shaking her trust in those she once believed in. Despite her opposition to the Descendants, she finds herself inexplicably drawn to Prince Luther’s charismatic authority. This unexpected attraction complicates her mission and feelings, making her question her loyalties and the true nature of the conflict she is embroiled in.

Penn Cole has a real knack for writing witty exchanges, and it shows in the lively banter between Diem and Luther, the story’s main characters. Their interactions contain clever quips and teasing remarks, creating a playful, amusing, and captivating tension. The book may not be heavy on romance, but the chemistry between these two is undeniable, keeping readers engaged with their dynamic.

The characters in this story are distinct and memorable. Diem stands out with her sharp wit and determination to make her voice heard. Henri, her best friend, is deeply committed to his beliefs, initially shielding Diem from the harsh realities of his world, but later admires her for sharing his convictions. The portrayal of Diem’s family relationships adds depth to the narrative. Her father’s pride, her brother’s educational ambitions, and her teacher Maura’s support enrich the story.

Cole’s world-building is vivid and immersive. She beautifully describes the contrasting environments – from the grandeur of the Descended Castle to the gritty reality of the mortal slums. These detailed descriptions make it easy for readers to visualize the settings and feel part of Diem’s world.

The plot is intriguing and multifaceted. It doesn’t have a single, clear-cut villain. Instead, it features various antagonistic forces contributing to the story’s conflict. The impending war and the tension between the mortals and the Descended form the backbone of the narrative’s conflict.

This book delves into complex social and political issues, examining them through the lens of justice. It explores the moral dilemmas faced by a healer who must balance her oath to heal and do no harm against her anger over the mistreatment and neglect of mortals by the powerful Descended. This adds a layer of depth to the story, making it a tale of fantasy and adventure and a commentary on justice and societal inequalities.

Glow of the Everflame is the second in Kindred’s Curse series by Penn Cole. Diem is presented with an extraordinary gift that has the potential to alter everything. However, this gift comes with a high price – it could endanger her life. As war looms closer, Diem discovers something that might save her people. She must strike a risky deal with her most despised enemies to harness this power: the royal House of Corbois.

Immersing herself in the world of the Descended elite, Diem’s understanding of right and wrong begins to shift. She finds her old prejudices questioned and new alliances blurring the lines between allies and adversaries.
At the same time, the mystery of her missing mother deepens, and the secrets she left behind become impossible to ignore. Diem also faces pressure from the Guardians and their relentless demands. Torn between past relationships and new romantic possibilities, she must confront her true identity and desires as time passes.

The threat of war intensifies, with dangerous foes on every side. Yet, Diem’s most formidable challenge is the internal battle over her heart.

The story weaves through a spectrum of emotions and experiences, ranging from joy and sorrow to betrayal, courtroom intrigue, and personal discovery. It highlights the theme of self-acceptance and the importance of embracing one’s true self, making “Glow of the Everflame” a rich and multifaceted tale of growth and self-discovery.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Penn Cole

Leave a Reply