Book Notification

Penny Grubb Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Annie Raymond Books

Like False Money (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jawbone Gang (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doll Makers (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where There's Smoke (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tiger Blood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Syrup Trap City (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boxed In (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing a Textbook (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Software Maintenance (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Writers' Toolkit (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Preparing for Higher Education Study (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Penny Grub is a renowned scientist and also an academician who has specialized in Health Informatics. Grub served as the chair of the Licencing and Collecting Society for Authors, which happens to be one of the largest writers’ organizations in the world. She served in the Writer’s Society for six years before retiring in the year 2003. Penny Grub has been a writer all her life, and she even penned her very first story, when she was only four years of age. In the year 2004, she was awarded a Crime Writer’s Award, which happens to be one of the most prestigious awards in the world. Apart from writing, Penny Grub has also worked on some jobs including working in pathology labs, medical schools across the world and even operating in theaters.

Currently, Penny has a full-time job in London, while she has another part-time job in Hull. During her spare time, Penny Grubb pens down occasional articles for different newspapers and crime novels as well.

Penny Grubb Best Books

If you are a fan of Penny Grubb, then you must be aware of the protagonist Annie Raymond. Penny Grubb introduces the protagonist, Annie Raymond in the novel Like False Money. In the book, The Doll Makers, we meet Annie once more, the exceedingly courageous lady. Annie travels to see her father in Scotland, away from her new post in London. The author, Penny Grubbs differentiates between the claustrophobia and the noise of the capital and the relative peace and space of the exceedingly small Scottish town. From the beginning of the book, Penny grabs the attention of the reader until the end of the book. Penny Grubb has the ability to get into the mind of the readers as well as their hearts and in the process bringing all her characters to life.

Even the villains that Penny creates have the characteristics of making the readers care about what happens next. However, irrespective of all of Annie’s faults, poor judgments, irritabilities and an exceedingly chaotic domestic lifestyle, the readers will empathize with. Annie’s intelligence, quick wits, determination, and bravery is the story’s driving force. The author, Penny Grubb takes the reader from one chapter to another with much ease and fluidity, and in the process leaving the reader anxious of what is going to happen next and also quite eager to pinpoint the villains among some potential suspects. Apart from surprises, Doll Makers is also full of shocks and moments of illuminations in the midst of the twists and turns, thereby making this book exceedingly hard to put down.

The developing pace of the story is timed to perfection, making the reader become emotionally engaged in the exceedingly complex puzzles, which eventually lead Annie Raymond into greater peril. The reader is given various clues, which are denied to the detective, thereby creating much tension as the reader gets to see Annie step towards the danger of which the reader knows about, but Annie is not aware of. Clues have been scattered throughout the narrative so that the reader can be able to solve the puzzles. However, the solution is not easy as one would expect it to be. With that said, Penny Grubb handles the scenes with danger expertly by injecting the feelings of fear, doubt, and anxiety into the novel so that the readers are drawn into the world that she has created.

Penny’s meticulous research takes the readers inside real buildings alongside the protagonist, real streets and real woodlands as well. All in all, the Doll Makes us not only a great read, but it is also an experience which is shared with the indomitable protagonist, Annie as she maneuvers through incomprehension, curiosity, betrayal, disappointment and the growing enlighten to an ending that is not only intense but also scary and inevitable. If you are a fan of crime that is spiced with a blend of gritty realism, human failings, humor and intelligence, then the Doll Maker is unquestionably the book for you.

The Jaw Bone Gang is another excellent read by Penny Grub. It is the third book that features the Private Investigator, Annie. Joe Bone brings more insight into the exceedingly complex character of the Scottish, who works in Hull city and the surrounding Yorkshire. Penny Grubb’s familiarity with the regions and also some of the region’s lesser known parts adds more detail to the text. The plot of the Jaw Bone Gang takes unexpected turns with the events and the secondary characters adding more complexity into the storyline. Penny Grubb deals with issues that affect people on a day-to-day basis, eschewing glamor and gloss to give her readers more insight into some of these issues.

The first book in the Grubb’s mystery series about Annie Raymond, a young P.I. This is Annie Raymond’s first job and she knows how important it is to prove herself to stay in the investigating business. The agency that employs Annie Raymond is located in Hull city, a section of England that Annie is not familiar with. Hull City is an excellent setting; apart from the fenland, the city has a dramatic landscape of sea. The city also offers a wide range of class and the racial contrast together with all the social conflicts that was created by a once flourishing international port. Annie was sent to Hull City because one of the director’s who works for the agency had broken her leg.

It does not take long before Annie Raymond discovers that this was not purely accidental. As she was settling down, Annie Raymond’s day entailed making coffee for her employer. There was only one case to work on and from the look of things; the case was not that promising. She was looking into the death of Terry Martin, one of the local journalist. Terry’s parents were determined to find out the truth behind Terry’s death, and where exactly Terry had been before his body was located. Annie soon discovers that the agency directors did not see eye to eye. While attending the funeral, she notices that there were three mysterious girls in attendance. Later on, Annie discovers that her intuitions have placed her life in danger. The book’s ending is absolutely gripping.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Penny Grubb

Leave a Reply