Book Notification

Penny Parker Mystery Stories Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Penny Parker Mystery Stories Books

Tale of the Witch Doll (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vanishing Houseboat (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
Danger At The Drawbridge (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Behind the Green Door (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clue of the Silken Ladder (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Pact (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clock Strikes Thirteen (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wishing Well (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saboteurs on the River (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost Beyond The Gate (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hoofbeats on the Turnpike (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voice from the Cave (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guilt of the Brass Thieves (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
Signal in the Dark (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispering Walls (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swamp Island (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cry At Midnight (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon

Penny Parker series by Mildred A. Wirt
Author Mildred A. Wirt wrote the “Penny Parker” series of mystery books. The series was originally published from 1939 to 1947 with a total of seventeen books being published in that time, with notes for an eighteenth novel that was never finished.

Penny Parker is a high school sleuth that also occasionally moonlighted as a reporter for her dad’s newspaper, the “Riverview Star”. She has a knack for uncovering and solving strange, occasionally bizarre mysteries. It is her impulsiveness which at times gets her into some hot water.

On her cases, she occasionally gets help from Louise Sidell, a brunette and her close friend. Sometimes she gets help from Salt Sommers or Jerry Livingston who were a photographer and reporter, respectively, for her dad’s paper.

She and her dad are the only characters that appear in all the novels with the other supporting characters not appearing in at least one book.

Penny is the only daughter of Anthony Parker, a widower, and was raised by him to be outspoken, self-sufficient, extraordinarily tenacious, and innovative. Despite encouraging her independence, he disapproves of Penny’s sleuthing. Her chatty and cheerful manner contradicts her keenly observant and shrewd mind.

Penny’s mom, similar to Nancy Drew’s, died some years prior, so she was raised by Mrs. Maude’s Weems, who is the Parker housekeeper, who took care of Penny as if she were Maude’s own child and also disapproves of Penny’s sleuthing.

Mildred, a newspaper reporter herself, favored Penny over all the other characters she wrote, even Nancy Drew. Her obituary quoted her from 1993, when she said in an interview she always believed Penny was a better Nancy Drew than Nancy is.

“Tale of the Witch Doll” is the first novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1939. With the sometimes hesitant aid of Louise Sidell, Penny learns the secret behind Melvin Osandra’s séance establishment, and in turn, helps out her friend Nellie Marble out of her difficulties that she has been having with her doll shop.

Penny is also able to free an actress named Helene Harmon from the plague of the witch doll which refuses to disappear. Penny, after she has solved her mysteries, gets the honor of writing it all up for her dad’s paper.

“The Vanishing Houseboat” is the second novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1939. When Louise and Penny take their buddy Laura Blair to apply for a new job, they accidentally discover a few mysteries. Linda starts working in a boarding house which is known for several disappearances.

At the same time, Penny gets acquainted with Mud-Cat Joe and his family that became homeless when their houseboat was stolen from them. Naturally, these two mysteries are linked to one another, and Penny is able to help Mud-Cat Joe and Laura Blair at the exact same time.

“Danger at the Drawbrige” is the third novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1940. Penny, when the newspaper’s society editor gets sick, is allowed to cover a society wedding at one mysterious old estate which is surrounded by a moat.

She discovers quite the mystery when the groom is a no show for the wedding. She also learns about a missing tax evader and searches for both guys at the same time. Penny solves both mysteries and earns another scoop for the Riverview Star.

“Behind the Green Door” is the fourth novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1940. Penny pays a visit to a ski resort and comes across several mysteries. There are unknown foes attempting to force the resort to shut down, and while she is investigating, she learns about a mysterious green door in the resort which leads to a room which you can only enter by invitation.

At the same time, one new acquaintance is offering to sell Penny a fur coat inexpensively. Penny investigates and is able to solve every single mystery, scoops on a rival reporter, and gets rewarded a brand new car.

“Clue of the Silken Ladder” is the fifth novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1941. Penny, on impulse, buys back the Leaping Lena, her old car despite her not having any money and has a new car. However she is able to get another job at her dad’s paper.

She discovers one odd silken ladder and learns about how it is used during burglaries. She also links the burglaries with a group of fake mediums, and her story ends up earning her a much-needed pay raise at the paper.

“The Secret Pact” is the sixth novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1941. Penny sees an odd tattoo on a sailor that she wants to write a story about, however neither her school’s nor her dad’s paper agree to this idea. So she impulsively chooses to start her own new paper in the abandoned Morning Press building and she enlists the aid of some close friends.

She quickly finds herself in over head and courting trouble after running the story on the tattooed guy in her new paper. It turns into a major scoop, gaining her respect from her dad’s colleagues.

“The Clock Strikes Thirteen” is the seventh novel in the “Penny Parker” series and was released in the year 1942. Penny is confronted by two different mysteries that ultimately converge on one another. First, there’s the strange chime from the Hubell Clock Tower which occurs at midnight, and the inexplicable replacement of the dedicated old clock tower by the shiftless friend of one real estate developer.

Then there is the series of terrorizing attackings of some local farmers, even a barn burning. The attacks seem to be the work of a group of thugs that is known as the “Night Riders”. Penny, with the aid of her friend Louise, works on solving this dual mystery before yet another attack happens and to save one innocent man from going to jail.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Penny Parker Mystery Stories

Leave a Reply