Book Notification

Perry Comer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Donland Books

The Prize (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Donland's Courage (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Donland's Victory (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Donland in Uncharted Waters (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil's Wind (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Man (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Frigate Captain (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between Enemies (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betrayal and Mutiny (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Donland and The Hornet Books

Publication Order of Fighting Marines Books

Hardy's Commission (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hardy's Challenge (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pastors Books

God's Outsider (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Myrtle Beach Murder (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The False Prophet (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Twin Oaks (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fall of Fort Fisher (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Nowhere (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Longing to Belong (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
God's Broken Man (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Fall of Fort Fisher (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snake Killer (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Andrew's War (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Chance (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Luck String (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Imposter (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Parish Nightmare (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Jesus Said (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sermons On Eternal Life (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Understanding Jesus (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Perry Comer is an award-winning novelist and bestselling author from North Carolina who is best known for the “Donland” series of novels.

The author was born in South Carolina’s York County but over the years has lived in various places across the United States.

Some of the places he has lived include Kinston, North Carolina, Dyersburg, Tennessee, Chicago, Illinois, Caruthersville, Missouri, North Hollywood, California but now makes his home in Wingate, North Carolina from where he writes his novels.

It was in 1972 that he got his first story published in “The Saturday Evening Post.” Since that time, he has published his works in several magazines and journals. Perry Comer published “The Prize” his debut novel and the first of the “Donland” series of novels in 2012. He now has more than two dozen works of fiction across several series.

Earlier on, he went to the Anderson Theological Seminary, Southeastern Baptist Seminary, and Winthrop University. He has taught at South Piedmont Community College and Wingate University and previously got a Bronze Star from serving in Vietnam.

“Donland’s Courage” by Perry Comer tells the story of a man named Donland who is devastated at the loss of the Hornet, a ship where he served.

Following the end of the war with the colonies, the ship has been sold and he is without any prospects. Like many others, he is cast away on the beach and survives on half-pay.

However, he had once made a daring rescue of prisoners from Puerto Rico and this makes him stand out among his colleagues. Admiral Pigot orders Donland to act as a guide to a rescue party to find and bring back someone very important to the crown.
Donland travels as a supernumerary aboard Brune the frigate, under the command of Captain Sheffield, a very snobbish man.

While landing the men, the ship goes aground and becomes the target of an onshore battery. Donland and several men manage to land but are stranded without a means of escape and pursued by pirates. Lacking any resources, the only people he can trust are Simon, Honest, and David.
When they left the ship Captain Sheffield had told them that they had to succeed by any means necessary. Donland is a man of great courage but the circumstances he is facing will require him to dig deep if he is to get out of this one alive and with his mission accomplished.

“Donland’s Victory” by Perry Comer is an enjoyable work of fiction that continues to follow the life and times of Donland. In this outing, Donland is the commander of the fifty-four gun Oxford, which joins in a fight between two sloops and a frigate even though all three are flying Spanish flags.

By attacking the sloops, he has set himself and his ship at risk. Things soon get even more interesting when the HMS Oxford finds itself pitted against a Spanish third-rate and a French frigate. Treason and treachery soon rear their ugly heads when France erupts in the throes of a Revolution.

Becoming the commander of the Oxford was the fulfillment of a promise made to him by the Admiral. But his recent actions have caused a lot of friction with the higher-ups and Donland and his ship are banished to Jamaica’s Port Royal.

Thankfully, he has by his side a bunch of his most trusted friends in addition to Betty Sumerford, the woman he has loved for most of his adult years. Once again, Donland rises to the occasion, as he deals with mutiny and piracy in the postwar Caribbean world.
Despite facing all manner of challenges including friction with his superiors, our lead and his ship HMS Oxford proved their worth fighting against some very formidable opponents.

“Donland’s Ransom” is a work set in 1779 during a time of war. The war has not been too kind to England, even as Donland and his crew have to outsail and outwit pirates, the Spanish and the French to rescue the crown prince of Portugal.

He is charged with delivering much gold to pirates to get back the prince and has been told that this has to be one of the most difficult missions he has ever been given. In addition to delivering the gold, he has to assist the man and if he fails, he will bear the consequences of that failure.

It is an excellent story that tells of the dangers early sailors faced every day including everyday happenings of their lives, even as they attempted to control the sea and win a war.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Perry Comer

Leave a Reply