Book Notification

Pete Brassett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Munro & DS West Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Clam Chowder at Lafayette and Spring (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wilder Side of Chaos (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kiss the Girls (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yellow Man (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prayer for the Dying (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brown Bread (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl From Kilkenny (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Pete Brassett
Pete Brassett is a mystery author best known for his DI Munro & DS West series. In this series, the author introduces characters dealing with PTSD, depression, and religious scandal.

These issues are sensitively handled, and the author manages to show how they continue to affect society. Brassett’s writing is outstanding, and from his descriptions, it is clear that he is well versed with police investigations.

The series is set in his native Scotland, and it is fun learning about the county’s culture, attractions, and language as the series unfolds.

She comes first in the DI Munro & DS West series. The book introduces Detective Munro, a Scottish policeman known for his crime-solving skills, and his new partner Detective West, or Charlie.

West is one smart woman, and while she has heard that Munro is not an easy detective to work with, she is determined to prove that she made a good decision.
When a person is reported missing, and the case comes to their desks, these two detectives do not think much about it.
However, when their investigation reveals a body cut into parts, they know that they are dealing with something more sinister than they previously thought.
A while later, another body shows up cut into pieces just like the first one. Now, it is clear that Munro and West are dealing with a serial killer, and they have to move fast before more bodies show up.

While these seasoned detectives are good at what they do, catching the killer will not be easy. Her identity takes a while to unravel, and she seems to be steps ahead of those trying to catch her.

The plot thickens as Munro and West discover the killer’s habit of slicing and dicing her victims. Will these two move fast enough to prevent another gruesome murder? What is the motive behind these senseless killings?

This is a crime fiction story that comes with many surprises. The characters are well developed, and you will enjoy meeting the lead detectives and learning a thing or two about their personal lives.

Munro and West make a great team, and it is fun watching them in action. The ending comes as a surprise and will most likely send you looking for the next book in this captivating series.

Are you curious to see who the killer is? What is their motivation, and how will Munro and West act when they find her? Read this book to the end for these and more.

This story is told in three POVs, starting with the female killer in 1st person and detectives West and Munro. You will also enjoy the witty banter between DS West and Munro and the pace at which things unfold.

Towards the end, it is revealed that Munro will be going back to Scotland, and you cannot help but wonder what he will be up to in the next installment.
She is an exciting story and a perfect beginning to the series. The author has done an excellent job of introducing the characters and giving a brief on their lives, making them relatable.

While the killer is identified as a woman, you do not discover her identity until the end.
Avarice comes second in the DI Munro & DS West series. Munro is back in Scotland, and he is trying to navigate retirement while still dealing with the loss of his late wife. When a body is discovered in a remote glen, DI Munro is called in to investigate.
It is hard to tell at first what happened, but the police think that this is a murder case. A postmortem quickly confirms this suspicion, but no one in the small police force experienced handling such cases.

This is how Munro finds himself out of retirement and at the center of a murder investigation. While the police chief wants to solve this case before the regatta, Munro is not getting much help from the local police.

Fortunately, DI Charlotte West is in the area, and she quickly agrees to help him with the investigation.
After the dead woman is identified, Munro and West start working through the list of suspects. There is the ex-husband, a semi-estranged daughter, and a current boyfriend.

Things are going to get more complex as the investigation intensifies, and it doesn’t help that the locals are not willing to cooperate with the detectives. Fortunately, Munro and West have dealt with many killers in the past, so they quickly piece the details when clues start coming to the surface.
A few feathers will be ruffled as the investigation continues, but Munro is not new to controversy and will not let anyone mess his investigation.
This is an exciting police procedural with a solid plot, a steady pace, and a captivating storyline. The author has done a good job of developing the characters and making them relatable.

Munro and West’s relationship continues to evolve, and it is amazing that they now enjoy a lot of light moments.
This story comes with many twists and turns, and it is hard to guess the killer until the end. Many startling revelations will be made along the way, and the detectives are going to endure some resistance.

This investigation will keep you on your toes, and you should expect to be surprised once the killer is revealed. The banter between the two detectives introduces some humor into the story, so you enjoy a few laugh-out-loud moments in the middle of a murder investigation.

While the murder case is not complex, it does take some time for Munro and West to start making headways, thanks to uncooperative individuals. You will also love the small Scottish town setting where secrets are hard to keep, and everyone is in other people’s businesses.

Avarice is an exciting addition to this series. The book is well-plotted and written, and if you have read the first book, you will enjoy seeing more of Munro and West in action.
While this is part of a series, you will still enjoy it as a

Book Series In Order » Authors » Pete Brassett

One Response to “Pete Brassett”

  1. Dominique Lanoie: 1 year ago

    Good day to you, When is the nest book in the DI Munro & DS West series coming up? I’ve read all 13 of them and waiting for the next book. I love theses books.


Leave a Reply