Book Notification

Pete Fernandez Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pete Fernandez Mystery Books

Silent City (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Down the Darkest Street (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dangerous Ends (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackout (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miami Midnight (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pete Fernandez/Jackson Donne Books

By: Alex Segura, Dave White

Publication Order of Ash McKenna/Pete Fernandez Crossover Books

By: Alex Segura, Rob Hart

Pete Fernandez series by Alex Segura

Author Alex Segura writes the “Pete Fernandez” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2016, when “Silent City” came out. The series crossed over with Dave White’s “Jackson Donne” series in the “Shallow Grave” novel which came out in the year 2017.

Pete Fernandez stars as a former journalist that is barely hanging on to his middle management job with the newspaper. Later in the books, he becomes a private investigator. Working with him on some of his cases is Kathy Bentley. The series is set, for the most part in the city of Miami.

“Blackout” made many most anticipated mystery novels in the year 2018, some of which include: MysteryPeople, Bookbub, and CrimeReads. It was named a Best Book by CrimeReads and Criminal Element in the year 2018. The novel was nominated for an Anthony Award for Best Novel.

“Silent City” is the first novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2016. Pete Fernandez is quite the mess at the moment. He is about to be fired from his middle-management job he’s got with the paper. His fiancee just walked out on him. Right after his dad suddenly died, he has returned back to Miami, slowly but methodically drinking himself right into oblivion.

A coworker that he barely knows asks Pete to locate their missing daughter. He finds himself pulled right into a tale of double-crosses, drugs, murder, and memories that come right the black heart of Miami’s underworld. And his dad’s past, too.

Making everything up as he goes and stumbling just as much as he succeeds, Pete’s quest is the wake-up call that he always needed but never wanted. It comes with deadly consequences, though. Pete attempts to make peace with a long-buried past in an effort to save the lives of remaining friends he still has.

“Down the Darkest Street” is the second novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2016. Pete should actually be dead. Lying in ruins is his professional and personal life. His best buddy has died. His career working at a newspaper is behind him. His ex is staying with him while her own marriage crumbles.

On top of all of this, the ex-journalist finds himself in a dangerous storm coming for him. He investigates a missing girl with an unexpected partner, and getting a lot closer to a vicious and calculating killer who has been cutting a swath through Miami. During this, he attempts battling his own personal demons that have refused to keep silent.

“Dangerous Ends” is the third novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2017. Pete has just settled into the simple, if a bit boring life as a private investigator. Track down criminals that have skipped on their bail and go to a weekly AA meeting. Take photos of whichever cheating husband he is following this time. His days of hunting killers are behind him. Are they truly, though?

Kathy Bentley, his sometime partner, talks to Pete about a new potential client, and he balks at it. This is not due to him needing money, but because it involves Gaspar Varela. He is an ex-Miami cop who serves a life sentence for killing his wife, one of the most infamous crimes that has happened in Miami. Who is the client? Maya, Varela’s daughter, who always supported her dad’s claims of innocence.

Pete and Kathy work the case, which no one wants and find themselves in the crosshairs of Los Enfermos. They are the bloodthirsty gang of drug-dealers and pro-Castro killers that are looking to wipe Pete off the map of Miami. As if that were not to exonerate Varela, they find they have become tangled up in something much older and more surprising. It was a bloody and political hit that Castro ordered himself. One that left a scar that still heals on Pete and his deceased father’s past.

“Blackout” is the fourth novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2018. Shocking new evidence from a cold case that still haunts Pete grabs him out of exile and back to his hometown in Miami. While Kathy and Pete dive deeper into the unsolved crime, they end up entangled in Miami’s obsession with a dangerous and charismatic cult leader as well as his menacing followers.

All the while, the detectives find they are at odds with a Florida politician’s fixation with wealth, fame, and power. It all converges at the heart of Magic City and Pete is left scrambling to pick up the pieces or die trying to.

“Miami Midnight” is the fifth novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2019. A year has gone by since Pete Fernandez’ closest and latest brush with death. After he spent months recovering, the newly sober Pete has been able to rebuild his life, and is content to run a tiny Miami bookstore, all while he steers clear of all the dangers of being a private investigator. An aging Cuban mobster asks him to figure out who murdered his drug-addicted and jazz pianist son and find his missing daughter-in-law. Pete balks at this. Another death hints that the killing of the gangster’s son could be connected to the same people that tried killing Pete. It also reveals a dangerous and unexpected truth about his own mom’s death.

Pulled right back into the chaos and darkness that he was trying to avoid, Pete finds that his life is derailed yet again as he is forced to investigate a killing that never should have gone cold. It is tough for him to get answers, since he has to dodge his own demons and assassins’ bullets. Will Pete be able to make peace with his haunted and complicated past in order to save those he loves along with himself?

With this one, Alex crafts an epic novel of suspense, mystery, and humanity while he finishes an acclaimed series that reinvents the private eye novel for a whole new generation.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pete Fernandez

Leave a Reply