Book Notification

Pete Hautman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Joe Crow Books

Publication Order of Denn Doyle Books

Publication Order of Bloodwater Mysteries Books

with Mary Logue

Publication Order of The Klaatu Diskos Books

The Obsidian Blade (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cydonian Pyramid (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Klaatu Terminus (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Flinkwater Chronicles Books

The Flinkwater Factor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forgetting Machine (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Twin Cities Noir(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full House(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Crime: An Anthology of Murder, Mayhem and Suspense(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Pete Hautman is a National award-winning American author of young adult, mystery, realistic fiction, thriller, juvenile, children’s books, and middle-grade novels. He is best known for writing the novel Godless, which has helped him to win many prestigious awards. The list of book series written by Hautman includes The Klaatu Diskos series, Denn Doyle series, Joe Crow series, Bloodwater Mysteries, and Flinkwater series. In addition to these, Hautman has also written several critically acclaimed standalone books for adults and teens. His novel, Mr. Was, was nominated for an MWA Edgar Award. Several other prestigious awards won by him include LA Times Book Prize, Wisconsin Library Association award, Michigan Library Association award, Minnesota Book Award, etc.

Author Hautman was born as Peter Murray Hautman on September 29, 1952, in Berkeley, California. At the age of 5, he relocated to St, Louis Park, Minnesota along with his parents. He completed his schooling from St Louis Park High School. During the course of the next 7 years after high school graduation, Hautman studied at the Minnesota University and the Minneapolis College of Art & Design, but did not earn a degree from any of the institutions. Hautman changed several jobs after dropping out as he considered himself ill-suited for all of them. Then, he decided to shift his focus toward writing novels and short stories. At first, he adopted the pen name of Peter Murray and wrote over fifty short stories for the school market starting from 1992. In 1993, Hautman wrote and published his debut novel called Drawing Dead. Since then, he has not looked back and has produced many wonderful novels in his writing career. As of today, Hautman resides in Stockholm, Wisconsin and Golden Valley, Minnesota with his partner named Mary Logue, who is a poet and novelist. He has a couple of dogs at his house named Baudelaire and Faston. When Hautman is not busy with his writing projects, he likes to take up interesting activities like cooking, running, riding a bike, hunting mushrooms, skating, etc. He likes to visit art festivals and take naps.

A very successful book series written by author Pete Hautman is known as the Bloodwater Mysteries series. It is comprised of a total of 3 books released between 2006 and 2008. The books of this series feature mystery, crime fiction, realistic fiction, young adult, and thriller stories. Hautman has described the major characters in this series in the roles of Roni Delicata, Brian Bain, Alicia Camden, Driftwood Doug, Maurice, Andrew Dart, and a few others. The stories of this series revolve around murder mysteries, mysterious disappearances, and other shocking events that often get reported in a school newspaper in Bloodwater town called The Bloodwater Pump. The debut book of the series is entitled ‘Snatched’. It was released by the G.P. Putnam publication in 2006. The book opens by introducing Roni Delicata as a pushy crime reporter working for his school newspaper, Bloodwater Pump. He likes to get involved in solving various mysteries in and around the city and report them in the newspaper. Brian Bain is described as a science geek, who always ends up blowing things up with his weird experiments.

Brian and Roni are classmates and often team up to work on the mysteries that they come across. Alice Camden is seen as the snobby classmate of Roni Delicata and Brian Bain. She is the one who brings them their first case to investigate. Ordinarily, Roni and Brian do not have anything to do with one another. But, when Alicia Camden informs them that she has been snatched, they set out to find the culprit. The deeper they dig into the mystery, the farther they seem to be getting from the mystery and the one who is mainly responsible for it. Roni & Brian do not seem to be getting anywhere in the case except for adding names to the list of suspects. Some of the major suspects that they come across include Alicia’s creepy stepfather, her short-tempered boyfriend named Maurice, and a hobo named Driftwood Doug, who used to keep a watch of Alicia’s activities from the nearby woods. There is not much time left as already too much time has passed since Alicia disappeared. Brian Bain and Roni Delicata try their best to solve the mystery behind Alicia Camden’s disappearance and also unravel the shocking secret responsible for her vanishing. This eerie mystery contains lots of humor from start to end. It was liked by numerous readers all over the world because of its exciting setting in the beautiful tiny town of Bloodwater and the exciting lead characters shown in the form of offbeat detectives.

Another mind-blowing book of this series is called ‘Doppelganger’. It was published by the Putnam Juvenile publication in 2008. The novel features the same set of main characters as in the previous books. Initially, it is depicted that Brian Bain & Roni Delicata get busy searching for another case to solve. While going through a website that enlists missing children, Roni comes across an old photograph of a boy that has alarming similarities with Brian. Roni becomes surprised to see that the boy looks strikingly like Brian. He informs Brian about his discovery, who doesn’t look surprised at all. Brian chooses to overlook the case by saying that it is just a coincidence. He tells Roni that he has lived a happy life with his parents from the time they adopted him. But, he has always wondered why his parents have never told him anything about his adoption.

Roni suspects that there is a deep secret behind Brian’s adoption and he decides to get to the bottom of it even if Brian doesn’t choose to assist him. Brian joins him and soon the two come across many people from the past, who are closely related to the mystery. Brian turns out to be an important key in solving the mystery. This novel is also filled with lots of twists & turns that keep the readers intrigued till the end. The readers liked the story very much and also appreciated the intriguing setting described by Hautman. This novel also received great comments from the critics and reviewers for its rich content and unique story. Author Hautman received a great boost after the book’s success and went on to write several other interesting stories in the years that followed later.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Pete Hautman

Leave a Reply