Book Notification

Peter and the Starcatchers / Neverland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Peter and the Starcatchers Books

By: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
Peter and the Starcatchers (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peter and the Shadow Thieves (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peter and the Secret of Rundoon (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peter and the Sword of Mercy (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bridge to Never Land (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Peter and the Starcatchers/Neverland is a series of novels published by the Disney Subsidiary, Hyperion Books. Written by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson, Peter and the Starcatchers/Neverland explores the backstory of the popular fictional character, Peter Pan, delving into events that happened before J.M Barrie’s Peter and Wendy Novel.

+The Story

Peter and the Starcatchers is an adventure story set on the Island of Mollusk. It centers around Peter, an orphan boy and Molly, his pretty, mysterious friend, the pair overcoming pirates and various other threats in a quest that will see them protect the world from a great evil.

As might be expected from any Neverland story, Peter Pan takes center stage as the primary protagonist. Approximately 14 years old, Peter plays the role of leader of his band of lost boys, having acquired the position not only because of his age but the fact that he can spit the farthest.

Following considerable exposure to the so-called starstuff, the greatest treasure in the world, Peter learns to fly. Along with Molly, Peter and the Starcatchers introduces a number of new characters to readers, though a select few names from the Peter and Wendy’ Novel do make an appearance.

It should be noted that while these novels are presented as direct prequels to J.M Barrie’s Peter and Wendy story, a number of elements in Dave and Ridley’s books tend to contradict elements in the original novel.

In fact, the series as a whole isn’t as consistent with J.M Barrie’s Peter Pan works as some readers might expect.

+The Authors

Peter and the Starcatchers/Neverland is the creation of Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson.

Dave Barry

Dave Barry (Born David McAllister Barry in 1947) is a Pulitzer Prize-winning American writer. Dave’s writing career began in 1971 following the author’s decision to pursue journalism. Becoming a reporter for the Daily Local News in West Chester, Pennsylvania, Barry spent a considerable portion of his time covering local government events before receiving his promotion to City Editor.

He occupied this position for a relatively short period of time before joining the consulting firm, Burger Associates. Afforded the opportunity to teach effective writing to business persons, Dave didn’t find his work particularly fulfilling.

A humorous guest column he wrote in the Philadelphia Inquirer in 1981 attracted the attention of Gene Weingarten, the Miami Herald’s Sunday Magazine editor, who hired Barry as a humor columnist.

Eventually winning a Pulitzer Prize for Commentary for his effective use of humor to highlight serious matters, Barry didn’t publish his first novel until 1999, the book, Big Trouble, receiving a motion picture adaptation soon after.

The author’s articles have appeared in a wide variety of mediums, garnering attention from readers from all walks of life.

Ridley Pearson

Ridley Pearson was born in 1953. He primarily writes suspense and thriller books for adults, though he has also dabbled in Children’s genres. Pearson is most popularly known for being the first American to receive Oxford University’s Raymond Chandler Fulbright fellowship in 1991. Along with awards such as the Quill Award from the Missouri Writers Hall of Fame under his name, Ridley is widely renowned for his literary works, which include The Red Room, Killer View’ and The First Victim’ to mention but a few.

Along with Peter and the Starcatchers, Ridley and Dave have also cooperated to produce novels like Escape from the Carnivale’ and Blood Tide’.


Peter and the Starcatchers/Neverland was adapted into a play in 2009; first opening at La Jolla Playhouse (as part of an arrangement with Disney Theatrical), the play was eventually restaged on Broadway in 2011.

Walt Disney Pictures has plans in the works for a movie adaption of Dave and Ridley’s series of novels.

+Peter and the Starcatchers

When a young orphan boy, Peter, and his friends are dispatched to an Island under the rule of the diabolical King Zarboff, the only thing awaiting them is adventure. Setting sail aboard the Never Land, a ship playing host to a mysterious yet precious trunk, Peter’s journey quickly unfolds as he encounters danger and excitement.

With well-developed characters like Molly and Black Stache making appearances, treacherous battles and thunderous storms on the high seas await Peter as he undertakes a mission that will either save or doom the world.

If you haven’t yet had the chance to read this, the first novel in Dave and Ridley’s series, you are in for quite the treat. This novel is filled to the brim with fun and excitement, and the fact that it is a children’s book shouldn’t scare adult readers way.

The story is satisfying as it interweaves a group of kids into the world of legendary but dangerous adults. If you cannot help but wonder how Peter became Pan and where his deadly rivalry with his most feared foe began, this is the book for you, a novel so exciting that you will struggle to put it down.

+Peter and the Shadow Thieves

When Peter and his friend Tinker Bell abandon the relative safety of Mollusk Island, only danger awaits them in the dark streets of London. Along the way, the pair discovers the mysterious Lord Ombra, a deadly enemy intent on recovering the missing starstuff.

Intent on finding Molly and attaining her help to combat Lord Ombra’s forces, Peter quickly learns that London isn’t quite as safe as he might have assumed and Lord Ombra is unlike anything the world has ever seen.

If you liked the first novel in the Peter and the Starcatchers series, then this sequel will delight your senses. There is more adventure packed in this considerably-sized book than you might presume. New characters are introduced to flesh out this new world of Peter Pan that Barry and Pearson have created.

Lord Ombra is as terrifying a villain as they come, and Molly shines as the heroine of the novel. Large as this book is, you will be hard-pressed to not read it in a single seating. There are so many nail-biting scenes, and more cliffhangers and unexpected turns of events than most readers’ hearts can probably handle.

If you are looking for a novel that both you and your children can enjoy, a book designed to appeal to a variety of ages, this is it; the balance between lighthearted fun and dark adventure is perfect.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Peter and the Starcatchers / Neverland

Leave a Reply