Book Notification

Peter Boon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Edward Crisp Books

Who Killed Miss Finch? (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snow Day Murders (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of Jackson King (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death In The Closet (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death In A Deckchair (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Card Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shakespeare Academy Books

No Love Lost (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Much To Do (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Peter Boon

A British writer, Peter Boon is well known for his creative and intelligently written whodunnit novels that really inspire readers. Keeping readers constantly guessing throughout, he’s a true master of the genre, coming a long way in a relatively short amount of time. Producing a number of different books, he’s pushed the format to its full potential, publishing interesting and exciting stories. Effectively falling into the ‘cozy mystery’ genre, he’s a creative writer with something to say, all the while entertaining his audience.

Setting himself apart with his unique and engaging voice, he’s a talented writer, creating rich and immersive worlds. Locating many of his novels in rural England, he establishes a rich and vibrant atmosphere, allowing his stories to really come alive. Drawing heavily from writers such as Agatha Christie, he’s an inspired author as well, taking the genre in new and interesting directions in the process. Solving various different puzzles in his work, his readers are taken along for the ride effectively, all the while enjoying the many twists and turns.

His characters are very well managed as well, creating realistic people and personalities that really leap out from the page. This is something that definitely allows the reader relate to the action, as it resonates with them on a more personal level. For a large portion of his career he’s focused upon the character to Edward Crisp; a school librarian with a somewhat awkward streak. There’s a lot of humor and heart to each of his novels, with funny and engaging situations coming up continually throughout.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up in the Wigan, Greater Manchester, in the United Kingdom, Peter Boon would grow up with a keen passion for both reading and writing. This would develop over time, as he would write his first play ‘Killer on the Costa’ for the local theatre at just fourteen years of age. Later becoming a qualified English teacher at a nearby school, this would help him go on to write and publish his first novel.

Continually developing his voice all the time, he’d constantly be on the lookout for new and interesting ideas into his work. Using experiences from his own life to help inspire his writing, he would go on to find a unique and idiosyncratic voice of his own. Currently living in Eastbourne in the UK with his partner Graeme, he continues to put out work at a regular pace.

Writing Career

Originally publishing the novel ‘Who Killed Miss Finch?’ in 2020, this would begin his ‘Edward Crisp Mysteries’ series of novels. He’d later follow it up with ‘The Snow Day Murder’ that same year, followed by ‘Death in the Closet’ in 2021, along with ‘Death in a Deckchair,’ and then ‘The Mystery of Jackson King.’ All of these would establish him as a writer with something to say, creating a highly unique and original whodunnit series.

Appealing to a Young Adult audience as well, the books would be easy to pick up and difficult to put down. Setting his novels in a fictional English setting, they would mostly take place in the seaside village of Chalk Gap, which wouldn’t be too far from Peter Boon himself in Eastbourne. With lots more set to come in the future, he’s a writer that has a lot more to come, as he will carry on writing for a long time yet.

Death in the Closet

First published in 2021 on the 7th of June, this would come out through the Kindle platform, making for an extremely engaging mystery novel. The third book in the ‘Edward Crisp Mystery’ series of novels, it’s a well written title with a lot of twists and turns along the way. Preceded by ‘The Snow Day Murder’ in 2020, it would be a stand-alone mystery that could be read by itself with its self-contained narrative.

This book touches on a number of different themes and ideas, including gay representation in the world of professional English football. It does all of this while being highly entertaining, creating an engaging story that really pushes the concept to its limit, making full use of it. From this the book is an extremely compelling one, with plenty of character depth and mystery suspense carrying it along.

A national star, Kieron Juniper has become one of the most promising young football players in England, as he aims to bring the local football team Beachy Head United to success. Looking to come out of the closet though, he’s also going to be the first out gay player in the Premier League, that is until someone murders him to prevent the truth from getting out. Stepping up to solve the case is Edward Crisp with his ever trusty teenage sidekick Noah, as they aim to get to the bottom of it all with the help of local reporter Fiona Turtle. Will they be able to find out who the killer is? Can they ultimately bring them to justice? What will happen as they discover death in the closet?

Death in a Deckchair

Originally brought out in 2021 on the 2nd of August, this would be another ‘Edward Crisp Mystery’ novel, with it being the fourth in the series. It makes a great casual read, as it can easily be picked up at any time, with a lot of fun to be had along the way. Another cozy murder mystery, this works great once again, bringing all of the elements of a well told whodunnit together.

All set to enjoy his six week break as school librarian, Edward Crisp has his peace cut short by another murder in the community. Helped by an eager young Noah again, the two of them hope to solve the case and find the real culprit before it’s too late. Taking place in the English seaside village of Chalk Gap, this sees the two of them working together, while Noah uses his knowledge of crime fiction to help him. Will they be able to solve the case in time? Who committed the murder? What will become of the death in a deckchair?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Peter Boon

Leave a Reply