Book Notification

Peter Brown Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chipwell Boys Books

Chipwell Boys Tackle Europe (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chowder Books

Chowder (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fabulous Bouncing Chowder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lucy Books

Children Make Terrible Pets (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Will Be My Friend! (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Wild Robot Books

The Wild Robot (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wild Robot Escapes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wild Robot Protects (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Flight of the Dodo (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curious Garden (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Tiger Goes Wild (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Teacher Is a Monster! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fred Gets Dressed (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Creepy Carrots Books

with Aaron Reynolds
Creepy Carrots! (By: Aaron Reynolds) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creepy Pair of Underwear! (By: Aaron Reynolds) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creepy Crayon! (With: Aaron Reynolds) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Who Done It?(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Creativity Project(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ever since he was young, Peter Brown has always loved to tell stories. As he grew up in New Jersey, he narrated stories about whimsical characters that he drew from his very own imagination. During his teen years, Peter Brown fell in love with writing and began narrating his tales to the world, through writing. Once he completed his high school education, Peter Brown joined the Art College of Design Centre where he majored in Illustration. Peter Brown’s love for pictures and words eventually led him to take numerous courses on children’s literature, and it did not take long before Peter discovered his calling. After he graduated from the Art Center, Peter Brown, then relocated to New York city, to be closer to a publishing industry. Peter eventually got a book deal that required him not only to write but also illustrate his very first picture book, the Flight of the Dido. During this period, Peter Brown was working on animated TV shows.

Ever since then, Peter Brown has continued to pen and illustrate several children’s books which eventually earned him various accolades including a Horn Book Award, Caldecott Honor, E.B White Awards, Children’s Choice Award, A New York Times Best-Illustrator Award and a Golden Kite Award.

Peter Brown Best Books

Children Make Terrible Pets

Children Make Terrible Pets is a remarkably funny and uniquely illustrated book. This book has the sort of creative ridiculousness that many children gravitate towards. The story begins as Lucy; a tutu wearing bear finally gets a pet. The new pet is a child that Lucy decides to name Squeaker. Initially, Lucy’s mother was a little hesitant, to let Lucy keep the pet, however, after some convincing, Lucy’s mother gives in. However, it does not take long before Lucy, and his mother realizes that Squeaker was more troublesome than they had initially thought. Squeaker was not only troublesome but was also impossible to potty train. One day, Squeaker went missing only for Lucy to find him back home with his parents. Before Lucy says goodbye, she finally admits to her mother that children make terrible pets. The role reversal of an animal and a child provide ample chances for humor especially with Lucy’s over the top mother smoothers Squeaky like the way majority of real world children have hamsters and guinea pigs.

Apart from the writing, the artwork also stands out as one of the best. Peter Brown makes use of pencil and then adds several handmade touches throughout the novel. The illustrations that have been made are then placed in some woods, thereby creating different borders on each of the pages. The word bubbles have been written by hand on construction papers, then cut out before finally being placed in the scene. With that said, the story was not only funny but also cute as well. This is a narrative of what may happen if a pet situation was reversed; the child was taken home as a pet. This is an exceedingly funny story, which a majority of children are going to enjoy.

The Wild Robot

Apart from having an innovative artwork, The Wild Robot is also an emotionally engaging story that breams of originality. The book also has been contrived with well thought out themes, which entwine like an exceedingly elegant Persian carpet that has been handcrafted for a long period. The Wild Robot is an ingenious fusion of the ultra-new and the very old, grafting parts, which would be present in children’s novels many years ago onto theories of the future such as the philosophical, practical and moral dilemmas, which arise when AI achieves a certain level of sophistication and advancements in the robotics technology. The Wild Robot being Brown’s debut novel is full of provocative implications about such issues and more; a smartboard of literary delights. Peter Brown has a mesmerizing writing talent, whose ability to create a brilliant novel is equal to the premium works in the pictures. Once the readers open the novel Wild Robot, they enter into a profound journey through the labyrinth corridors, of the idea of consciousness.

In the Wild Robot, author Peter Brown introduces the readers to Waz. After a ship sinks in the ocean, Roz is the only surviving robot. A majority of the robots sink down into the ocean, but Waz Roz and four other robots manage to get free and are carried by the tides to an island. Four of the crates crash on the rocky shores and the robots inside are destroyed. Once Waz arrived at the island, she is discovered by a colony of otters, who break the crate to find what was inside.When one of the Otter accidentally presses the button that was designed to activate Waz, causing the robot not only to stand up and speak, the Otters have nothing else to do but scatter for their lives. According to the otters, a mechanical otter had arrived at the island. Rumors started to spread throughout the island like wild fire. Roz had no clue as to where she came from and where she was at the moment. However, her entire system works extremely fine, providing about herself and the natural world that she had been stranded in. Waz is also programmed to learn and evaluate new information and also to improve herself based on the new information that she may have received.

Thus, within an exceedingly short time, Roz becomes accustomed to the life in the wild. In nature, there are so many dangers even for a robot, which has been engineered to adapt and survive. Thus Roz follows her deep instincts to avoid cliff edges, deep water, muddy areas and aggressive bears. The animals including the otter fear the monster; however, Roz is too occupied with her immediate challenges to even focus on the animals. There are so many things, which can happen to a robot in a forest that is covered in mountains, forests, quagmires and streams inhabited by different types of wild animals such as foxes, geese, opossums, weasels, moose and many others. By watching her neighbors, Roz can learn more and more survival skills which include disguising herself in seaweeds, mud twigs and grass so that predators will not spot her easily.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Peter Brown

Leave a Reply