Book Notification

Peter McGarr Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Peter McGarr Books

McGarr and the Politician's Wife/The Death of an Irish Politician (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
McGarr and the Sienese Conspiracy/The Death of an Irish Consul (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
McGarr and the Cliffs of Moher/The Death of an Irish Lass (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
cGarr and the Dublin Horse Show/The Death of an Irish Tradition (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
McGarr and the P.M. of Belgrave Square (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
McGarr and the Method of Descartes (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
McGarr and the Legacy of a Woman Scorned (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of a Joyce Scholar (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Love (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on a Cold, Wild River (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of an Ardent Bibliophile (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of an Irish Sea Wolf (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of an Irish Tinker/Death of a Busker King (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of an Irish Lover (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of an Irish Sinner (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Dublin (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bartholomew Gill is a pen name widely used by author Mark McGarity. Born in Holyoke, Massachusetts, Bartholomew Gill joined the renowned Brown University. He graduated from the University in the year 1966. Several years later, Gill joined Trinity University, where he earned his Master’s degree. According to Gill, going back to Ireland was a great opportunity because he was able to do immense research. Furthermore, Gill was also an avid outdoorsman and thus going back to Ireland was a perfect opportunity to explore the world. In the year 1996, Bartholomew Gill worked as columnist and writer for the Star-Ledger, where he specialized in outdoor recreation and nature. As Mark McGarity continued to work on the Peter McGarr book series, he continued to provide more articles for the newspaper.

While working for the Newspaper, Gill had the opportunity of working on some topics including environmental issues to some of the extremely odd characters that he had encountered as he was traveling. Some of these characters included the Eastern European immigrants, who had grown while watching cowboy movies.

Peter McGarr Best Books

Death of an Irish Politician

Death of an Irish Politician is the first installment in the Peter McGarr book series. In this installment, author Bartholomew Gill introduces the readers to Peter McGarr, the Chief Inspector of Detectives. This installment begins as a dead body is pulled out of the water at the local Killiney Bay. From the look of things, the victims head was split wide open by a violent blow. For Chief Inspector McGarr, the case was a chance for him to escape Dublin’s Gloom. However, when he begins the investigation at the dead man’s Yacht, McGarr realizes that to get the truth, he will be required to join several puzzle pieces together. Some of the pieces include the world-class sailor who had run his boat and life aground, an extremely beautiful woman who was responsible for paying his bills, and a politician who was more than determined to be a part of the investigation.

As the story progresses, author Peter McGarr must face a malevolent plot of betrayal, IRA Gunrunning, and conspiracy. All this was not only aimed at killing the unhappy sailor but also framing a chief inspector of police and keeping the police chief way from secrets that were more dangerous than murder. Despite the fact that this narrative has been set in a suburb Dublin, the readers are given a guided tour by the author. The Death of an Irish Politician contains both figurative and literal deaths. It offers the readers a conflicted view of contemporary Ireland as well as a complex view of the troubles. With that said, this novel is filled with some intriguing puzzles and more than enough procedural story to give the readers a sense of solving the case. The mystery, on the other hand, is strong enough and holds the attention of the readers from the first page to the last. If you are a reader who enjoys anything Irish, then you are going to fall in love with this narrative.

The Death of an Irish Consul

In this installment, we meet again with Inspector McGarr. In this installment, McGarr leaves the shores of Ireland. This time around he has no option. Two prominent British subjects who were former S.I.S chiefs are brutally murdered, and their blood is staining the Irish soil. Apart from McGarr, author Gill introduces the readers to Sir Collin Cummings, who is the existing head of Britain’s secret service. From the look of things, Sir Collins will be the third victim. Scared to death, Sir Collins decides to seek refuge in Italy. McGarr steps in as the man who will locate the killer and ensure that Ireland is safe once again. With that said, The Death of an Irish consul is another highly entertaining mystery novel. Written towards the end of 1970’s, Inspector Peter McGarr as well as his chums gives the readers a great insight into the mentality of the Irish people.

The Death of an Irish Lass

The Death of an Irish Lass is the third installment in the Peter McGarr book series. Author Bartholomew Gill has managed to create one of the most effective Irish detectives in the Peter McGarr book series. In Death of an Irish Lass, Peter McGarr is still the Inspector of Detectives, a position that was specifically created to lure him away from Interpol. Before he was appointed the Inspector of Detectives, Peter McGarr used to work with the Criminal Justice department in Paris and his revered home of Ireland. When an extremely young and beautiful Irish Lass, widely known as May Quirk is found brutally killed with a pitchfork by the roadside, Peter McGarr decides to handle a case that involves the IRA. It does not take him long before he finds himself on the streets of New York and then back to Ireland, where he is expected to catch the killer.

Author Gill has the ability to deliver an exceedingly complex mystery that is full of the atmosphere of a beautiful country, where some extremely strange things take place. Gill McGarr has been used by the author to portray the sympathetic nature of a majority of the residents in Ireland especially towards the IRA, despite a fact that there methods and approaches are frowned upon. McGarr comes to the realization May Quirk had returned to her homeland to expose IRA’s financial pipeline for her newspaper back in New York. As the investigation continues to unfold, the readers get to know McGarr a little bit more. McGarr is married to Noreen, who is 21 years younger than him. McGarr has a love for his country and fine wine. As Peter McGarr tries to get to the bottom of the murder mystery, a grenade is planted to ensure that he does not see his investigation through.

However, as expected, an attempt on his life, in turn, fuels him to find out whether it was politics or love that lead to the death of May Quirk. With that said, author Peter McGill has done an excellent job of ensuring that the reader’s subtly feel Ireland throughout the novel. All the characters in the Death of an Irish Lass have been well developed. With that said, this is an excellent read with superbly drawn characters, a great mix of fun and an exceptional atmosphere.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Peter McGarr

Leave a Reply