Book Notification

Peter Ritchie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Grace Macallan Books

Cause of Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evidence of Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shores of Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where No Shadows Fall (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Little Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Grace den Herder Trilogy Books

Noble Cause (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shortest Days of the Year (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Sky in the Morning (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Maxine's Story (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Peter Ritchie was a published author of fiction. He sadly passed away in December 2021.

Now an author of crime fiction, Ritchie used to work in the crime solving field in real life. He has retired as a senior police officer. Originally, he worked as a trawler man but quit that profession so that he could become a policeman.

He has fused the authenticity from working in murder squads, CID, Europol, and Serious and Regional Crime Squads into his novels. This gives them an air of reality that few other story tellers are able to channel. The cases that he has worked are integrated in some way with his crime stories, particularly his Detective Grace Macallan novels. However, while the stories can be alarming, the author knows from his own experience that when it comes to fiction versus reality, real life often takes the cake when it comes to being the more brutal.

Ritchie has been a part of several cases in real life, some that continue to haunt his thoughts years after their occurrence. The author was formerly a detective that was assigned to a variety of high profile investigations. These included the murders at The World’s End and Sheila Anderson’s slaying.

Ritchie is from East Lothian in Port Seaton. He is a father to two children.

Ritchie was worked in Northern Ireland as part of a counter-terrorism team. He would then go to London to work in the National Criminal Intelligence Service as the head of their Organized Crime Unit. He has served in The Hague with Europol as a U.K. Liaison Officer. He has retired and after provided assistance with inquiries about Billy Wright, a loyalist kingpin in the Maze Prison in Belfast.

Peter Ritchie is the creator and the author of the Detective Grace Macallan series of fictional novels. The series began in 2017 with the publication of the debut novel in the series, Cause of Death. This was followed in 2018 with the publication of the second novel, Evidence of Death. The third novel came out in 2018 and is titled Shores of Death. This was followed the next year by the fourth novel, Where No Shadows Fall, and Our Little Secrets. The original title of Cause of Death was Noble Cause, while the second novel’s original title was The Shortest Days of the Year.

Cause of Death is the first novel in the Detective Grace Macallan fictional series of novels by Peter Ritchie. This is where readers get introduced to the main character of Grace for the first time.

When it comes to work, DCI Grace Macallan has found that her career is in serious trouble. It’s all thanks to a covert police operation that’s taking place in Northern Ireland. When it all goes horribly wrong, Grace has a tough decision in front of her. She can be honest and see her reputation go to pot, or choose to lie and help save the career of a young officer. She knows which one she’s going to choose.

Now Grace has been reassigned to a new team, the Lothian & Borders Major Crime Team. She’s got a tough start in front of her. She not only has to build her career again from the ground up, she has to do the same when it comes to her reputation. Then a prostitute is brutally attacked and the crime branches out into different murders.

Now their Major Crime Team is facing some real pressure. The news of the murders have gotten out to the media, with the tabloids putting out splashy headlines. The team needs to start making progress and get some results. Meanwhile, Grace is facing the task of starting up a new life for herself in an entirely different city with a different boss.

The main suspect in the cases is a lawyer with a very high profile. The team is working as hard as it can on the cases, but will it be enough to get results and bring a killer to justice? Grace is now left wondering, knowing that she did the right thing by being honest but still being disheartened at the results. Can she start her life over again and save the day? Or will a killer roam free? Read this book to find out!

Evidence of Death is the second novel to come out in the Detective Grace Macallan series from author Peter Ritchie. If you liked all of the action and the adventure in the first book, be sure to give this sequel a try!

A man named Billy Nelson is back to Belfast. The place has been scarred by battle but it’s always nice to be back home. The only problem is that the Troubles here have had a big effect on the former Army Loyalist. The city has also seen a shifting of allegiances. So as nice as it would be to come home to things being relatively the same, it’s clear that nothing is.

A rash of gang violence breaking out around the city makes Billy have to move somewhere else. He goes to Edinburgh. Here he makes his way in on the drug trade, as well as the main family that runs it. But it’s only a matter of time as the power is tipping that rivalries in the underworld make their way out onto the streets of Glasgow, Edinburgh, and Belfast.

Things are looking tough for Grace Macallan. There has been an occurrence of horrible incidents and the amount of victims is growing. The pressure has never been higher on Grace, especially since she has been made the superintendent for the Crime & Counter Terrorism Directorate.

In addition to dealing with real life trouble, Grace has to contend with her own demons. Then there’s the demand that Billy Nelson and his old contacts in the paramilitary pay. Can she deal with what’s going on and find a way to come out on top? Or will this prove to be too much? Read the second book in this series all the way to the end to find out what happens!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Peter Ritchie

Leave a Reply