Book Notification

Peyton Brooks’ Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Peyton Brooks' Mystery Books

Murder on Potrero Hill (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Tenderloin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Russian Hill (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Alcatraz (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Chinatown (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Presidio (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Treasure Island (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Painted Lady (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Peyton Brooks, FBI Books

Zombies in the Delta (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mermaids in the Pacific (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Werewolves in London (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vampires in Hollywood (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mayan Gods in the Yucatan (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Haunts in Bodie (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Menehune in Kauai (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frankenstein in Hamburg (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goblins in San Francisco (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yetis in Whistler (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pirates in Las Vegas (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Peyton Brooks Homicide: The Early Cases Books

The Peyton Brook’s Mystery is a series written by M.L Hamilton about the career of Peyton Brooks, a homicide detective, and her partner Marco as they investigate crime in the city.

The Peyton Brooks FBI series is the continuation of the mystery series where Peyton now works as a member of the Ghost squad to investigate an actual crime concerning the supernatural proceedings.

Murder on Potrero Hill
The first book in Peyton Brooks Mysteries begins with the murder of a young married lady, Zoe Ryder. The husband is the first person to be suspected by Peyton and Marco. Peyton is an inspector working in the San Francisco police department with Marco.

M.L Hamilton takes the reader back to when Jake Ryder first met Zoe. He thought she was so perfect and far above his standards, but that didn’t seem to matter to her as she chose him. After marrying her, everything was so good until after four years when things took a different turn. Now accused of murder and police watching each step he makes, Jake loses his job and is left with no money.

Being a daughter of a police officer, Peyton is aware that when a wife is killed, the husband is always the first person to suspect, so when Zoe Ryder dies mysteriously due to poisoning, all her focus is on Jake Ryder. During grief, Jake is in disbelief and confused when he finds out that people think he killed his wife.

He is determined to prove that he’s not guilty even when the detectives are using any means possible to make him plead guilty. He eludes the authorities in an attempt to get evidence that will prove his innocence.

Peyton is a very tough cop, and from her experience, she does not doubt her thoughts. However, she needs to have proof and try any possible means to make to confess.

As humanity unfolds in the course of the story, you will love the fearless, loyal, heroic, vulnerable, and flawed characters. The book is a real page-turner, and its plot is solid. The twists and turns come in times that you will not be expecting to keep you hooked to the end.

Hamilton does an excellent job is revealing Jake’s emotions while serving flashbacks into Zoe’s and Jake’s life. As he explains how he loved her, Jake shows his pain after losing his wife, especially when some secrets are unveiled. As things get complicated during the investigations, you will do nothing but feel sorry for him.

Marco and Peyton are likable and unique characters and competently work through the case to get the truth. Even though their minds are made up from the start, they are not careless or ignorant in the investigations. Be ready to get surprises just like the detectives as the story unfolds to a satisfying conclusion.
The language used is appropriate according to the circumstances and is not offensive. The story is narrated from different points of view to give the reader a better understanding. Peyton is a tough and badass cop with a special ability to see a perpetrator as human. She feels attached to people who require her help, even when it means risking her life.

Zombies in the Delta
Zombies in the Delta is the first book in Peyton Brooks, FBI series. In this new series, there are characters from the Peyton Brooks Mysteries series. As the story begins, Peyton is now working in the FBI and has just returned from training. Her previous friends are still in the picture, and her life is just the same except that she’s now a special agent. She is placed in the women with history department accompanied by Marco, who has just gotten a promotion.

The two are engaged, but their relationship seems unstable. Now in new jobs that demand a lot of attention, Peyton and Marco struggle to find equilibrium in their lives and careers. Marco is the new captain for the homicide section and is finding it hard getting used to the new responsibilities. Additionally, his injured leg is not doing so well and hurt a lot.

Marco is not the same again and finds life hard even when he has friends concerned about him. On the other hand, Peyton has a new team called ‘ghost squad’, and their first case is finding some dead bodies that are said to have heads burned and brains eaten up. Being a newbie, it’s not easy for her to fit with his teammates’ personalities, more so their leader, who is so arrogant in public and isn’t interested in Peyton’s friendly approach.

Marco is working on a case for a young girl who committed suicide because of heartbreaking social media posts, including revenge porn. The story will leave you wondering who watches your life and what they can do after getting details about your private life.

Two cases are being investigated simultaneously, one by the FBI and Peyton and the second by Marco and police officers, and both are of varying areas of human behavior. Marcus still finds it hard to accept his physical constraints; he believes Peyton is only with him because of guilt. Peyton, on the other side, notices how he avoids her, and she starts getting worried. She can’t even confront him because she thinks it will bring more stress to him.

For the time being, Peyton decides to focus on finding the Zombie Killer in the Delta. With the multiple cases being investigated, be sure to get a lot of action in the book. The book has a fast-paced plot with a unique and sometimes flawed cast of characters. Between the action-packed plot and well-developed characters is a suspense that will keep you flipping pages.

Throughout the book, M.L Hamilton takes us to the journey of Marco’s recovery both physically and mentally. The storyline is believable and, other times, heartbreaking. The pace is fast, and both investigations have an equal share in the general story. The new characters are interesting, just like some of the old ones, and will keep you fascinated to the last page.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Peyton Brooks’ Mystery

One Response to “Peyton Brooks’ Mystery”

  1. Ann: 7 months ago

    I have read all the Peyton Brooks homicide and FBI series. I love the characters. Are there any other books that I can read?


Leave a Reply