Phil Rickman Books In Order

Publication Order of Merrily Watkins Books

The Wine of Angels (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Midwinter of the Spirit (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Crown of Lights (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cure of Souls (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lamp of the Wicked (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Prayer of the Night Shepherd (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Smile of a Ghost (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Remains of an Altar (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Fabric of Sin (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
To Dream of the Dead (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Secrets of Pain (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Magus of Hay (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The House of Susan Lulham (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Friends of the Dusk (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All of a Winter's Night (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
For the Hell of It (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Merrily Watkins Companion Books

Merrily's Border (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Grayle Underhill & Bobby Maiden Books

The Cold Calling (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mean Spirit (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Night After Night (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of John Dee Papers Books

The Bones of Avalon (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Heresy of Dr Dee (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Marco Books

Marco's Pendulum (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Marco and the Blade of Night (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Candlenight (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Curfew / Crybbe (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
December (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Man in the Moss (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Chalice (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Merrily's Border: The Marches Share Their Secrets (With: John Mason) (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Phil Rickman is a renowned author of supernatural and mystery novels. He was born in Lancashire, England. England at that time was infamous of the seventeenth century witch trial. He developed an interest in writing at a very tender age. He particularly loved mysteries and spy stories. He also loved journalism and at only eighteen years old he got a job at a newspaper and that was the start of his successful career in Journalism. He was much more interested in writing and producing his own work. He managed to do this when he wrote a documentary “Aliens” which he produced for Radio Wales and British Broadcasting Radio 4. The documentary was about the rise of the English people who were moving to Wales. They had been drawn by cheap land in Wales. They never received warm welcome from the wales native. This documentary went to win Wales current Event Affair Reporter of the year award in 1987.His first book Candlenight which was published in 1991 had received massive rejection from a number of producers. This was due to the fact that the novel was a horror novel but had lots of humorous passages. There was a notion that horror novel were not supposed to be funny and this was the root factor that made the novel to receive rejection. His second book Crybbles is the most successful of his early work. It was the first to be released in the USA. According to Phil Rickman his American producer renamed the novel to curfew since he claimed that American readers would not be in a position to pronounce it correctly.

Phil Rickman has written lot of novels and a novel series. His first novels Candlenight and Crybbles were successful on both sides of the Atlantic. They drew comparison with Stephen King, who described them as superb ‘something new and creepy.’ Phil was much into horror in that he wrote a number of them before turning to crime and mystery; his early love from childhood. Phil’s most prominent novel series is the Merrily Waltkins series of mystery. This book has sold over 350000 copies in total. This series has been translated into other languages including Germany. He has also written two works of historical mystery which features Elizethan astrologer DR John Dee. The novels have received massive following and were kindle number 1 best seller. Phil also has a couple supernatural standalone. This includes cold calling and mean spirit. They had been published under the name Will Kingdom but have been republished under his name. In all his stories they are set in rural villages. In these villages everybody knows everybody and the towns have rich history, castle and cathedral and there must be humorous gruff local characters. In an interview he said this approach shows another aspect of real life. Phil still presents his book program on the BBC radio wales, this includes his book show Phil the shelf. He lives with his wife Carol. She was also a journalist but currently she works as her husband editor in there farmhouse in the Welsh border country.

Phil’s Merrily series is being produced into a TV series. A partnership between ITV and SKY are making this possible. Three episodes of the Merrily series are the first to be produced. This series has a total of 12 books which will all be produced if the first pilot project goes well. A wine for Angle the first book on the series is about a single mum, who is a parish priest in the late thirties. She never wanted a picture or a post card for the parish. She is strict about what to be done and what not to be done .She walks into a dispute over a play about the seventeenth-century where a clergy is accused of witchcraft. This leads her to trouble. Merrily and her teenage daughter later come to learn of a village where horrific murder is the tradition of the village. It has span over centuries. Merrily daughter Jane is at the age where everything she does worries her mother. Other characters in this book include Gomer Parry who owns a local plant hire firm. He is in the late seventy’s and does not take any lip from anyone. At that age he has earned and maintained respect accorded to him. He is a friend to Merrily who helps her survive through every book. LOL which means Lawrence rather than laugh out loud in the beginning has lots of personal problem and need to get out of his shell for thing he yarn for to start happening. Merrily helps him to start believing in himself and also his music. He appreciate the help and he is always there to help Merrily and Jane .The local police team including DCI Annie and DS Franny Bliss always seem to hate each other, finds that one thing is for certain, they will have to call Merrily to help them solve their cases. They start being friends in order for them to solve there cases.

In the second book of the Merrily Mystery series – Midwinter of the Spirit, it bring clearly bring out the aspect of Exorcism as no longer favoured by the Church of England. The post of Diocesan exorcist has been changed to Delivery Ministry. This sound more sinister and caring, the job is given to woman due to these qualities. Merrily who is a parish priest and a single mother, get the job, she tries everything she can but she is always having problems getting to the root causes. She gets exposed to the job by a group of women clergy but it still difficult for her to get the job done. The situation only gets worse rather than better. As winter approaches in the old city of Hereford a dead body is found in the river Wye. An ancient church is desecrated and there emergence indication of evil in the Hereford cathedral itself. The cathedral has been constructed where the tomb of ST Thomas Cantilupe lies in fragments. The book shows how Merrily tries to put the pieces together and get to the truth.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Phil Rickman