Book Notification

Philip Gulley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Harmony Books

Home to Harmony (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just Shy of Harmony (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas in Harmony (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Signs and Wonders (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life Goes On (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Change of Heart (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Scrapbook: A Harmony Story (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Friends (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hope Books

A Place Called Hope (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lesson in Hope (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gathering in Hope (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Porch TalkBooks

Front Porch Tales (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hometown Tales (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Everything a Season (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Porch Talk (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

A Philip Gulley Reader (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Grandmother's Touch (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
If Grace Is True (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
If God Is Love (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Love You, Miss Huddleston, and Other Inappropriate Longings of My Indiana Childhood (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
If the Church Were Christian (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Evolution of Faith (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Living the Quaker Way (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unlearning God (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Philip Gulley is an American author born in Danville, Indiana. He is known for being one of the more recognizable voices and emblematic people who represents and knows small-town life in America. Born in 1961, he is the author of the novels Front Porch Tales and Hometown Tales.

He has also written several collections, included a Philip Gulley Reader and his Hometown Tales collection. He has also worked with other authors, such as James Mulholland, with whom he collaborated on two books about God. He also hosts a radio show that is called Porch Talk with Phil Gulley which is fairly popular.

Gulley resides in Indiana, the same place included as the setting of many of his books. He lives in an old house there with his wife Joan. They have two sons together that are named Spencer and Sam. The house not only houses their family but a collection of eclectic chairs that Gulley has assembled over the years. At the last official count, the collection numbered sixty-four.

Gulley is not just a writer and a father and a husband and a collector of interesting chairs. He is also a man of the cloth. He serves in Canby, Indiana as a Pastor for the Fairfield Friends Meeting House. He says that if you are ever in the area, you are respectfully invited to come to a sermon.

He is the author of the Harmony series of fiction. The series kicked off in 2000 with Home to Harmony. This was followed up by the second installment in the series, Just Shy of Harmony, about two years later, More books would come in this inventive and engaging stories that embody small town life in America so well with friends and family sharing the ups and downs that happen in life.

The series is set in the small town of Harmony, which is located in Indiana. As towns go, this one is a pretty classic small town just like any other. With a corner store and people that are used to a slow pace of life, things are pretty idyllic here. Not a lot happens that changes everything, The things that go down here tend to be small things and not grand gestures. This is a place where time stands apart.

Home to Harmony is the delightful debut novel in Philip Gulley’s engaging series. Here the reader gets introduced to the location of Harmony, Indiana, a place like none other. Harmony is the opposite of a big and bustling city. This is the type of place where you go down to the corner store to get a soda pop and say hi to everyone that you see along the way.

In Harmony, everything is just about as slow as you can get. This is a small area its finest. Sam Gardner was born in this small town and grew up in it too. He is the new pastor for this town, and when he starts off his first year serving in this way to a new congregation, there is bound to be an adjustment period of sorts.

The pastor is taking on a new flock and new faces. Well, they are faces that he knows, but now he is seeing them in a different way. Old friends join members of his family and people of the town where they may not have a lot going on, but they have their faith. Come pick up this book and find out about a town that you are certainly not going to forget any time soon.

This is a place where time moves slowly but life can change in little ways every single day. What will happen in this quiet town? And will Sam Gardner have a great first year serving as the pastor to his community, or a significantly poor one? You will have to pick up this quaint novel from Philip Gulley in order to find out for yourself!

Just Shy of Harmony is the second novel in Gulley’s series. Now Gardner is finally out of his first year as pastor where he got to know the role he would be playing and felt it out. Now he is coming into an official second year as minister to the people that live in his home town. Everyone that lives in Harmony feels fortunate to live in such a beautiful and peaceful area of Indiana, and so does Sam.

There’s no denying that there is a certain sense of charm about Harmony. The quaint place is somewhere that if you have been to a small town in America as a reader that you will definitely recognize. It seems that Harmony, Indiana is just like all the small towns in this country with their small churches and stores and gatherings.

Sam hopes that his second year serving as the pastor in this town will go smoothly. Instead, it seems that it is destined to be a somewhat rocky year. This second time around has all sorts of challenges that Sam doesn’t know if he can overcome. It seems that the town picked the exact same time to fall apart.

All of a sudden, Gardner finds that he is having to deal with all manner of issues and trials. With a crisis of faith from one of the members of his flock and a problem with a marriage as well as even a strange plan of an elder of the church to cook the scripture into some food, the pastor has his hands full. But he may just find that having a good sense of humor and all of your friends around you can be enough to keep you going– that and a good sense of faith in the lord.

When the entire town seems to expect a miracle to happen on Easter morning, is it even possible? Can the pastor deliver? What will happen in this second book in the Harmony series? You are going to have to read it for yourself to find out. If you love religious-themed fiction, then these books by Philip Gulley are right up your alley. Check them out today and see what you think!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Philip Gulley

2 Responses to “Philip Gulley”

  1. Gayle kee: 1 year ago

    I look forward to each of Philip Gulleys books. Harmony and Hope series are so much fun to read.

  2. Karen mclaughlin: 2 years ago

    Very good. Books


Leave a Reply