Book Notification

Philip Hazard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Phillip Hazard Books

The Valiant Sailors (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brave Captains (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Sea Frigate (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hazard's Command (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hazard of Huntress (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory at Sebastopol / Hazard to the Rescue (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hazard in Circassia (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guns to the Far East / Shannon's Brigade (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape from Hell / Sailors on Horseback (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon

Prolific author Vivian Stuart began publishing her “Phillip Hazard” series in the year 1966 when “The Valiant Sailors” was released. The series ended with “Escape From Hell” (which is also called “Sailors on Horseback”), and was released in the year 1976, it is the eighth book of the series. Stories in the series were published regularly, every two or three years, with the year 1973 having two books published.

She published the series as V. A. Stuart, which she used for her military sagas (this series and her series about Alexander Sheridan).

The series stars Phillip Horatio Hazard, who is a Commander of the British, and is set during the Crimean War. He is a rugged officer of the navy that is full of charisma and gallantry.

“The Valiant Sailors” is the first novel in the “Phillip Hazard” series, which was released in the year 1966. The Trojan which is sailing under the foreboding cloud of war travels between Turkey and Russia. It is heading for the Black Sea, and it has a young woman, a mysterious person whose identity has to be kept a secret on orders of the Admiralty.

The charming young woman has captivated Phillip Hazard (who is a First Lieutenant), but he has a far more pressing concern. It would seem that the Trojan’s captain is a despot, a sadistic one. He might even be insane.

This book was enjoyable to read and was a great way to spend some reading time. The main guy is both capable and likable, you wind up rooting for him when reading about him. Fans of the novel find that Stuart does a great job with researching the historical details she incorporates into her work.

“Brave Captains” (also called “The Brave Captains”) is the second novel in the “Phillip Hazard” series, which was released in the year 1968. The British find themselves pretty desperate as the Russian cavalry is getting ready to start a full scale attack to try and seize Balaclava. They are vastly outnumbered, and hope that reinforcements will show up in time, but have to stand their ground. It is going to require heroism on a level that is going to test even the bravest of men’s courage. Hazard dodges both Russian Cossacks and exploding shells and prove the blue jackets fight it out just as well on the land as on the sea.

Here is a series that both entertains and educates through its writing. Fans of the novel found the Black Sea shenanigans and the siege of Sebastapol to be well written as well as brought to life. Readers can’t get enough of the military books Stuart writes, she brings the battles and history to life and is able to make it interesting at the same time.

“Black Sea Frigate” (also called “Hazard’s Command”) is the third novel in the “Phillip Hazard” series, which was released in the year 1971. During the starting winter of 1854, the Crimean War is at its highest point. Commander Phillip Hazard of the Trojan, which has 31 guns and is a steam screw frigate, has to haul reinforcement troops to Eupatoria from Constantinople.

During the journey, he has to deal with a young nobleman, who is overbearing and has a strong taste for blood. There is also the mighty power that comes from a raging storm.

These books are top shelf and covers a period of history where little is known. Fans of the novel found the scenes to be vivid and the characters are well drawn once more. The story is a fun read with the plot being pretty simple. Stuart’s ability to blend history and fiction to be well done, not to mention her research abilities are top notch as well. There are some who have enjoyed the ride they have been on for the past couple of books and do not want to quit reading these stories.

“Hazard of Huntress” is the fourth novel in the “Phillip Hazard” series, which was released in the year 1972. The Crimean War is still raging. The British, who want to end the stalemate, choose to put a spy into Odessa. Who better to do this dangerous mission than the one and only Phillip Hazard, who has just been promoted to a command of the Huntress (a ship that is steam powered) and can speak Russian fluently?

Hazard takes the task on bravely. However, he is stuck with a first lieutenant whose former captain passed away under mysterious circumstances and has a crew that is plagued by an illness. These factors make it so that Hazard has to depend on himself and his resourcefulness just to be able to survive this time out.

Commander Hazard has won his own permanent place in the field of historical fiction characters and Stuart is a foremost author of the field. Fans of the novel felt that this was one of the most educational of the series, not to mention the most enjoyable book as well. Hazard is a well drawn character and further developed here in this one. Each and every one of these books is worth the read, so much so, some do not mind going through the search process that comes with out of print books to get them.

“Hazard in Circassia” is the fifth novel in the “Phillip Hazard” series, which was released in the year 1973. To try and start winning the war in Crimea, the British have to go and look for some unlikely assistance from the Circassia— who are a self reliant bunch of mountain folk.

Phillip is sent with certain members of his crew to find Serfir Pasha (who is the guerrilla leader) and try to win him over and get him to be one of their allies.

This is quite an adventure story that is set during a time and location that not much has been written about. For some, they enjoyed this one the most out of the books from this series they have read to date. A very exciting story that was an easy and enjoyable read, which is pretty much par for the course with this series. Some hope future books in this series are just as good as this one was.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Philip Hazard

Leave a Reply