Book Notification

Philip P. I. Paris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Italian Chapel (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Men Cry Alone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Effie's War (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Witch of Scotland (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Orkney's Italian Chapel (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nylon Kid of the North (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Philip Paris was born in the year 1958. He is a journalist, author, and playwright. He lives in the Scottish Highlands with wife Catherine. He also writes under the name P. I. Paris.

After he left college, he worked as a magazine journalist. He also is a special technical writer for the graphic arts industry, which means his articles appear in trade publications all over the world.

From around the age of eight, Philip wanted to be a playwright, though at the time, he did not really know what this meant. He is unsure what this means still. He does not even know all that much where this desire came from.

Paris grew up in a working class family living in Gateshead during the sixties and seventies where anything having to do with the “arts” in the widest sense possible. Music, opera, theatre, and ballet, etc. was considered something just for posh folks.

As a teen, he would regularly mail hand-written dramas off to the BBC in London. He would always get detailed responses in return, something he was glad they always glad they were able to take the time to do as they were always helpful. That and it was clear they spent time reading through what he wrote. A busy career came along in the form of journalism and media relations, which came later on. Writing would take a back seat until he had a complete life change in his mid forties when he moved to the Highlands of Scotland, in the year 2005, from Kent.

He still worked full time, but due to a reduced commute time, he had three hours to begin writing some of his plentiful ideas for plays he had. His plans did not take them that far. Catherine and he went to Orkney for their honeymoon and was hooked on the story before they had even left. He quickly started working on a script for a feature length movie about the creation of the chapel.

No one in the film industry was interested in his idea, but an agent Paris contacted suggested the story would make a good novel. It was here that he went down the writing road, and not just look at it longingly out the window. This may not have been the route he originally intended on, he was at least using a keyboard at this point.

Despite being known for his books about Orkney’s famous Italian chapel, his work is still diverse. His work ranges from a hilarious novel that concerns the antics of the residents in a Highland care home that set up a chat-line for guys looking to speak to older gals in a certain way. There is also a contemporary novel about domestic abuse against men.

His debut novel, “The Italian Chapel” was released in the year 2009. His work is from the historical romance, literary fiction, and non-fiction genre.

“The Italian Chapel” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2009. This is a story of lifelong friendships torn apart, despair and hope, and of forbidden love. It is set against the backdrop of the creation of a symbol known all over the world.

Amidst conflicts, untold hardships, strikes, the Italian prisoners of war sent off to a small Orkney island during the second world war. They create a monument to the human spirit’s ability to lift itself up above a great adversity. An artist falls in love with an Orkney woman and leaves behind a token of his love in the chapel. It remains there today and until The Italian Chapel, nobody has ever known its true meaning.

Fans found this to be a life-affirming and delightful read. It is a funny, tragic, and uplifting and is reassuring in terms of humanity. Paris has penned a beautifully inspiring book that oozes all kinds of wonder of charm. It is impeccably researched yet still very enjoyable.

“Casting Off” is the second stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2016. Residents of a Highland care home find out that the new owners are close to raising the rates substantially, and they know that dramatic action is called for. What is a group of senior citizens do against a major organization? For Dorothy, the situation became serious, if she is unable to raise the funds she is going to have to leave her friends, like Miss Ross.

In a protest, the residents barricade themselves in the lounge. However, their rebellion is a failure. So worldly wise Joan suggest an odd way to cover the new rise. While their lives take a series of unexpected turns, and things get more and more out of control.

Paris penned a novel filled with hilarious moments, yet there are still some very realistic things going on in the book. Even still, the novel also contains quite an uplifting feeling by the end of it.

“Effie’s War” is the third stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2018. In an isolated corner of Scotland, there is something important coming. Effie’s dad gets a government notice to quit working at Kirk Farm, the lives of the entire Ross family as well as those of the entire community are disrupted.

For Effie (irrepressible, vital, and beautiful) wartime changes bring her closer to Toni (an Italian prisoner of war) who was sent to the farm to work. Before too long, the young couple plans for a future to be with each other once the war is finally over.

It is a future that is under threat from the very beginning. There are those among their number that are not to be entirely trusted. There is somebody determined to figure out what lies behind all the upheaval and then pass these secrets into the hands of the enemy. To stop them is going to create devastation beyond anything anybody could have ever imagined.

This book is highly entertaining with funny and mischievous events that quickly wind up becoming tragic and shocking ones. Some found that they will be checking out more of Paris’ work after this one, and are glad they picked it up to begin with.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Philip P. I. Paris

Leave a Reply