Book Notification

Phillip DePoy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Christopher Marlowe Books

A Prisoner in Malta (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The English Agent (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fever Devilin Books

The Devil's Hearth (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch's Grave (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Minister's Ghost (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Widow's Curse (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drifter's Wheel (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Corpse's Nightmare (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
December's Thorn (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Flap Tucker Books

Easy / Easy Does It (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Easy (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Easy as One, Two, Three (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dancing Made Easy (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Easy (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Foggy Moskowitz Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The King James Conspiracy (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Plays

Angels (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beggar's Opera (With: William Fred Scott) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Tao and the Bard (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 15: Mystery Most Theatrical(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Philip DePoy took up writing for a career in the year 1965 at the Actors and Writers workshop which was followed ten years later with a further development into a poet. Further on in his professional studies, he acquired a Master’s degree in performance art. He is currently the director at the Clayton State University, living in Decatur in Georgia. He is the Edgar award recipient as a playwright of EASY which is New York’s vote for the best mystery plan in the USA. Philip DePoy has authored 10 novels and 2 plays that have been published, over and above another 37 theatre pieces that have been produced in the USA. He has served in a writing career with the Georgia council for the Arts and as a performance artist who was nationally reviewed. In the 80’s, he was the driving force behind the compositions for Academy Theatre whereas in the 90’s, serving as the artistic director of Theatrical Outfit which is a professional equity theatre. He has since been serving various university theatre programs. Also, amongst his many achievements is the Shamus Award finalist essay, working through his career with literature icon John Burrison and Joseph Campbell.

In his FEVER DEVELIN mystery series, the main character is Fever Develin. The series includes a collection of seven novels. Fever is a resident in the Blue Mountain, which is a small town in the Appalachian mountains of Georgia. He is a former folklorist and academic by training and fever is seen to be quite a daredevil as he just cannot keep out of trouble. Fever is outgoing and adventurous as seen throughout the series, some of his adventures leading down difficult path upon which he has come close to death itself, at one time having nearly died after being shot. He survives this, having received proper medical treatment. In the first book of the series, we have Fever deciding to spend his time in their old family cabin in the Blue Mountain but fictionally, ghosts are brought in and seem to be determined to have his journey come to an end. The narration loops down into the discovery of the murder of Fever’s half-brother. Fever is out to find out any information there is about the murder of his half-brother. Depoy has a good blend of mystery with legend.

In his narrations, through this series, Depoy has managed to keep a reasonable quantity of mystery brewing, with the second book in the series featuring a local girl who has been stamped the title of a witch. There is great inclusion of murder cases yet to be solved and the seamless flow of events with a tinge of the supernatural always there in the background in manipulation of the unfolding events. Descriptions that furthermore add phenomenal taste to the ready juicy mysteries make the series all the more interesting and deeply engrossing with pricelessness as the tag of the mystery journey any reader walks through in the Fever Develin’s mystery series. Again the third release is investigative, with the plague of deaths being the chief cause for the investigations that the featuring Character Fever Develin ventures into as he visits his family home in the Blue Mountains. Depoy, again, shows great prowess in the art of creation of the complex characters in the environ created, rich with the Appalachian atmosphere as the background setting, a compelling read for fiction enthusiasts.

Fever Develin is a character built on a broken past of pieces that undoubtedly connect one after the other as the series goes down all the way to the seventh release. The character has the series wound round the mysteries of a hidden past and the secrets which had been kept from him as he developed into the present academic and folklorist. The Fever Develin Novels have been referred to as the most intriguing fiction that is being published in the present day America whilst the new series which is “The Drifter’s Wheel” is also a reader captivator as it is wholesomely engaging without having any enjoyment lost through the walk down the series releases. One openly acknowledged fact about Philip DePoy is that his skill in the mystery writing through his mystery series releases makes them all timeless as they all fit in together, making them all relevant individually and even more enjoyable when put together as a series.

There is also Philip DePoy’s CHRISTOPHER MARLOWE mystery series beginning with the written narration, “A Prisoner at Malta”. This is the vivid narration about the character Christopher Marlowe dated back in the 16th century, deemed as a witty individual, reputable as a womanizer as well as an upstart socially in the Cambridge University. This factors in Characters renowned in History such as the Queen of England, in this case, the young character Christopher is engaged in the task of finding the conspirators hence unveiling the truth. This is a biased investigative character with skill out to seek in-depth knowledge that would position him in unravelling a mystery, one that would be among the greatest in history. Still among Philip DePoy’s publications is the standalone, “THE KING JAMES CONSPIRACY” which is from St. Martin’s non-fiction publication, “THE TAO AND THE BARD” from arcade house. Philip DePoy’s recent works are such as EDWARD FOOTE which is an award winning theatrical production as well as the production, “THE APPALACHIAN CHRISTMAS HOMECOMING”. A promise continuation of the Christopher Marlowe’s series is awaited in 2016. In his standalone, THE KING JAMES CONSPIRACY. This is an epic roller-coaster with conspiracy reeking from start to end, unfolding through the story which has been started off on the note of Bible translation. Murder investigations, being a common siting in Philip DePoy’s narrations also have a hold in this standalone. It is based on the grounds of a supposed conspiracy against the translation of the Bible which would result in the King James Translation having come to existence. There is investigation of what could be the source of the plot to stop translation process.

Philip DePoy remains an icon and a trendsetter when it comes to mystery writing. His creations can remain to be built upon due to their phenomenal unpredictability.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Phillip DePoy

Leave a Reply