Book Notification

Piece of Cake Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Piece of Cake Mystery Books

A Sheetcake Named Desire (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cake on a Hot Tin Roof (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arsenic and Old Cake (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cakes of Wrath (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebel Without a Cake (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cakes of Monte Cristo (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Piece of Cake Mystery series is a successful novel series written by the famous American author Jacklyn Brady. There is a total of 5 novels published in the series between the years 2011 and 2013. All the novels of the based on the mystery genre and depict a suspenseful plot featuring the main character named Rita Lucero. The plots of all the novels in the series revolve around the happenings in the life of Rita Lucero, who is introduced in the first novel of the series as a pastry chef hailing from New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. The first novel of the Piece of Cake Mystery series was published under the title ‘A Sheetcake Named Desire’. It was released in the year 2011 by the Berkley publishing house. The plot of the novel is set in New Orleans, Louisiana and introduces the main character in the form of a pastry chef named Rita Lucero. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Rita Lucero tries to make her way through to the top in the world of baking pastries in a small town of New Orleans. But, her path to the top does not appear to be an easy one as she is forced to face a lot of hurdles in between. In one such situation, she becomes the prime suspect in the murder of her soon to become an ex-husband, who is found murdered with the use of a chef’s knife stabbed in his back. Due to this, her life is turned upside down in a moment, which was otherwise headed for a lot of name and fame because of her delicious and popular pastries. Now, she is required to use her instincts to the best of use in order to catch the real killer before he makes her his second victim.

When Rita Lucero had started her pastry baking business, she had experienced a lot of success instantly. She had become so much successful that she hated losing more than anything else in her life. Her marriage with one of her fellow bakes named Philippe Renier falls apart after some time and she lives separated for more than 2 years. In those 2 years, she has tried for a number of times in getting him to sign the divorce papers so that she can move ahead in her life. Rita Lucero was still trying to make Philippe Renier to sign on the divorce even before his death. On seeing his negligence, Rita becomes very much exasperated and decides to visit his pastry shop in New Orleans named Zydeco Cakes, which was a very high-end bakery shop. After reaching there, she finds him lying on the floor, murdered with a chef’s knife. At first, Rita Lucero becomes shocked to discover Philippe Renier in that condition, but then becomes relieved and overwhelmed that since he had not signed on the divorce papers, she will now inherit a part of the famous bakery shop, the Zydeco Cakes. However, it comes as a mixed blessing for her as she comes to know that the shop was going through financial trouble and also ends up becoming the prime suspect in the murder of Philippe Renier. Rita has the support of her former mother-in-law, who believes that she has not killed his son and demands her that she help her find the real killer. Other than her, none of the employees of the shop or anyone else trusts Rita Lucero. But, she seems to be determined to find the killer before he gets her.

One of the other novel of the Piece Cake Mystery series was published under the title ‘Rebel Without A Cake’. It was released by the Berkley publishing house in the year 2013. The plot of the novel is once again set in New Orleans and continues to feature the main character named Rita Lucero working as a pastry chef and a part owner of the cake shop, the Zydeco Cakes. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is depicted that the Halloween festival is about to come and the owners of the baking shop named Zydeco Cakes, Rita and Frankie, her former mother-in-law, have done very well to score a sweet treat for the approaching Halloween. They become successful in getting a fantastic opportunity to cater in one of the rich Halloween parties. Rita Lucero and Frankie see it as a good opportunity to lead for a better business of the shop in the future. However, their expectations of a good news get quickly rattled due to a problem during one night. One of the neighbors of Miss Frankie, Bernice claims that she has seen a ghost in the kitchen of their bakery shop, Zydeco Cakes and rushes into the kitchen with a gun in one hand and a Bible in the other.

It appears that she is making a false story as she tells Miss Frankie and Rita Lucero that she has seen the ghost of one of her moonshiner uncles, who had disappeared around 15 years ago in the swamp. Bernice swears everyone that she has really seen the ghost in the window of the shop, to which Rita and Frankie seem to believe her claims. Bernice’s belief about the ghost becomes even stronger when one of her cousins also disappears in that very same swamp. This makes her believe that someone who knows her very well is trying to play a dirty trick with her. Bernice becomes very much desperate at the recent turn of events and requests Miss Frankie and Rita Lucero to join her in the investigation of the matter. But, all the three ladies are required to move ahead carefully in the investigation as they are involved in a dangerous mystery. If they commit even a small mistake in the investigation, they will end up becoming the next victims to disappear in the swamp. None of them wants to experience that and continue to investigate the matter of the ghost with the hope of finding some clues that will them to solve the mystery and enjoy the Halloween festival.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Piece of Cake Mystery

Leave a Reply