Book Notification

Pine Cove Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pine Cove Books

Practical Demonkeeping (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stupidest Angel (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Pine Cove Series

Largely writing comic fantasy novels, the American writer Christopher Moore is known for his unique and witty take on the genre. Achieving a cult status within the field, he’s a bestselling author who draws from a whole range of different influences, giving him his status as a leading figure within his field. Taking an almost absurdist approach to the art-form at times, he really manages to get to the heart of what he’s writing about through his novels. Putting his ideas forwards in a clear and concise manner, he definitely knows how to fully utilize the full breadth and scope of his imagination. Over the years he has also come to create a number of franchises and series as well, with many of them find scores of fans from all across the world. A perfect example of this is that of his long-running Pine Cove collection of novels, which all fall into the supernatural genre, with comic sensibilities driving it forwards. Following the adventures of the ongoing of the Californian community of Pine Cove, it takes a close look at all the strange goings on there. Featuring the oddball stories of the many inhabitants there who come and go, it plays out in an almost farcical manner at times, whilst also keeping the action grounded. Giving the series its own set of rules, Moore manages to anchor the series to its own set of principles and conventions, allowing it to become its own thing essentially. Featuring both angels and demons, it manages to incorporate all manner of different elements into the overall series, whilst also giving it a sense of purpose and heart at the same time, which is why readers keep coming back for more.

Running for a total of three novels, this is a series which started out in 1992 and ran till 2004, bringing in a whole range of fun stories over the course of its entire run. Closely tied to inspirations such as Kurt Vonnegut, this really manages to make the most of that which it draws from, really making the most of the form. Released in audiobook format too, it has gone to become a cult favorite series in its own right, with a whole legion of loyal fans worldwide. With more and more readers discovering it every day as well, it really is a series that will live on for many years to come yet.

Practical Demonkeeping

Brought out through ‘HarperCollins’, along with also coming out through the ‘Perennial’ and ‘William Morrow’ publishing labels, this would be the first in the ‘Pine Cove’ series of novels. First published on the 25th of May in 1992, this would establish the entire series as a whole, setting up the core premise of the franchise. It would also work to provide the first adventure set in the Californian community, providing an entirely self-contained narrative.

Introducing the community of Pine Cove for the first time, the reader discovers it at the same pace as that of the story’s central protagonists. Not only that, but it also manages to create a light and breezy air that carries the story along at a brisk and fun pace that’s easy going. Readers will find it entertaining and simple to follow, whilst it also provides some deeper messages underneath as well, with some extremely imaginative turns. The town of Pine Cove itself is very well drawn too, as it almost becomes a character in of itself as the book progresses towards its final conclusion.

An ex-seminarian who’s now one hundred years old, Travis O’Hearn is also a ‘roads’ scholar who, along with his companion Catch, has come across the town of Pine Cove. Catch is a demon who likes to eat pretty much everyone he meets on sight, something which could potentially tear apart the community of Pine Cove. This seems like the perfect opportunity to lose Catch as his travelling companion, as Travis leaps at the chance to try and lose him in the community here. One problem with this plan though, is that it doesn’t sit so well for the residents of the community of Pine Cove, as they prefer not to be eaten. Will Travis be able to finally lose Catch? Can the community of Pine Cove survive? What will become of this practical demonkeeping?

The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove

Setting up the second title in the ‘Pine Cove’ series of novels, this would continue on from the last, this being the next adventure set in the same world and town. Coming out through the ‘William Morrow Paperbacks’ outlet, it was first released on the 1st of April in 1999, bringing in a whole new legion of fans to the series. It would later be followed up with the third and final book in 2004 on the 1st of October, which would be titled ‘The Stupidest Angel’.

Since the resident psychiatrist of Pine Cove has decided to prescribe everyone with placebos, the local bar is booming with business. The sad blues playing in the bar has attracted the attention of Steve though, a huge sea beast with a keen interest in explosive fire-trucks. This leads to a crime wave hitting the community of Pine Cove, as the local constable must work to deal with the problems they face. Will he manage to solve this one particular case though? Where will Steve strike next? What will become of the Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove?

The Pine Cove Series

Really working on its own merits, this is one series that’s really known for its inventiveness and high-level of creativity. Irreverent in its tone and approach, Moore definitely manages to bring in a lot of heart, whilst keeping it fun and entertaining at the same time. The reader will never be sure of what’s coming next, as the imaginative approach to the storytelling is definitely a major factor at play here. This isn’t to say that the characters are sacrificed either, as their personalities are fully three-dimensional, allowing the reader to really believe in them. With a legacy that will continue on into the foreseeable future, this will be one series that will be staying around for a long time yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pine Cove

Leave a Reply