Book Notification

Pink Carnation Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pink Carnation Books

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Masque of the Black Tulip (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deception of the Emerald Ring (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seduction of the Crimson Rose (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ivy & Intrigue (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Temptation of the Night Jasmine (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Betrayal of the Blood Lily (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mischief of the Mistletoe (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orchid Affair (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Away in a Manger (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Garden Intrigue (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Passion of the Purple Plumeria (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mark of the Midnight Manzanilla (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lure of the Moonflower (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

When you read the title, “The Secret History of the Pink Carnation” the first book in the series, you will think that the Pink Carnation is some sort of painting or something of the sort. However, by reading the book, it turns out that Pink Carnation is a somewhat unreal English spy that works against Napoleon. In fact, the name pink carnation is an adaptation of the third line of English spies that all worked in France.

The pink Carnation series features a story where Harvard graduate student determines to uncover the secret identity of the pink carnation. This is the only spy that was not masked by the French. She gets the chance to get deeper in the case when an elderly woman, one of the descent flower spies allows her to access her diaries and family letters. Could this assist her to uncover the real identity of the secret spy that has always been hidden from the world?

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation

This is the first book in the series. Eloise Kelly is an intelligent American and our true romantic hero. She always manages to wear her suede boots and one day as it rains, leaves Harvard’s library to finish her thesis. She discovers something astounding, this is something that the finest theologians of all time have missed, a secret history with a letter that is dated back in 1803. Above it all she finds a secret history of the Pink Carnation, one of the most elusive of spies of all time. This is the spy who single-handedly managed to save England from the invasion of Napoleon.

Eloise then settles to read the whole of the secret history in a bid to unmask the identity of the Pink Carnation. However, before she actually makes the discovery, she uncovers a passionate romance throughout the pages of history. This is the romance that almost threw off the course of world events. The Pink Carnation saved England, but how exactly did he do it? What finally became of the Purple Gentian and the Scarlet Pimpernel? Most importantly is Eloise Kelly going to find her own hero?

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation was Lauren Willig’s debut of the Pink carnation series. After it was released, the book appeared on main retailer bestseller lists and made a big name in sales in trade paperback. The first book can be said to be wildly imaginative and a highly adventurous introduction.

The Deception of the Emerald Ring

In the year 1803, France and England remain at odds. Napoleon hopes to break the English once and for all, he backs up a ring of Irish rebels uprising against England. He sends Black Tulip, one of France’s most deadly spy to the Emerald Isle to offer assistance. What they did not know is also, that in Ireland, there is the Pink Carnation – England’s top spy that is working in a bid to shut down the rebels.

As these events unfold, back in England, Alsworthy intercepts a letter with a note indicating that Mary, her Sister, is about to make a grave mistake of eloping with Geoffrey Pinchingdale. Geoffrey Pinchingdale is second person in command of the Purple Gentian League. In a cautious attempt to save her family name, Alsworthy tries to halt her sister’s elopement. Unfortunately, she finds herself swept away in the midnight carriage that was meant for her sister. To her horror, she finds herself forced into matrimony with Geoffrey.

Just the previous tales in the series, The Deception of the Emerald King features a modern day hero and heroine. Eloise and Colin Selwick continue in their budding romance, this leads to a captivating third novel in the series.

The lure of the Moonflower: Final book

The series ends with the novel titled, “The lure of the Moonflower.” It is dated back in December 1807 in Portugal. Jack Reid is a British and is commonly referred to as the Moonflower and is a former French Agent. Being stationed in Portugal, he awaits his new contact. He did not except to be paired with a woman, especially with the legendary Pink Carnation.

Everyone in Portugal actually believes that the royal family departed for safety in Brazil briefly before the French troops marched into Lisbon. It is only the English government that know that the seventy-three year old Queen Maria was taken away by a group of loyalists that had determined to create a resistance. However, it is only a matter of time before she is discovered and taken.

About the Author

Lauren Willig is the author of the Pink Carnation series. She is known as a New York Times bestselling author in the historical novels genre. Her books have always followed a collection of Napoleonic British spies as they fight for Britain and ultimately fall in love. The Pink Carnation series too centers on this theme.

What makes her books quite unique is the romance historical structure of the novels brought out in a modern chick-style story. The Pink Carnation centers around this too when Eloise Kelly attempts to uncover the real identity of the Pink Carnation finds love with an attractive Englishman Colin that descends from the family of spies. The books also feature several romantic adventures that detail various exploits of the Black Tulip and the Purple Gentian. It hosts dozens of other characters that are dated back early in the 19th century.


The Pink Carnation series has made a huge name in the Romantic Times top pick. Lauren has been nominated for the Quill Award in 2006 and won the RITA award for the Best Regency Historical romance. The second book in the series, The Masque of the Black Tulip was selected as a BookSense pick back in January 2006. The general series continues to rack up incredible positive reviews.

Lauren Willig’s passion for a true history coupled with a talent for enthralling love stories makes the Pink Carnation a perfect read for lovers of history, romance and adventure. Make sure that you have staked out enough time to finish this novel before you start reading. Not because the series is tensely plotted and full of several twists and turns but because it is a book that are a joy and fun to read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pink Carnation

Leave a Reply